We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food & experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The National

The National
Ranked #4 of 413 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open for lunch Monday - Saturday and dinner daily; our bar also remains open for coffee and tapas during the day 2:30 - 5pm. The idea behind The National is simple: to provide a casual neighborhood gathering spot reminiscent of the bars and cafés we’ve enjoyed on travels to Europe. Mediterranean inspired food and wine is served for lunch and dinner in the dining room and throughout the day at the bar. While our menu points to culinary traditions from abroad, we value our local farmers and our dishes reflect the changing seasons in Northeast Georgia.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful food & experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I ate a tapas-style meal of delicious marinated olives (we would eat those EVERY day if we could!), yummy home fries, AMAZING gluten-free flatbread & hummus, a refreshing summer salad and a dish of chickpeas with grilled okra, harissa and yogurt that was literally addicting! I can't wait to go back to Atlanta and visit another one of Hugh Acheson's restaurants, Empire State South. We'll definitely be back to eat at The National given their attention to flavor combinations, gluten-friendly options and friendly service!

Helpful?
3 Thank debelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    56
    28
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great, great, great. Atcherson is James Beard winner, lots of buzz, couple places now in ATL and now in Savannah too. Dinner was great. Lots of GF and veggie optioins should you want that. Service was great, bar area great. I can only imagine it would be tough to get into this place if school is in session or a busy weekend. Reservations recommended. Was so good went back for lunch next days, had Hummus with flatbread, cucumber gazpacho and and verion of a powerlunch (quinoa, veggies, stuff) all great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neurovictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Flavors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

This restaurant is a great option downtown. We attended Athfest and wanted something within walking distance. The Stuffed Medjool Dates were a perfect combination of flavors and a great start to the rest of our meal. Try to get a reservation because it was busy and we had first come, first serve outdoor seating. We had a few small plates and the summer time salad with peaches and watermelon. It was light and filling - perfect for muggy summer evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Worth a trip to Athens, GA.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

This once again is real cooking by people who know what they are doing. The chef has apparently travelled in Europe and understands perfectly how to make flavors work together. We didn't make a booking as it was a Monday and yet it was full to overflowing. We happily sat on the terrace with several others and had a very jolly time. The kingclip and the chicken were both perfectly cooked and served with excellent jus.

Is there something about University towns that makes for great cuisine? The National however was the equal of the meal we had recently at The French press in Lafayette, LA. And that is high praise indeed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank julianmoseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin W, Public Relations Manager at The National, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for the high compliments! We are so thrilled you made you trip. Whether it's the University that inspires us or just the incredible bounty of local produce and meat, it's the enjoyment of our guests that keep us excited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
271 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great all around!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

This place is elegant, casual, and relaxed all at the same time. The food is prepared using local growers and it's obvious in the taste and presentation that the restaurant takes pride in this. I don't recall the name of what I ordered but it had greens, chickpeas, garden peas, quinoa, celery, garlic, and a few other items. I LOVED it! Who wouldn't feel great eating something that's nutritious AND delicious?! I just with this place was in my town!

Helpful?
1 Thank suzb_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National also viewed

 

Been to The National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing