We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious chili dogs”
Review of The Varsity Athens

The Varsity Athens
Ranked #65 of 415 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Homer, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious chili dogs”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I love to have lunch at the Varsity when in Athens. It is such a treat to have the #1 combo which is two chili dogs, fries or onion rings, and a drink. We each get that with the fries and then a separate order of onion rings to share. We probably do this about once a month and always look forward to the next time. There is just something special about their hotdogs and chili that make them so delicious. Everybody should try The Varsity at least once. You might become hooked on it too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    71
    49
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, GA
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“go for the experience, not the food”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This place is an icon, unique in the world, and everyone should visit at least once. I've lived in Athens 48 years, two blocks away, and have been twice. The grease fix the second time was the same as I remembered.

Helpful?
Thank papillonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Greasy but so good.”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The classic burger and dog place. The food is greasy, but oh so good. Chili dogs with slaw and onion rings can't be beat. And a frosted orange on a hot day hits the spot!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Chili dog heaven”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Best chili dog, hand-cut fries and onion rings anywhere.

Don't forget to get Varsity Orange drink. My favorite is combo #2 with the chiliburger.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Edwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a classic”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I get the chili burger and a peach fried pie. It's quick for lunch and the food is greasy, but a good greasy. I've been eating at "the V" since I was a kid and it's great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sheritel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Varsity Athens also viewed

 

Been to The Varsity Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing