We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Athens”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Nice room. Very clean and comfy. Staff are very attentive. -- many of them are UGA students.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comermi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    90
    55
    12
    4
See reviews for
79
16
9
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, GA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Every year or two I attend the Municipal Clerks Conference which is held at the Georgia Center.
Since the last time I went, rooms have been refurbished very comfortable and attractively. The additon of a microwave and mini-fridge is especially appreciated to add to the comfort of City employees travelling on a budget. Meeting rooms are pleasant and staff is very good indeed. In difficult economic times, getting good value for money spent on travel and training is a priority, and the Georgia Center comes through.

Room Tip: Singles actually have two full-size beds, and very comfortable. - do you really need a queen or kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I cannot say enough good things about the Georgia Center. While the rooms may not be the fanciest in town and the towels are rich and plush - you cannot beat the friendliness of the staff and overwhelming - "southern hospitality" attitude from the front welcome staff to the housekeeping staff and food service staff.
EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: Book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2011

I have worked with the Georgia Center Conference Professionals for 3 years now and I've got a contract to continue holding my annual meeting there for the next 2 years at least. My experience has been one of extreme satisfaction - they are dedicated to ensuring I and my conference faculty and attendees have everything we need for a stellar outcome. Anytime I ask for something, the answer is always, "No problem - we'll work on that right away." If I find a conflict (generally that I've created), they are right there with solutions and are really willing to be flexible and innovative in creating the conference atmosphere. My vendors and exhibitors enjoy going there, my attendees and volunteers give it great reviews and they love the food!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenhalehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Staff was excellent and very responsive to our group. Catering was exemplary and exceeded our expectations. The exhibits were located in the Mahler Auditorium and were well presented in 5 x 10 pipe and drape booths.

Rooms were updated and clean. Excellent experience and good value.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louie3346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

The hotel is always stafed with friendly students and professionals. Room was clean and service was perfect! Always stay here and always will when travelling to Athens.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drzeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Stayed here while dropping off son for freshman orientation at UGA. In the heart of the campus so it was a convenient walk to everything. The lobby and breakfast area were nice and the room was very spacious and clean for the price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimitedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
1.3 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
718 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
456 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel

Property: University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel
Address: 1197 S Lumpkin St, Athens, GA 30602 (Formerly UGA Hotel & Conference Center at The Georgia Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful, historic campus of the University of Georgia in Athens, the UGA Hotel and Conference Center includes a 200-room hotel, four onsite dining options, banquet areas, conference rooms, auditoriums, a fitness center, and a computer lab — all under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgia Center - The University Of Georgia`s Hotel Athens
The Georgia Center - The University Of Georgia`s Conference Center And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing