We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but not the top hotel in Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Okay, but not the top hotel in Athens”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband and I chose this hotel for an extended stay based on reviews (the number one Tripadvisor reviewed hotel), location, price and availability of exercise room. We found the front office staff to be courteous an accommodating, the suite arrangement of two rooms and teo TVs very good and the breakfast adequate. The refrigerator and microwave worked fine.

That said, the hotel is looking a bit rundown and housekeeping is inconsistent. Some of the furniture in the common areas and elevator are stained and no matter what time of night or day the elevator carpet looked like it needed vacuuming. There is one very, very slow elevator for the entire hotel.

There were some small bits of carpet and lint on our floor; it took three days and as many requests of the front office for them to be vacuumed up. One day we had no washcloths, another day no hand towels. This straightened out after several days of requests.

The primary exercise machine was broken and was to be replaced; it was out of service during our entire two week stay.

Bottom line: we were very happy with the cost of the hotel and might stay again if we needed an extended time, but with adjusted expectation. That said, the number one rating is not currently accurate.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms on the parking lot side are most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itsmeeloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Inn A, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your extended stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the staff and in room accommodations. We are actually in the process of changing out many of the items you mention this week. I apologize it wasn't done sooner and for housekeeping not keeping you supplied as they should be. I would ask that you do give us another chance because all items will be addressed and corrected. Have an Excellent day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    122
    47
    16
    17
See reviews for
265
72
29
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Best in Athens by far. Came to visit a friend and was wonderfully surprised. Close enough to downtown, 2 miles, but far enough away to miss all of the college chaos. I will definitely be back and recommend it to everyone.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, at the Country Inn and Suites in Athens, on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and are recommending us to others. We look forawrd to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed here with a friend for a weekend event at UGA in Athens. As we spent most of our time in Athens, we headed to the hotel (recommended by event organizers) under cover of darkness. That was a problem, because we got lost and got to the hotel after 10 pm. We were exhausted! Luckily the property was clean, comfortable and affordable. Breakfast the next morning was fantastic! Staff was very helpful and welcoming. It was just more than 30 minutes away from where we needed to be.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room that was amazingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We are delighted that you chose to stay with us on your recent trip to Athens, Georgia, and that you have taken the time to write a review on TripAdvisor! It was a pleasure to read your review of our hotel. We are proud to offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodations for our guests and to top it all off with our excellent Be Our Guest complimentary hot breakfast daily. I am sorry that you were unable to find our hotel more easily upon arrival. We are conveniently situated in the heart of Athens near the Alps Road shopping area and St. Mary's Hospital and only 2 miles from the Universtiy of Georgia main campus and the iconic UGA Arch. We hope that if your travels bring you back to Athens that you will stay with us again! Thanks from the Country Inn and Suites Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel toom was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The downstairs lobby felt like home. Staff was welcoming and helpful. There was a great shopping complex right around the corner. Lots of resaurants nearby. At first we were disappointed that it was 2 miles away from the UGA campus but ended up loving it. Very family friendly. Breakfast was decent.

Room Tip: Given that there seemed to be a college team traveling and they gatherd downstairs, it was nice to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qaiser2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Wow! A hidden gem. Such high praise for little ol' us. We appreciate you takig the time to review the Country Inn and Suites in Athens on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate feedback and you were so thoughtful with your comments. We are in the thick of things here in Athens and although we are not right downtown or campus adjacent, our location does offer lots of shopping and dining options! Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

From the moment you set foot in the Country Inn and Suites in Athens, you feel this is a special hotel. Compared to other hotels of this brand, it is a quite grand and wide open atrium. Each room inside the hotel opens into this atrium, giving the hotel a really "grand" feel. The lobby/atrium is well decorated with plants that make it feel like a small garden; furniture that appears homey; a fireplace that feels cozy; and a breakfast area within the same atrium.

The room was very comfortable and clean, and was well appointed. Decor was updated and tasteful. The suite made the stay even nicer. The bed was quite cozy and lent itself to a very good nights sleep. The HVAC was very efficient, but a little noisy; nevertheless, the white noise it provided probably assisted in the great sleep I got. The bathroom had plenty of room and was well-lit, as well as very clean.

The breakfast was a nice way to start the morning. The choices were wide and varied, and were tasty. The fresh fruit, fresh pastries, and waffle iron were all nice additions to the lineup.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and made check-in and check-out a cinch. All-in-all, this was a very nice stay at a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boltonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Country Inn and Suites in Athens and for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to provide excellent service, facilities and amenities for you. We are looking forward to your next visit! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We take our swim team to Athens every year for a meet at UGA. This year we stayed at Country Inn and Suites. This hotel was excellent! The staff was wonderful, the easiest and friendliest check-in I have ever experienced. The hotel and rooms were superb. Clean, nice, comfortable. The breakfast was awesome as well! You will be very happy you booked with Country Inn and Suites, they won't disappoint you. I am looking forward to going back again next year and will book early. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for the glowing endorsement. We love our teams here at the Country Inn and Suites in Athens! We are always excited to hear of an excellent stay and cannot wait to see you and the swim team again next year. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
457 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
2.3 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
3.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Address: 236 Old Epps Bridge Rd, Athens, GA 30606-2875
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Athens
#2 Family Hotel in Athens
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, is conveniently located only 2 miles from downtown Athens and the University of Georgia. We are near many restaurants and area attractions and provides a warm and welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Athens Hotel Athens
Country Inn And Suites Athens
Country Inn Athens
Athens Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing