We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location and Contemporary Style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Athens-University area
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Ipswich, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Location and Contemporary Style”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is clean, attractive and in a great location! The lobby and common areas are attractive to the eye. Our King Room was spacious and comfortable. The air conditioner was so quiet! The shower was a spacious walk in with two shower heads. Park your car and leave it! You can easily walk to the restaurants, bars and shops. The only downfall is that you have to pay for parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newipswichtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear newipswichtraveler2,
Thank you so very much for your review of Hotel Indigo-Athens! We greatly appreciate your feedback and kind commentary. We are glad you found the property to be perfectly located and convenient to the downtown energy. Thank you for mentioning your reaction to the contemporary style and decor of our lobby and your King guest room. We are glad you found our hotel to be comfortable experience and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    117
    39
    11
    5
See reviews for
104
113
22
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed in a king suite on the 4th floor; with a conference rate, it was a real bargain. The suite was huge -- two big rooms, bedroom and living room with wet bar and fridge. A microwave would have been nice and there was room for one. The decor is sleek and modern. The bistro in the lobby has a limited food selection but does offer complimentary drinks during happy hour. The local cheese and honey plate was divine. The High Road ice cream served for dessert is also exceptional. My chicken salad sandwich was disappointing; the bread was fresh but the chicken was processed and bland. The bistro has a cozy nook at one end which is very inviting. The large outdoor patio is a fantastic space in nice weather. The service was friendly overall. Before I checked in, I asked to see the room. Because I have chemical sensitivities, air quality issues or cleaning products often bother me. I had no problem here. I really appreciated the fact that the lovely outdoor patio was also non-smoking. An error on my bill was promptly corrected at check-out. Loved the spaciousness of the suite. Wish I had brought snacks for the fridge.

Room Tip: Suites 431 and 401 are both on the end and away from elevators. Both have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickytraveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi pickytraveler2009,
The team at Hotel Indigo Athens would like to thank you for your review of our property. We are delighted you found the suite to be a worthwhile decision and we are glad you stayed with us! Many thanks for your detailed feedback noting the inviting bistro nook and patio, our non-smoking policy, the spacious suite, the 2 examples of our boutique bistro menu options, and of course our friendly staff. We appreciate your suggestions and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was our third and last visit to the Indigo. Stayed 3 nights this time and our room was not cleaned either day, despite our being out of the room until mid-afternoon both days. The first day our towels were left in the hall on the floor. The second day we got our own from the unattended cleaning cart left outside our room. We emptied our own trash (from those silly cans) and had separated recycling etc. The cleaning person said to just empty it all together b/c they "don't really recycle it anyhow." We complained to "room manager" Emily at 4 pm the 2nd day about the lack of cleaning and she was defensive, rude, and couldn't care less. Suite furniture stained and showing wear. Absolutely no supplies for suite wet bar - went and bought paper towel. Ran out of bathroom supplies, but with no cleaning service that was that.

Room Tip: It is hit or miss here, noise-wise. The most noise comes from below and above, not to the side. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Martha K,
The team at Hotel Indigo Athens appreciates your willingness to review your most recent stay with us. It is disappointing that you had an unsatisfactory experience and we accept full responsibility of this matter. We are grateful for your patronage and will use your feedback for necessary improvement. Again, we sincerely thank you for sharing your experiences and we appreciate the opportunity to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed here awhile back but I enjoyed the stay. The furnishings were modern and comfortable. The hotel is VERY eco friendly (I suggest reading the explanation in the lobby), but it does not make much sense that the key "switch" in the room only controls the power to the bathroom and not the entire room, but anyways. The showers are huge and the bed was just right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totallrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Totallrob,
The team at Hotel Indigo Athens appreciates your willingness to review your experience with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding the modern style and the eco-friendly elements of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Room has a newer loft style ambiance with the associated echoing of sound.

High celings of exposed concrete, wood laminate flooring, floor to ceiling windows. big shower stall and no tub. 32" LCD TV with basic cable offering. Bed was comfortable but the blanket on it was dirty/stained.

Lighting is controlled by your room key, so that can be a bit annoying when you use the bathroom and then realize that you haven't activated the lights.

Service is an issue however. All keys deactivate at noon whether you've been given an extended check out or not. So you go to park your car in the $10/day key activated parking lot only to relaize you must back out and return to the front desk to update it. The lobby entrance is quite some distance from the poorly layed out vehicle reception area making check in/out a hassle.

Reception was quick and efficient but the wait staff for breakfast was flat out rude and disinterested with terse statements like: "What do you want?" "White or wheat?" and of course the immediate drop of the check on the table 5 minutes after ordering and then disappearing even though the place was just about empty. Had to flag her down for another cup of coffee but didn't offer any more cream even though it was empty and right in front of her. Bad news and the worst the thing to be hit with in the AM. She was a real B that morning.

The hotel is in a bit of an odd location (a few blocks from the main steet area) and looks kind of weird fom the outside. The lobby entrance is not on College Ave but off of Strong even though they have a big window sign and door on College Ave. Try the door and it's locked. There are no signs directing you to the other side of the building.

The outdoor sitting area looks really nice with fires and heated lamps for cold days. But the rain put a damper on that area for us.

The elevators are super fast (although there are only 6 stories, it moves quick.)

All in all, I'd try another location next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbobwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear jimbobwe,
We apologize for the less than satisfactory experience you had while staying at Hotel Indigo Athens. We appreciate your constructive criticism and accept your feedback as an opportunity to improve our service for future guests. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you expressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What an accommodating hotel. We had our 10th high school reunion there -delicious food and decent beer selection.
I enjoyed the beer festival held there too. Love the atmosphere.
I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear ElizabethLu,
Thank you for your willingness to review your experience at Hotel Indigo Athens. We appreciate your kind comments, and we are thrilled the reunion was a success! We hope you will stay with us again when arranging accommodations in Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Fort Worth
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were only there one night, but found the place to be satisfactory overall.
Breakfast was delicious, with frittatas made to order and grits on the side. I love the location, with plenty of small restaurants within walking distance, and the campus just a couple of blocks away. Customer service was excellent - each employee was very friendly and responsive. I stopped in the bar next to the lobby for a glass of wine, and was thrilled with the bartender... She offered a couple of free tastes until I found the red I was looking for.
One small complaint, but oh so important. There is a sizeable gap under the room doors, which allows every sound from the hallway to travel into the guest rooms at full volume. Since we were 2 rooms down from the elevator, every time the doors opened, we heard the ding, along with the elevator voice announcing: 'third floor'. All the guests walking down the hallway were heard too.
We did communicate the problem to the front desk, and asked that they install something to close the gap a bit.
Note: not sure if the hotel has a pool, but my review was made on an iPad, and I can't de-select the rating!

Room Tip: Bring earplugs and take a room at the end of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear anghough,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Indigo Athens. We are delighted to hear your experiences in the Madison Bar & Bistro were positive, and we sincerely appreciate your kind comments of our guest services representatives. Thank you for also mentioning the hallway noise from the elevator; this is a problem that needs to be resolved immediately and we appreciate your willingness to bring it to our attention. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.1 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
445 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Athens-University area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Athens-University area

Property: Hotel Indigo Athens-University area
Address: 500 College Ave, Athens, GA 30601-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Athens-University area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Athens-University area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing