We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UGA Football”
Review of Sanford Stadium

Sanford Stadium
Ranked #2 of 50 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“UGA Football”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Gotta love the home of the UGA Football...Gooooooooo, Bulldawg Nation! It is big and well-respected!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhkeim93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    45
    13
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Safety Concerns”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Beautiful stadium, but the upper levels have little to no safety devices (adequate handrails, etc) on the upper decks. I'm wearing an aircast and had to climb to the very top row of the stadium to get to my seat. I've never had an issue with heights, but by the time I got to my seat I was physically ill. Could not enjoy the game much because I kept feeling like I or someone around me was going to fall and never stop til they splatted on the field hundreds of feet below! The only way I will EVER go back, is to ensure I have a seat in the lower section of the stadium. A friend of mine that was with me has respiratory problems, she was short of breath and ill by the time we got to our seats as well. There are no provisions for persons with ambulatory issues except an elevator in one far corner of the stadium...you literally have to walk about a mile to get to it. Then the elevator will only take you to the base of the tier. One of the ushers had to carry our concessions up to the top of the stadium for me because I couldn't focus on getting up all the stairs and balancing that too. Just not a good venue for people with medical issues and not enough warning to let you know in advance to request specific seating. The field is beautiful and so is the rest of the stadium, but no more climbing for me!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan8696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulee, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Georiga -Georiga Tech Game”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A beaufuil stadium in the fall with all the color changes and the college atmosphere. Restaurants and shops close to stadium

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary_Roberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great time - even though Tech lost....”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A nice, well-maintained stadium! We sat in section 603 - visitor seats in the upper deck - and the seats still offered a good view of the game. It is hard to see the scoreboard from there, but the restrooms were easily accessible, clean and there wasn't a line.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LAinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The Home of the Dawgs”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The best place in the world to see the UGA Dawgs romp! The seats in sections 129 through134 are outstanding. You don't have to sit in the sun all day or none of it if you are in 129.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rprr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanford Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Sanford Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing