We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Savannah, GA
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stay here frequently when visiting our kids who are students at UGA. Very reasonably priced and a great location.If you are a parent of a UGA student, ask about their parents club. You get one night free after staying several nights (5 nights, I believe).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UGAParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for visiting the UGA Hotel on our recent trip to Athens to visit your kids. We truly appreciate your wonderful feedback about our location and parent’s club program (you can find more details on the SPECIALS tab on our website). We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    84
    55
    12
    4
See reviews for
74
16
9
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We have stayed here several times on our trips to visit our daughter, who is a student at UGA. The location can't be beat. The rooms themselves would be perfect for one or two, but adding a third person makes it very crowded. The bathrooms are extremely small. But the best part is the front desk staff. They are UGA students and they are fantastic. We checked out with the help of Ellie Hamilton and she went out of her way to assist us. She even gave us pointers to pass along to our daughter. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for visiting the UGA Hotel on our recent trip to Athens to visit your daughter. We truly appreciate your wonderful feedback about location and our staff- Ellie in particular. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

What a perfect place to stay if you are doing anything at UGA, especially sports events. Quiet, beautiful grounds, relaxing. Excellent service. Very reasonably priced. Nice courtyard bar to sit under the trees and enjoy a cocktail. Good hot breakfast. Easy walking distance to Sanford Stadium, Foley Field, Stegman Colesium, the tennis and track and field facilities and more. Take your coffee from breakfast and stroll the grounds, sit on a bench amidst giant oaks and watch the birds. Really lovely setting. Also within easy walking distance to Five Points for restaurants and shopping. Older hotel that has been updated and refurbished. Only negative is that the rooms are small, as is usually the case in an older hotel. Definitely worth it. The only place we'll stay in Athens in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for visiting the UGA Hotel on our recent trip to Athens. We truly appreciate your wonderful feedback about location, beautiful grounds and service. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I was just at the Georgia Center for a conference. All the people there were extremely helpful and hospitable. In particular, I wanted to mention that one of the concierge desk staff named Savannah was incredibly helpful--she was an extremely warm and friendly young woman. She answered all of my silly questions about service in the hotel, helped unload our vehicle, drove us all over campus with their free shuttle, and told us lots about the campus and surrounding Athens community. The free shuttle service alone made it very easy to navigate the large campus. The price of meals in the cafe and lounge were very attractive. The room was very spacious and well equipped. It's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLCMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for visiting the UGA Hotel on our recent trip to Athens. We truly appreciate your wonderful feedback about our shuttle, restaurants and our staff- especially Savannah at the concierge desk. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to Athens, GA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The Georgia Center really has it all -- wonderful facilities, great food, and friendly staff. Its location is perfect -- not only are you on the UGA campus but it is walking distance from downtown and 5-points. My particularly like the atmosphere in the bar -- sitting out in the cool courtyard with the lights on the trees, drinking a Red and Black martini....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the UGA Hotel and Conference Center. We appreciate your comments about our property, food and dedicated staff, and we agree that our central location on campus can’t be beat. Please join us again on your next visit to Athens. See you in the Pecan Tree Courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I am not sure if we will ever be back in Athens, but if we are, THIS is where we will stay. I was shocked to read any negative reviews!!! Everything was fabulous for us, from our check-in to the parking garage. Our room was WONDERFUL....spacious, clean, and the bed was the best one I slept in during our 5 city trip. The ONLY one where I didn't wake up with a back ache!!! The only possible negative was that it was not exactly within walking distance of anything we were attending on campus, but I am not sure any other hotel is either. This place is fabulous!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyatHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGA_Hotel, Owner at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the UGA Hotel and Conference Center! We especially appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again if you visit Athens in the future. Next time, remember to ask about our free shuttle service to and from all campus and downtown locations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Small rooms; more on par with an en suite in UK. Well appointed, clean. Small tub. Secure premises, Helpful, friendly front desk staff and conscierge. Good on-site restaurant, with conscientious, friendly, helpful staff.
I came in late on the first night, ate in the restaurant while catching up on work. Waiter, thoughtfully, sent me to my room with a carafe of fresh coffee and small pitcher of real cream at the conclusion of my meal. He set the tone of my visit. Exceptional service is the norm here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the UGA Hotel and Conference Center. We genuinely appreciate your comments about the quality of our service, our serene location, and especially our friendly and thoughtful staff. Thank you for choosing UGA Hotel and Conference Center for you hotel accommodations for your recent visit, we look forward to seeing you in Athens again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
1.3 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel

Property: University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel
Address: 1197 S Lumpkin St, Athens, GA 30602 (Formerly UGA Hotel & Conference Center at The Georgia Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful, historic campus of the University of Georgia in Athens, the UGA Hotel and Conference Center includes a 200-room hotel, four onsite dining options, banquet areas, conference rooms, auditoriums, a fitness center, and a computer lab — all under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgia Center - The University Of Georgia`s Hotel Athens
The Georgia Center - The University Of Georgia`s Conference Center And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing