We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One the edge of college district - very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Athens-University area
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One the edge of college district - very nice”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I elected to stay at this Hotel Indigo since it is part of the IHG Rewards Club plus I was looking for a hotel close to The Classic Center and restaurants. This is a very nice hotel with a European feel and décor. There is a small bar/dining area that is good for drinks / breakfast / lite dinner. Parking is $10/day, but internet is free. The wireless internet was reasonably fast and reliable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jockadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barryrutherford, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Jockadog,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Indigo-Athens and for noticing our unique features including European design. We are proud to show off Athens newest gem to travelers coming into the Athens area. We appreciate you taking time to write a review and hope that others seeing this will also appreciate the decor and unique look and feel that our hotel embraces. Hope to see you soon, back in Athens, GA.
Regards,

Barry Rutherford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    116
    39
    11
    5
See reviews for
104
112
22
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My recent travels allowed me the pleasure of staying at this wonderful property for four nights. As a hospitality professional, my expectations are usually higher than the average traveler and this place EXCEEDED my expectations. A beautifully designed and appointed hotel with an amazing staff that truly understands southern hospitality, why would anyone traveling to Athens stay anywhere else. Great downtown area with plenty of great restaurants and shopping. Special thanks to Rusty and the food and beverage team for creating great memorable experiences during our stay and to the Gen Mgr Barry for running a simply great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFerbeyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barryrutherford, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear JFebeyre,

Thanks so much for taking time to write a review our hotel and for recognizing some staff members. Our team strives to provide excellent guest service and for our guests to remember service like you did. If we can provide uncompromising guest service, we feel our guests will come back and refer our hotel to their friends, associates and family. Again, thank you for staying with us and your review.

Barry Rutherford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I decided to surprise my daughter for her birthday. She was staying at the Hotel Indigo--Athens, GA. From the beginning, every one was so helpful. Nora at the Front Desk came with me to my daughter's room to help me decorate it and leave gifts. Rusty from Food and Beverage had gone in already, and set up a nice little St Patricks Day/ Birthday tray with a bottle of wine and vegan birthday cake. ( My younger daughter had called earlier, spoken with Rusty and he did a stellar job of setting up a display) I don't know the Bartender's name, but she was wonderful also. The hotel was clean, and any of the staff I dealt were great. Thank you-- Hotel Indigo, for hiring great people, and giving them the space to shine! Oh yeah-- the bed was delicious!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judexxxooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barryrutherford, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Judexxxooo,

Thanks so much for recognizing both Nora and Rusty in March when you were in Athens and at Hotel Indigo. We are sure all went well, as many of those in your party shared those thoughts with us. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again soon.

Barry Rutherford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Ga.
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I must say I was very impressed by what I experienced this past weekend at the Indigo hotel in Athens. Our son's fraternity hired a wonderful band that played in a private room at the hotel. I think the area was called "the Ria." We had our own "private" bar outside the dance area and stage the band was on. The room was the perfect size to fit our group. The drinks were fantastic. After the party we opted to stay (pre arranged). We only live 40 minutes away and have never stayed in Athens before except for our college days. This was a splurge since driving was not a problem. But we decided to stay. We had a corner room. I believe it was room 402. It was fantastic! It was spacious and large enough for our daughter to stay with us. We had a king bed and a sofa bed, two large flat screen TV's and a refrigerator. I am a mattress snob and I Loved the mattress! The hotel was a LOT more than what I expected and a bargain for the price. I would recommend this as a place for friends to stay when visiting Athens, Ga.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perdido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barryrutherford, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Perdido,

Thanks so much for staying with us at Hotel Indigo-Athens. We not only appreciate your loyalty, but the time you took to compliment our staff and hotel. We are so pleased that your stay was as comfortable as you mention. Let us know when you'd like to return and if you'd like the same room, we'll do all we can to accommodate you.

Regards,

Barry Rutherford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Close to downtown, restaurants, night life. Good size rooms. Great restaurant and bar area. Every staff member encountered was incredible. Highly recommend and a good value and location. Every staff member works hard to meet every request. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barryrutherford, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Neil F,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review on our hotel on your recent stay here in Athens, GA. We truly hope you had a nice time in the Classic City. If we can make a reservation for you on your next trip to Athens, please don't hesitate to call our front desk at 706-546-0430, or ask for me.

Regards,

Barry Rutherford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Was at this hotel in March for a business conference and all I can say is WOW!! From my initial greeting when I arrived till my departure the staff were excellent. My room was very comfortable and CLEAN!!!! The hotel even has an art gallery inside and one outside. Very unique. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Athens.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view but maybe ask for a higher floor facing the downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barryrutherford, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Fred B,

I apologize for the delay in sending our thanks back to you on your stay in March for a business conference. Your comments and the time you took to do so were very much appreciated by our team. Excellent Stay is a wonderful thing to say, and we do all we can to make sure all our guests feel this way. Come again soon and let us take care of you when in Athens.

Barry Rutherford
Managing Partners, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2014

If you want to truly experience Athens, you MUST stay at this Hotel Indigo!! The service is second to none, they are knowledgable, friendly, engaging and can recommend the best of Athens. The hotel is in one word...AMAZING!! You have to take the time to enjoy the Art in this hotel. I'm still considering reaching out regarding a piece of local artwork I fell in love with at this wonderful hotel bringing art, music and the best of Athens all together under one roof!! I would love to bring my family back to this hotel for a true Indigo experience. If you have time, be sure to stop by Pauley's (sp?) for crepes. You can't go wrong, this excellent recommendation made by the hotel team still has me craving crepes several days later. I can't say enough great things about this hotel, my room was large, the showerhead was amazing, the hotel was clean and the entire Team was incredibly accommodating. As a final note, be sure you enjoy a refreshing drink in their Bar, the raspberry mojito is heavenly and the Bartender's and servers are engaging, insteresting and fun!! Happy Travels!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Destini W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barryrutherford, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear DestinyW,

Thanks for the very kind and thorough review of Hotel Indigo-Athens. We appreciate you taking the time to touch on so many parts of our hotel, from service to comfort. Our team tries very hard to make sure that every guest staying with us has an enjoyable, refreshing and comfortable stay. Please come see us again soon, we'll take great care of you.

Barry Rutherford
Managing Partner, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.1 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Athens-University area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Athens-University area

Property: Hotel Indigo Athens-University area
Address: 500 College Ave, Athens, GA 30601-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Athens-University area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Indigo Athens-University area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing