We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Athens
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were in Athens for a wedding and this was our home base for a couple nights. The room was clean, comfortable, and had kind of a contemporary feel to it with a separate office area. It was relatively small but not cramped. It only had a shower, but the shower was HUGE and very nice with good water pressure.

The pool was fine, not heated but my kids still swam in it for a little while.

Breakfast buffet was also fine, had a very good variety (a meat, eggs, waffles, muffins, bagels, juice, yogurt, etc.).

The employees who helped us were very friendly. I would stay here again while in Athens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethbirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Athens, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    63
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
96
37
11
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eustis, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I loved this hotel! We were only in town for one night but this was a great place to stay - would definitely stay here again. Large room, complete with microwave, sink and mini-fridge, nice sized flat screen tv and updated decor. The lady at the front desk was friendly enough and she helped us find a restaurant for dinner. The only thing I could possibly say as a negative (and I would be searching) is that the shower bar is on the wrong side. I know that sounds silly, but I have some mobility challenges and if I tried to hang on to a bar that was tucked away behind the toilet to help me get into the shower, it would probably not end well. But that's not a big thing to most people and luckily it wasn't a big thing for me that day, just noticed it and thought it could be easily moved to a better position. But other than that, it was a wonderful room and a wonderful property. Close to downtown but far enough to be quiet and peaceful. Perfect choice for a room in Athens.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAMMY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Athens, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
This is a very thoughtful, accurate, and thorough critique of our hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We've stayed at both Holiday Inns downtown, and the Comfort Suites just north of downtown, all of which are fine, but this SpringHill Suites is head and shoulders above the rest. Called in advance to ask for quiet room for my parents, who are in their 70's, and Beth gave us gorgeous suites on very quiet 5th floor. At check-in, I don't think any desk clerk anywhere has been more engaging and welcoming than Christopher. Hotel is clean, beautiful and stylish. Definitely feels upscale. There's a Kroger about 5 minutes away if you need anything a supermarket would have. Minor downsides are 15 minute ride to downtown/university, no tub in our suites (though shower was huge), and not much of a fresh selection at breakfast. Overall, though, my new 1st choice to stay when visiting my kid at UGA!

Room Tip: Our 5th floor rooms were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Athens, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you! We look forward to hosting you and all the other UGA parents for many years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there may4,5. It rained my window leaked alot. Front desk offered nothing, manager never called. I wouldnt treat someone that way, and i know if that person was in my situation they would not be pleased. Overall nice place, terrible customer service skills.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawdog8877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Athens, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Our room was very clean & comfortable. Enjoyed having the separate sitting area. Breakfast choices were good, eggs, ham, waffles, cereal, toast & fruit. Laundry facilities on site were well maintained and clean as well. Only issue for us was the Hotel is a bit out of the way from the main area of Athens. No restaurants or shopping in walking distance. Otherwise, would recommend highly

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tamara-Hilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Athens, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Upgrades to our breakfast program coming this summer! Your going to love our changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights with our 3 kids. The front desk staff is extremely helpful and friendly, as is the maid staff and all other employees. The lady working the front desk when we checked in (Beth) allowed us to check in early and even rearranged our rooms to give us connecting rooms - one with a king and the other with two queens. She was considerate and accommodating. The breakfast is wonderful! Eggs, waffles, and a breakfast meat every morning, plus bagels, muffins, english muffins, cereal, etc. Each bread item was individually packaged so you didn't need to worry about who had touched it before you. The tables and lobby were always clean. Rooms were well laid out, clean, and comfortable. Plenty of pillows and towels. Both our rooms had standing showers (no tub), but this wasn't a problem for us. The water in the shower got hot really quickly, which was a pleasant surprise. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliUGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Athens, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you! Very thorough and your comments couldn't be more descriptive of our hotel. I am sure visitors to this site will find your post helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was attending the Masters and could not afford to stay in Augusta. Athens is an hour and half away so I stayed here. This hotel is new and clean. Served breakfast with your stay which was fine...cereal, waffles, bagels, eggs and sausage.

I also enjoyed exploring the downtown area of Athens. This hotel is about 15 minutes from the University of Georgia and downtown.

I would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Athens, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing us while you attended the Masters. You were not alone, we had many daytrippers to Augusta that week. Next year look for our golf package that will include 18 holes of golf at the UGA golf course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
6.3 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#5 of 23 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Athens

Property: SpringHill Suites Athens
Address: 3500 Daniells Bridge Road, Athens, GA 30606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Athens 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Oconee County, situated between the vibrant city of Athens and historic Watkinsville, SpringHill Suites by Marriott’s visitors have the best of North Georgia culture right outside their windows. Just off Highway 316 and a mere 12 miles from the Athens Ben Epps Airport, SpringHill Suites by Marriott is conveniently located for travelers looking for both city excitement and natural beauty. Begin your journey the right way with the sophisticated warmth and unsurpassed amenities of the SpringHill Suites by Marriott.Our brand-new, state-of-the-art hotel features a wide range of features and services to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Whether you are in town for business or for a weekend of relaxation, SpringHill Suites by Marriott can provide you with a unparalleled comfort. With classically modern interior design and friendly service, SpringHill Suites by Marriott provides a luxury hotel experience with the more than a touch of southern hospitality.So follow an old Civil War trail, or take a moment to enjoy some local theater in Athens. Treat yourself to some good old-fashion Georgian barbeque, then stroll through downtown Watkinsville. With SpringHill Suites by Marriott, a whole new world is within your reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing