We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Gameday Experience Ever”
Review of Sanford Stadium

Sanford Stadium
Ranked #2 of 50 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Gameday Experience Ever”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I am unabashedly prejudiced. I love Sanford stadium and have attended games there for more than 40 years. The atmosphere is special and the game day traditions unite the fans with the team. If you ever have the chance, go to a game there regardless of the opponent. See first hand the leading religion in the south, college football.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    45
    13
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
103 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“No ordinary public tours at this stadium”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

It's a college football stadium. As far as I know, there are no public tours of the facility. You can see the famous view, the "hedges", by walking along the road on the side near the student center. Its main function is a center of exploitation of underpaid young men, not a tourist attraction.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The "Hedges" Rule!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Until you have experienced a game "Between the Hedges" at Sanford stadium, you just can't relate to what a great facility and experience awaits. There are few as good and no better college stadium facilities on earth.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bulldog Country for sure”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Soooooo LOUD. So glad we traveled to this away game. The stadium was great, caught a fabulous sunset on the way out. Athens is amazing!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sheree t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Great College Football Experience”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Recently visited Sanford Stadium for UGA football game. It was my first game there. Highly recommend going to see a game there as you will be soaking in tradition and SEC football at its best. This is what big time football and all its tradition is all about. Facility is clean, spacious and full of Georgia spirit. Really....the fans are good-natured and just in love with their dawgs. They wear their colors proudly and abundantly. For a great pre-game experience, make your way to 'the dog walk' to greet the players before the game as they unload the buses and make their way through the crowd giving high fives and receiving unparalleled cheers and admiration. Quite an experience.

The last section on each side (seating is a horseshoe shape) looks as if it might have limited view of the scoreboard, but we didn't sit there so I don't know for sure. Did not make use of concessions as game was too exciting to miss. Many picnics and tailgate parties going on beforehand, so we just brought a few sandwiches to eat beforehand. No drinks allowed in the stadium. Easy entry and exit into stadium and many gates to utilize. Like any campus, parking is tough nearby but there were campus buses available and it's a beautiful enough campus to walk. Yes, there are a lot of steps to the upper deck.

Truly a great college football experience

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank familyvacas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanford Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Sanford Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing