We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Visit”

Terrapin Beer Company
Ranked #1 of 5 Food & Drink in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are visitors centre based at beautiful Spey Bay. Dolphins are regularly seen feeding at the mouth of the river Spey,along with ospreys, seals, a huge variety of birdlife and the occasional otter.Join us for land based dolphin watching, tours of the UK's largest icehouse, wildlife walks, latest sightings, interactive exhibition, free binocular hire, all for free. With shop and cafe. The Centre is run by the Whale and Dolphin Conservation Society, come and help support our charity work and have a fun day out!
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have visited many times. Very laid back, relaxed atmosphere. Good selection of craft beers- they usually have their usual line up of best sellers to sample and rotate one or two seasonal brews (all of which are great). Live music on the weekends. Lawn games. Lots of seating and tables. Can bring leashed dogs. I have not personally taken the brewery tour, but I've heard it's interesting. 10$ gets you a pint glass to take home and eight sample pours (a little over 4 beers). Tip your bar backs and you get better service- aka bigger pours.

Tip: Make sure to watch your clock if you show up late so you don't leave with unused tickets. Last call is at 7:30.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank EC098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    27
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great beer.. Super cool brewery”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

What fantastic beers!.. The location is superb..The tour is incredibly cool.. If I were a local I would be a regular.. If you are beer lover I highly recommend this.. It is a must do when visiting Athens!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrMediaTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome Beer Tour”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I went here yesterday with some family members and truly enjoyed it! Terrapin allows you to bring anybody including kids or dogs, but you must be over 21 to drink. They give you a bracelet with about 8 quarter pints and you have a big selection of beers to choose from. The tour which is done every 20 to 30 minutes is a very informative and funny! They also have live music and outside seating. You can bring outside food too! Definitely recommend this place to anybody, its located off chase street, so its a great place to hang out or pre game before heading to downtown Athens.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thebrownkidblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I wish I was local!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely amazing deal. Get there early as there was a line at 5:30. We went on the Saturday of St.Patty's day weekend and it was packed. Military discount on pint glasses but admission tasting and tour are free. I did see people walking around with plastic cups to make it 100% free. Kids and dogs were welcome and there was plenty for them to do. Tours are in small groups and you must have closed toed shoes. You get a bracelet with 8 four once tastings and they had eight beers to try including different special beers. If you know what you want you can get a full pint instead of four of your tastings. Large area outside to drink with live music. People brought their own chairs as the picnic tables filled up fast. Or bring a blanket and food for an awesome picnic. Last tasting glasses available at 7pm with last pour at 7:15 and closed at 7:30. I would go every week more than once if I was local. A must for any beer lover or even liker. My wife, new to beer, found a few she liked.

Helpful?
Thank BeerEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Live music”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

This Athens brewery produces some of the best high gravity beers in the South. Over the weekends, they have live music and tastings. It was a great time

Helpful?
Thank ccrawf32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrapin Beer Company also viewed

 

Been to Terrapin Beer Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing