We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool modern hotel with a top notch staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Athens-University area
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Cool modern hotel with a top notch staff”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

They let you know this is an award winning green location. I would feel guilty if I didn't recycle! Great work! The actual exterior "look" of the place may be known as "drab barn". Could be the ugliest place that I have ever stayed in. But the staff, location, parking, cleanliness, modern feel is second to none. Very cool courtyard just outside the bar area with gas fire pit and heaters. Once again a very modern look. Beds very comfy, large shower, flat screen, clock with IPOD hook up etc. But as some other reviewers said you can hear through the adjoining doors and the main door. I just turned the central A/C fan to high and it drowned out most of the noise of the people in the suite next door that returned at 3am.

Room Tip: You either face the city or the back area. I wouldn't say one is better than the other. Not a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaceAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Indigo-Athens! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel interior and guest rooms! We also appreciate your respect of our "green" status. We are proud to be a LEED Gold Certified establishment and seek to keep Athens, Georgia a healthy community! We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    117
    39
    11
    5
See reviews for
104
113
22
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tn.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed at the Indigo for 2 night during thanksgiving. First off, the architecture is interesting, stark and minimal. The room was comfortable with wood flooring, all amenities and very clean.
The hotel is walking distance to downtown Athens and a myriad of restaurants and pubs.
The staff was pleasant and helpful with directions. The only glitch in our stay was on the second night. When we returned to our room in the evening, it had not been made. I brought this to the attention of the desk and they apologized and gave us a credit that was fair. I believe their housekeeping decided to stay home for thanksgiving.
Anyway, I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geeman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Hotel Indigo-Athens! We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We apologize again for the inconvenience on your second night, but are happy to hear that you will consider staying with us again in the near future! On your next trip, we pledge to have no mishaps. Hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Attended a team conference at this great hotel in Athens, home to the University of Georgia. Staff are amazing and just don't stop exceeding expectation. Rooms are wonderful and spacious. This is also a very green hotel featuring art and music. Very convenient for restaurants and bars.

Rialto room perfect for a conference. Staff worked so hard to deliver perfection. Eve in public areas just never stopped clearing and tidying, Rusty manning the bar delivered exceptional service as did the rest of the team.

Definitely worth a visit for an out of the ordinary and exceptional experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cintsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank for you taking the time to review Hotel Indigo-Athens! We are elated to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud to have a staff of individuals always seeking to provide the perfect guest experience! We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your time spent in our event spaces. We strive to provide an event experience unlike any other and are glad to hear that we were successful. We hope you visit us again very soon! Thanks again for reviewing Hotel Indigo-Athens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We chose to stay at the Hotel Indigo for several reasons: a decent group rate, LEED certification, location, and our Priority One membership. We are fans of the InterContinental family of hotels and live in a LEED Silver certified home, so the Indigo was a natural choice for us.

Every staff member we encountered was extremely pleasant and accommodating. The hotel decor has a very modern, hip and "now" vibe to it and I felt very much at home. Our room was just as nicely decorated, and I loved how open and roomy it felt, even though it was just a standard size. The bed was a bit on the too firm side for me, but that's a preference thing. I can also understand why some people would prefer a carpeted floor, but to me, wood floors are just nicer to look at and more sanitary.

As a frequent hotel guest, I especially appreciated certain aspects of our bathroom. I liked having a vanity-length ledge above the sink area where I can line up my cosmetics and whatnots, and not crowd up the counter space, knocking everything over when I use the hairdryer. I also loved the big walk-in shower that had its own lighting and a small wooden stool in it (yay for not having to shave my legs awkwardly in overly-dim vanity lighting!)

And now the unpleasant stuff. As much as I loved every other aspect of this hotel, it has a major sound-proofing problem. The door to our room had an unusually wide gap between it and the floor. If someone had wanted to stick their hand underneath and say "hey" they could've. We could hear every time someone walked by, normal-tone conversations, and worse, the maid's carts rolling. Starting at around 8:30am the maid's carts would be going down the hall jangling with the ceramic coffee cups, recycled cans and bottles, etc. You could clearly hear as they picked up the tin recycle cans (also noisy when tossing stuff into them) and emptied them into the bags on their carts. One morning before 9am, someone started vacuuming in the hall! The walls between the rooms are also in need of sound-proofing. I could hear our next door neighbors talking, walking, flushing, etc. without even trying. Neither my husband or I are light sleepers, and live in an urban setting, so we're used to so *some* noise. This noise level was like having someone else in the room with us.

My other complaint is that the black-out curtains are not long enough. They were just an inch or so short of blocking out all the sunlight. Our first morning, we were awakened at sun rise by a window-long beam of light peaking out, just about at eye level when you're laying on the bed. The second night we made a barricade of throw pillows and extra blankets along the bottom of the curtain to block the light.

So, between the noise level and the sunlight, we did not get a good night's sleep either night. We did not complain to management because this is more of a structural problem and nothing a manager can fix to change while we were there. Unfortunately, because of these issues, mostly the noise factor (curtains can be changed out) I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate any comments, whether positive or negative.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed several aspects of your stay at Hotel Indigo-Athens, including our polite staff, spacious rooms/bathrooms, & our overall aesthetic. We also appreciate your feedback regarding our sound-proofing & curtain issue. We will take these complaints into serious consideration and work to provide a solution for future guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback! Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2011

If you're looking for a unique place to stay in Athens, GA, Hotel Indigo is your place. It ticks all the boxes on your wish list for a modern, comfortable, state of the art place to stay. From the ultra comfortable rooms with great linens, plenty of space, fabulous bamboo floors and an amazing shower to the hip and relaxed vibe in the public spaces, you'll be glad that you left the run-of-the-mill chain hotels for this special place. Have a drink or dinner at the bar and you'll be rewarded with great food and a an attentive manager and waitestaff. If you're lucky you'll be here for a night with live entertainment in the fantastic outdoor space. Don't be surprised to see a Lab, Grant Dane, Labordoodle or Bulldog there to enjoy it with you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelotfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hotel indigo-Athens! We appreciate your feedback and are elated to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time spent with us. We hope you visit us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This hotel was AWESOME! Located right in downtown Athens it was so convienent to everything. Great, friendly staff that made us feel very welcome. Definitely will be coming back to this hotel!

Room Tip: Very roomy. Four people slept comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlgosdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Indigo-Athens! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property. We hope you visit us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We had a great girls weekend at the hotel. The service was great, the bar was awesome, and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hotel Indigo-Athens! We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are elated to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad we could provide the perfect venue for your girls' weekend. We hope you visit again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.1 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
445 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Athens-University area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Athens-University area

Property: Hotel Indigo Athens-University area
Address: 500 College Ave, Athens, GA 30601-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Athens-University area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Indigo Athens-University area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing