We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Clean, comfortable hotel and rooms. Rooms and bathrooms are small, and no soundproofing for light sleepers, but with HVAC fan running we slept well. Beds are very comfortable. Not the best overall choice in Athens, but a very good value during non-special events. Extra charge for parking. Staff is equal to 4-star hotels - outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_from_NC8100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the UGA Hotel. We take great pride in our service and our staff, so we appreciate you mentioning that in your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 255 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

great time,great location and a nice van to chauffer you around.minutes from the hotspots and plenty to see on campus.very professional staff and super clean throughout.left my $500 pair of glasses that i left in the room and they returned them by ups to top things off.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keverina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your review of the UGA Hotel. We look forward to having you visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been to few hotels with a staff as helpful and friendly as the staff at the UGA conference center. Absolutely everyone there was friendly and eager to offer advice. They offered restaurant suggestions and gave us free shuttle rides. We never walked into the lobby without being greeted by several smiling faces. It is true that the rooms are small, but ours was adequate for what we needed. The free newspaper in the morning was a lovely touch. The restaurant at the hotel isn't the greatest, but the catering for the conference I attended was pretty great. It included local ice cream bars during an afternoon coffee break- an unexpected sweet treat. The service is really what makes me remember a hotel and I will definitely remember this one for a job well done!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eafalendysz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your review of The Georgia Center. We take great pride in our service and our staff, so we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to hosting you on future trips to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As a former UGA grad it had been several years since I was able to stay here. I was here for a recent "football" weekend - the spring G Day game.

I've read previous reviews where folks complained about noise and I have to say it wasn't anything I experienced. The hotel was quiet in the evenings - other than conversations you could hear out in hallway which I've experienced at other hotels as well.

The rooms are smallish. I had a 2 single bed room. The bathroom is big enough for one person only. But there is a work desk and big screen TV in the room.

The staff of the hotel is over the top nice and wonderful. For the most part, it's students who are working there. One piece of advice though, if you arrive after 9p and want to get some dinner at the hotel - you are out of luck. You either have to go out of the hotel or have something delivered.

Since the hotel is located on campus if you want to go somewhere in Athens, it is a good walk for those who are in shape. There are a handful of establishments a very short walk from the hotel as well. And it does have a couple of restaurants on site and neat little bar & grill area - food stops at 9 but they'll serve drinks until 10p.

The beds are very comfortable and the hotel is kept up very nice. In short, if you're there to stay on campus - this is the place to be. There may be nicer and bigger rooms in Athens from the chain hotels but they're going to require a 2 night minimum if it's a football weekend, as well as jack up the price. The UGA hotel is a great value.

Room Tip: Get out and walk around the campus! It's beautiful and you'll get good excercise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TENNDAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of the Georgia Center. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Athens. Go Dawgs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I spent one night here in March on business. The late check in was efficient and friendly. The room was clean but could see the fixtures were a bit dated though kept up with maintenance, etc. I didn't encounter much noise. More TeeVee channels than I could ever flip through if that appeals to you! For staying in town and attending a conference in the attached center yu cannot do better than this.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLLtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the UGA Hotel and Conference Center. Like many historic hotels, our facility features guest rooms that are part of the original structure and we work diligently to keep all rooms freshly appointed and up-to-date. We also offer larger rooms and suites and hope you will have an opportunity to stay in one of these on a future visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The rooms are small, and it's extremely noisy. You can hear everything going on in the hallways. The staff was very nice. I had to have them come by twice to get my TV fixed, but they were prompt with the service. It's a great place for a conference with a variety of sizes of meeting rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaGirlTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the UGA Hotel and Conference Center. Like many historic hotels, our facility features guest rooms that are part of the original structure and we work diligently to keep all rooms freshly appointed and up-to-date. We also offer larger rooms and suites and hope you will have an opportunity to stay in one of these on a future visit to Athens.

Please accept our apology for any noise issues you may have experienced. We encourage our guests to alert the front desk regarding issues of noise or comfort so that we can address it immediately. We appreciate your feedback and hope you’ll give the UGA Hotel another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a converted dorm and with that you get thin walls and noise in the hallways. The rooms are a tad small too, but plenty large enough if you don't have a game of twister or something planned. That aside, the rooms are well furnished and comfortable. Just run the TV while you sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen_Ramsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the UGA Hotel and Conference Center. Like many historic hotels, our facility features guest rooms that are part of the original structure and we work diligently to keep all rooms freshly appointed and up-to-date. We also offer larger rooms and suites and hope you will have an opportunity to stay in one of these on a future visit to Athens.

Please accept our apology for any noise issues you may have experienced. We encourage our guests to alert the front desk regarding issues of noise or comfort so that we can address it immediately. We appreciate your feedback and hope you’ll give the UGA Hotel another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
1.3 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
743 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel

Address: 1197 S Lumpkin St, Athens, GA 30602 (Formerly UGA Hotel & Conference Center at The Georgia Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $98 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful, historic campus of the University of Georgia in Athens, the UGA Hotel and Conference Center includes a 200-room hotel, four onsite dining options, banquet areas, conference rooms, auditoriums, a fitness center, and a computer lab — all under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgia Center - The University Of Georgia`s Hotel Athens
The Georgia Center - The University Of Georgia`s Conference Center And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing