We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice place. Big on environment.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Athens-University area
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really nice place. Big on environment.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

Indigo is really nice. It really seems like a European type of a hotel. Very clean lines and modest furnishings. There are no drawers in the rooms. Baskets slide in nooks instead.

We noticed the ability to hear the folks above of most of the night. The ceiling is the same concrete that is the floor above us. Nothing to really insulate you from the noise.

I was under the impression this was an all out 5 star hotel. We have little kids and packed their bathing suits! However, pools and tubs are not very friendly to the environment and thus don't exist here.

The hotel is nice and service is really good. It just confused us. We bought a package with breakfast but somehow you pay for your breakfast and they discount the $15 back off the room that you are paying for with the package. Breakfast was good but the coffee is expensive. Cost us near $40 to eat breakfast with 2 kids. Just didn't make sense.

You also aren't really close enough to walk to all the downtown stuff. Taxi's are easy but being downtown you hoped you could walk.

Again, nice, clean place. Friendly staff. Expensive food. You seem to pay for all the recycled stuff in there rather than amenities.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you for your review of Hotel Indigo-Athens! We are glad you enjoyed parts of our hotel and apologize for the inconveniences. We chose to include a communal courtyard instead of a pool as a means of furthering our green initiatives and providing a venue that can be used year-round. We greatly appreciate your constructive criticisms. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    115
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
102
111
22
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isla Mujeres
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

Loved the warmth of wooden floors in rooms, did not love the echoing cement-coldness of the lobby and restaurant. Unfortunately, the lobby bar closes very early. Good staff, clean rooms, nice location, and great coffee in the rooms! Eco-emphasis is refreshing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you for your review of Hotel Indigo-Athens! We appreciate your comments both positive and negative. Our lobby bar determines it's hours of operation by the amount of business present. We apologize for the early closing time during your stay. We hope you will visit us again at Hotel Indigo-Athens very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
261 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

Saw a lot of the hotel as we were holed up here during and after the ice storm and unseasonal snow. A great place to be stranded. Modern, comfortable, well-equipped and exceptionally friendly service. It looks a bit like a factory from the outside but interesting and attractive inside...carpets made from recycled bottles apparently but you couldn't tell. It's in an ideal location for Athens downtown and university. Food at bistro bar well cooked and original.

One of us hates showers (yes eccentric these days we know) and there was no bath tub, so be warned those who aren't shower lovers; there are no baths in the hotel. On the other hand the size of the shower is roomy.

We'd definitely go back to this hotel and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wabamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you for your review of Hotel Indigo-Athens! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the weather issues. We are happy to know that Hotel Indigo-Athens is an ideal place to be stranded during an unexpected snow storm! We apologize for the lack of a bathtub in your hotel room. Our presidential suite features both a shower and a jacuzzi tub, but our guest rooms only have a shower. Thanks for choosing Hotel Indigo-Athens! We hope you visit again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

Athens does not have a huge selection of nicer hotels, so the new Hotel Indigo is a very welcome addition. The lobby is hip, the rooms are spacious and modern, and the location is just a few blocks from happening downtown Athens. Check-in was a breeze and we were given a complimentary upgrade to the Penthouse floor. For the price (about $149 a night) we felt we got a great value. The guest rooms are large with wood plank flooring, high concrete ceilings and huge wall-sized windows. We loved the artwork, which included screen prints from local rock shows. (There is an art gallery in the lobby, so be sure to check that out too.) The bathroom is ample in size with a large shower including a teak seat and bathrobes. There was also a lighted makeup mirror, which I always appreciate. The hotel is eco-friendly, so be prepared for lower water pressure and the less than flattering light cast from CFL lightbulbs. (A small price to pay for saving the earth, but I am hoping the invention of warmer lightbulbs is in our near future!) There was complimentary Jittey Joe's coffee--you can make your own in your room or visit the coffee station by the elevators.

I really only have two issues that hopefully the hotel could address for future visitors: one is that our hotel room and hallway smelled very strongly of stale cigarette smoke. The other is that our shower floor was a little grimey. Not sure if it wasn't cleaned properly or if the eco-cleansers aren't getting the job done.

Other than that, we loved our stay and will definitely be back. Athens is a wonderful town!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouquet61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you very much for your review of Hotel Indigo-Athens! Your kind words about our property make us very proud as our main goal is to make our guests happy. With that said, we greatly apologize for the cigarette smell in your room and will make sure to keep that from happening in any guest room ever again. We appreciate both your positive and negative remarks. Thanks for choosing Hotel Indigo-Athens! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

Overall service and stay was excellent. Stayed 1 night with wife and dog while traveling thru GA. Getting too is a little off path, but minutes to UGA campus. Plenty of places to shop and eat at with-in walking distance. Hotel is very clean and modern. Good free parking. Rooms have wood flooring, large bathrooms with walk-in showers (no tub), good size room. Bar/restaurant in lobby is above average. Menu has variety but is limited. Reasonable prices. There is a outdoor area that allows dogs right off of lobby also. Grassy area in parking lot is small, but safe to walk dog. Highly recommend if traveling with dog.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulldogtraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Hotel Indigo-Athens! We know that your dog is important to you, so that makes him/her important to us. Thank you for your kind review of our property. We hope you (& your dog) come back to visit again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Pros: convenient to downtown
friendly service
comfortable room

Cons: was unaware of the valet parking; we parked our car ourselves;
coffee in lobby restaurant was served in paper cups
lobby was very busy, music loud

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you for your review of Hotel Indigo-Athens! We appreciate both the positive and negative comments about you've provided. We will take all your points into consideration and work towards making our hotel the best it can be. We hope you will visit us again at Hotel Indigo-Athens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

My fiancé and I stayed at Indigo this past Saturday and the only bad thing is that we had to leave. The complimentary valet was incredibly fast, accommodating, and courteous. When we walked into the lobby it was open, clean and very well adorned. We got in line behind two other couples to check-in but didn't wait longer than 30 seconds before another staff member came in from the concierge desk to assist us. We stayed in room PH 12 which was nothing shy of amazing: huge ceiling, comfortable bed and furniture, nice TV, very clean, floor to ceiling windows, great shower, GREAT SHOWER, a bathroom that you would expect from a room that cost $200 more per night, and my fiancé seemed to think that the shampoo/soaps were top line.

All in all I spend a lot of time coming in and out of Athens but after finding Indigo I know where I will be staying from here on out!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you for your extremely kind review of Hotel Indigo-Athens! We are so happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our property. We strive to provide polite and prompt service in every area of the hotel; whether it be the front desk, valet, or food. As for the rooms, we believe every guest deserves a luxury experience, which is why each guest room is fit for a king. The bathroom products in each room are provided by AVEDA because we think our guests deserve the best. Thank you again for choosing Hotel Indigo-Athens! We hope you visit again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.1 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Athens-University area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Athens-University area

Property: Hotel Indigo Athens-University area
Address: 500 College Ave, Athens, GA 30601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Athens-University area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Athens-University area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing