We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stay here at least once a year for a conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stay here at least once a year when we have a conference in Athens. It is not directly on the main road so you don't have a lot of traffic noise in your room. There is no view to speak of out of any of the rooms - so don't come prepared to enjoy what it out of your window. The rooms are always clean and fresh. The lobby and main areas are large and airy. I love the atrium. The continental breakfast is just that - fruit, cereal, bagels, coffee, juice, biscuits...but it's always kept stocked and clean. The staff from housekeeping to front desk to management are always happy to assist you and greet you with a smile. This is my favorite chain of hotels and this is one of my favorite locations.

Room Tip: If you can get a corner room it seems to be bigger and you don't hear noise from the atrium as m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZachNeff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your thorough review of our property! We enjoy welcoming our conference guests and we will work hard to continue to earn your business each and every year that you stay with us! Our "Be Our Guest Breakfast" is a complementary full hot breakfast that we serve to our guests every day and we are pleased to hear that you have been able to take advantage of it during your stay. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 586 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed in a queen suite for UGA graduation weekend. I had stayed here 4 years ago when my son first went to college and I have to say how impressed I was that the room and hotel still looked brand new. The room was immaculately clean as was the rest of the property. The beds were extremely comfortable. Central air which in my opinion is a big bonus because I don't like the side window units that blow on top of you all night. Plenty of room with refrigerator and microwave if needed. Breakfast buffet better than average with attentive service by the hosts. Also, convenient location-near shopping, restaurants but also close to UGA and downtown. Great value as well! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenda40024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Inn A, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for the response 5 Circles is an honor!

Brian Cotter, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites during the week of May 1st. It is a very nice hotel but lacks in comfortability. The room was nice with two double beds and a nice bathroom. The mattresses were not comfortable which caused some loss of sleep.
The breakfast was not as good as many other hotels we have stayed at for the price we paid for the room.

Room Tip: We would not stay at this hotel again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Inn A, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

We have made many improvement in the breakfast area please come try us agian next time you are in town!

Thank You,

Brian Cotter, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last night with my Mom and twin girls because a family member is in a nearby hospital. I was pleasantly surprised by the decor and cleanliness of the hotel lobby and rooms. I was even more impressed with the friendliness of the front desk staff and especially Melissa in the restauraqnt area who did a great job making us feel at home during breakfast. They also did some realy nice things for other guests with family members in the same hospital. They went above and beyond to make sure everyone was comfortable and well taken care of, My Mom is staying for an extended period of time and I am happy to know that she is in good hands.

Room Tip: Choose 4th floor - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisarichmondrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Inn A, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank You so much for the review. We like seeing those 5 Circles always good on the eyes!! :)

Best,

Brian Cotter, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The staff of this hotel treated me with such kindness. Zach, Chris, Omar and Jan went out of their way to make me feel comfortable during a very stressful time in my life. My
room is very spacious, clean and quiet. The hotel is conveniently located to the major hospitals in the area. There also are restaurants, shopping and Fresh Produce right by the hotel. I chose this hotel just based on my previous stay at a Country Inn in Florida. I feel safe and secure which is a wonderful plus. Thanks to all for going over and beyond the expected to make me feel at home.

Room Tip: The rooms tucked in the corners (not open to the atrium) are extremely quiet. I prefer the top floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Inn A, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Tip of the hat and a nod of the head to you good Sir!

Thank You,

Brian Cotter, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed one night at the Country Inn and Suites in Athens, GA. We really love the one in Port Canaveral, FL so we thought we'd like this one as well. The hotel and the room were clean. The room we had was large with plenty of room. The whole place was very elegant. I'm still a fan but there were just a couple of things that weren't up to par as far as we were concerned. First, the breakfast was not at all what was advertised on the website, nor was it what they serve at the one in Port Canaveral. We were disappointed that they didn't have gravy, omelets, or bacon, as advertised. The eggs were cold and the biscuits were hard and cold. The fruit was limited to strawberries and cantaloupe. While the room we had, (4th floor, back corner) was large and clean, it was noisy. We could here the television and people talking in the room next to us and we could hear the sounds from the street. I guess you can't help that. But we did think it should've been a lot quieter from within the hotel itself. It was listed on TripAdvisor as the #1 rated hotel in Athens, so I guess things could've been worse. :)
All in all, not a bad hotel for the price.

Room Tip: The back corner room, #424, is large and roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weddingmom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Inn A, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank You for the review we look forward to having these issues addressed before your next arrival.

Best,

Brian Cotter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Dra Cunnigham had excellent service. He was very professional and friendly. He made my stay a lot nore fun. I felt if I has any problems he would be sure to take care of it. He guided me to the right places. When I needed to buy something or make some coffe he made sure I had everything I needed.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nousernameneeded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Inn A, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank You for the perfect review and we look forward to your return.

Best,

Brian Cotter, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#4 of 23 in Athens
493 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Athens
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens

Address: 236 Old Epps Bridge Rd, Athens, GA 30606-2875
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Athens
#1 Family Hotel in Athens
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $93 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, is conveniently located only 2 miles from downtown Athens and the University of Georgia. We are near many restaurants and area attractions and provides a warm and welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Athens Hotel Athens
Country Inn And Suites Athens
Country Inn Athens
Athens Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing