We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like the 60s” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Varsity Athens

The Varsity Athens
Ranked #55 of 410 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Cornelia, Georgia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Just like the 60s”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stopped by for lunch following a recent trip to Athens. The same flavors, odors and surroundings as I remembered from my college days. I will definitelly visit again for the wonderful chilli dogs, orange shakes, fries and onion rings. Don't expect fine dining: just a great old corner hot dog and burger joint on a reasonable budget. .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissDixieDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    64
    46
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have been away for a while and brought my family when we visited UGA. The food is still great. Now everyone knows what I mean when I say 'What'll ya have'. Hotdogs, burgers and onion rings are still the best. Don't forget to have an orange drink.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hot dogs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I can never get into the original Varsity in Atlanta so I jumped at the chance to try the one in Athens. Best hot dogs I've ever tasted. You will love it

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank leslieh836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Food is great.I recomended this place, if you want to eat the best hot dog in town. The other food they sell as well are very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
593 reviews
446 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“It's tradition and a habit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I graduated from the University. I've been eating here, or the downtown location that closed a long time ago, since 1967. I've been eating at the Varsity in Atlanta since at least 1963, yes I'm old. Great memories here. I usually get 2 burgers onion rings and 2 NIPCs, no ice pure chocolate, their own chocolate milk. Every once in a while I'll get the chili dogs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CRLoveToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Varsity Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing