We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Athens-University area
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed here awhile back but I enjoyed the stay. The furnishings were modern and comfortable. The hotel is VERY eco friendly (I suggest reading the explanation in the lobby), but it does not make much sense that the key "switch" in the room only controls the power to the bathroom and not the entire room, but anyways. The showers are huge and the bed was just right.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Totallrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Totallrob,
The team at Hotel Indigo Athens appreciates your willingness to review your experience with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding the modern style and the eco-friendly elements of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 511 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Room has a newer loft style ambiance with the associated echoing of sound.

High celings of exposed concrete, wood laminate flooring, floor to ceiling windows. big shower stall and no tub. 32" LCD TV with basic cable offering. Bed was comfortable but the blanket on it was dirty/stained.

Lighting is controlled by your room key, so that can be a bit annoying when you use the bathroom and then realize that you haven't activated the lights.

Service is an issue however. All keys deactivate at noon whether you've been given an extended check out or not. So you go to park your car in the $10/day key activated parking lot only to relaize you must back out and return to the front desk to update it. The lobby entrance is quite some distance from the poorly layed out vehicle reception area making check in/out a hassle.

Reception was quick and efficient but the wait staff for breakfast was flat out rude and disinterested with terse statements like: "What do you want?" "White or wheat?" and of course the immediate drop of the check on the table 5 minutes after ordering and then disappearing even though the place was just about empty. Had to flag her down for another cup of coffee but didn't offer any more cream even though it was empty and right in front of her. Bad news and the worst the thing to be hit with in the AM. She was a real B that morning.

The hotel is in a bit of an odd location (a few blocks from the main steet area) and looks kind of weird fom the outside. The lobby entrance is not on College Ave but off of Strong even though they have a big window sign and door on College Ave. Try the door and it's locked. There are no signs directing you to the other side of the building.

The outdoor sitting area looks really nice with fires and heated lamps for cold days. But the rain put a damper on that area for us.

The elevators are super fast (although there are only 6 stories, it moves quick.)

All in all, I'd try another location next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbobwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear jimbobwe,
We apologize for the less than satisfactory experience you had while staying at Hotel Indigo Athens. We appreciate your constructive criticism and accept your feedback as an opportunity to improve our service for future guests. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you expressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What an accommodating hotel. We had our 10th high school reunion there -delicious food and decent beer selection.
I enjoyed the beer festival held there too. Love the atmosphere.
I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear ElizabethLu,
Thank you for your willingness to review your experience at Hotel Indigo Athens. We appreciate your kind comments, and we are thrilled the reunion was a success! We hope you will stay with us again when arranging accommodations in Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were only there one night, but found the place to be satisfactory overall.
Breakfast was delicious, with frittatas made to order and grits on the side. I love the location, with plenty of small restaurants within walking distance, and the campus just a couple of blocks away. Customer service was excellent - each employee was very friendly and responsive. I stopped in the bar next to the lobby for a glass of wine, and was thrilled with the bartender... She offered a couple of free tastes until I found the red I was looking for.
One small complaint, but oh so important. There is a sizeable gap under the room doors, which allows every sound from the hallway to travel into the guest rooms at full volume. Since we were 2 rooms down from the elevator, every time the doors opened, we heard the ding, along with the elevator voice announcing: 'third floor'. All the guests walking down the hallway were heard too.
We did communicate the problem to the front desk, and asked that they install something to close the gap a bit.
Note: not sure if the hotel has a pool, but my review was made on an iPad, and I can't de-select the rating!

Room Tip: Bring earplugs and take a room at the end of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear anghough,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Indigo Athens. We are delighted to hear your experiences in the Madison Bar & Bistro were positive, and we sincerely appreciate your kind comments of our guest services representatives. Thank you for also mentioning the hallway noise from the elevator; this is a problem that needs to be resolved immediately and we appreciate your willingness to bring it to our attention. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We drove over to Athens from Atlanta to enjoy a night out on the town and stayed at Hotel Indigo. The hotel was easy to find and is within walking distance of many shops, bars and restaurants. We checked in and dashed right back out for dinner, got back around 8:30 and headed to the bar for a nightcap. There was no trouble grabbing a seat in the lounge area which was very comfortable - our server was prompt and friendly.

Our room looked just like the photos on the website, was spacious and clean with modern furnishings and a super comfy king sized bed. I loved the shower!! It's a walk in shower with a huge shower head that is almost like a soft rain. I didn't want to get out. I was impressed with the Aveda selection of soaps and toiletries. Thank you for not skimping on those products like so many hotels do!

The only surprise was the $10 parking charge. I can see why you might do this on a football weekend, but otherwise, it seems a bit unnecessary. Regardless, if I'm back in Athens, this is most definitely where we'll stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandBAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear SandBAtlanta,
We appreciate your willingness to review your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Athens, and we are thankful for the positive feedback you provided. Thank you so much for commenting on the location of the hotel and the various features in the hotel and your guest room. We are glad you enjoyed both the service at the bar and the room amenities like the shower and Aveda products-- we also believe luxury does not have to be compromised! We apologize for the surprise of the parking charge at the end of your stay, and we will take this feedback as an opportunity to improve our future communications. We sincerely appreciate your thoughtfulness and thank you for your comments that will ultimately help us improve our service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

As UGA alumni, we came back to our college town for a reunion and decided to stay at the Indigo Hotel due to its location. Walking in through the front doors seemed like I was in a very modern, upscale city; not in Athens. It was very clean and uniquely designed/decorated; very beautiful. The front desk clerk, Kevin, was very friendly and knowledgable about the hotel's history and area. My friends and I were even provided with free drink coupons to be used at the bar! Walking into the king size pent seemed like a mini-apartment. It was very difficult to get out of bed in the morning since it was so cozy. The stay overall was fabulous and I definitely recommend this hotel to all those visiting Athens! I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Michelle B.,
Thank you for your willingness to review your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Athens. We are so glad you chose to stay with us for your college reunion! We are honored to be a place that brings friends together for celebrations, and we hope you will come back for the next reunion! We appreciate the feedback you provided regarding our friendly guest services representative and your comments about the hotel amenities and design elements are wonderful affirmations for our team to continue delivering inspired service. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Liked the bar, and the LEED rated modern design hotel. Room was comfortable. Only minor gripe, was it ws a little tough to walk to the downtown area because of the busy road you have to cross. Overall would stay here again If I am in Athens. Bar was cool as well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkHarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear MarkHarc,
The team at Hotel Indigo appreciates your willingness to review your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the cool bar and the sustainable design elements at our hotel. We hope the busy intersection did not outweigh the positive experiences of your stay, and we will take your feedback as a great opportunity to coach our guest services representatives to always remind guests to use the pedestrian walkways located at College Avenue and Dougherty Street for the highest safety precautions. Thank you for your feedback, and thank you for choosing us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.1 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#4 of 23 in Athens
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Athens Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
6.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Athens-University area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Athens-University area

Address: 500 College Ave, Athens, GA 30601-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $168 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Athens-University area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Indigo Athens-University area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing