We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All Hands Meeting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
“All Hands Meeting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our group really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There are lots of places to sit and relax and have converstaions. The staff took execelent care of my team while we were there. They had our conf. room all setup and went out of their way to make sure we had what ever we needed. Their suggestions of places to eat was also Great. This property is a great place to hold your next meeting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZachNeff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Rachel, I can't tell you what an honor it was for us to host your group. We appreciate that you chose the Country Inn & Suites-Athens to meet all your group needs for meeting space, event set-up and overnight accommodations. You and your associates were a pleasure to work with and the entire staff hopes that you return again soon. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    112
    43
    14
    7
See reviews for
234
71
29
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Uppon arrival, the lobby was clean, inviting and beautiful! There was coffee available as well as warm cookies. The room was pristine, comfortable and spacious. The children loved the pool and the exercise room was fully equipped. The breakfast was wonderful complete with fresh fruit, eggs and oatmeal. I will be staying here anytime I visit the area!

Room Tip: The presidential suite was AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 909Katy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZachNeff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the many EXCELLENT amenities that we have to offer our guests. The indoor swimming pool/whirlpool, fitness center, and delicious complimentary hot breakfast are just a few the features we are pleased to provide for all of our guests to ensure that you enjoy a relaxing and comfortable home-away-from-home experience. We look forward to your next visit and we thank you very much for your business and continued support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
250 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is our second time in the past few months to visit Athens, Georgia. Since we had such a good experience with the earlier trip at the Country Inn and Suites we decided to stay there again. We had given them a great review the first time. Would they live up to our expectations?

They sure did. They lived up to it, or even excelled beyond it for the second trip. We stayed on a Sunday night and in spite of the fact there were a large number of people in the hotel we had the feeling the place was all there just to serve us.

Monday we wanted to get on the road so we went down at 6:05 A.M. for breakfast. All of the food was already out and a number of people were already there eating. Everything on the food bar, and there was a lot of it, was fresh and first class.

We stayed on the 4th floor and this probably added to the quiet atmosphere we experienced. We never heard a single sound outside our door after we went inside for the night.

There are a large number of restaurants within walking distance (2 city blocks), so this makes it very nice and close to everything one might want or need. If you are there for something on the UG campus, its a perfect location for this as well.

Room Tip: Try Room 410. It sets back off from the hallway, and if you like the privacy it does not have a wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZachNeff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us again. Our staff works tirelessly to make sure that every one of our guests has an EXCELLENT stay and then we work even harder to ensure that each return stay is even better! It is our goal to make the Country Inn & Suites-Athens a home away from home for our guests and to ensure that everyone enjoys the "we had the feeling the place was all there just to serve us" experience that you mentioned. We look forward to the challenge of exceeding your expectations again on your next trip to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Clean, roomy, comfortable but my only disappointment was breakfast was from 6:30 until 10 but they shut down way before 10 - we walked into dining room at 9:40 to get something to eat and they had already put everything up. Oh, well

Room Tip: I believe there all good rooms - you can't lose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZachNeff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. We are extremely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm so sorry that you were not able to get breakfast during your stay. We serve breakfast from 6:00am until 9:30am on weekdays and from 7:00am until 10:30am on weekends, but we hate to see our guests go hungry and will gladly make something for you as long as the kitchen staff is still on site. I hope your travels bring you back to the Athens area soon so that you have the chance to enjoy our EXCELLENT breakfast menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I think we've stayed at most every hotel in Athens except Hotel Indigo...we're just not hip enough for that place. Up until now, our favorite was Springhill Suites just outside of Athens. I still love that property but for the money, I will, in the future, choose the Country Inn and Suites.

The location, behind Applebee's and McDonald's just off of the Atlanta Highway is great. There was plenty of parking. The staff was outstanding...from the front desk to the breakfast area!

The breakfast selections were very good...you could make a yogurt parfait and waffles plus
they offered scrambled eggs, crispy bacon (yay! hate limp, undercooked bacon) and biscuits
with gravy. Copies of USA Today were laid out at the breakfast bar. The "bold" coffee was
delicious.

The room size was more than adequate. We like a separate living area away from the bedroom. The room also had a microwave and mini-fridge. It was clean.

My only complaint was that it was hard to modulate the air-conditioning. Either the room
got really cold or too warm. Next time, I would call downstairs and ask to be put in another room.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and will book it again the next time we're in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank It'sTimeToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZachNeff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Wow, Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of the Country Inn & Suites-Athens. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It makes us very happy to know that you would chose our hotel as your home away from home on future trips to Athens. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. It is our goal to make your next stay even more EXCELLENT than your last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I just needed a hotel in Athens for one night, and I chose the Country Inn & Suites online. I prefer suites and their nonrefundable internet price was attractive. I was delighted with my choice! Clean, comfortable, and quiet. Free breakfast, friendly staff. I didn't try the indoor pool but people seemed to be enjoying it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZachNeff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! I hope you get the opportunity to come back to Athens again soon! Perhaps next time you will be able to stay a little longer and take advantage of all the EXCELLENT amenities that the Country Inn & Suites-Athens has to offer including that indoor pool and a different fresh hot breakfast menu to choose from everyday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I wanted to visit the Athens area, since our son is beginning his post-graduate work at UGA. Based on the reviews, we chose to stay at Country Inn & Suites. We weren't disappointed! We had a lovely suite, very reasonably priced, clean, with comfortable beds, and great amenities! The breakfast buffet was very nice, with all selections quite fresh. It was very quiet. Other than a B&B, it was a perfect choice!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonohioluckey18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZachNeff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of the Country Inn & Suites-Athens. We strive to provide each of our guests with an EXCELLENT experience at an EXCELLENT price and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to exceeding your expectation even more on your next trip through Athens, GA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
2.3 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 22 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#5 of 22 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
3.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Address: 236 Old Epps Bridge Rd, Athens, GA 30606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Athens
#2 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#2 Family Hotel in Athens
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, is conveniently located only 2 miles from downtown Athens and the University of Georgia. We are near many restaurants and area attractions and provides a warm and welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Athens Hotel Athens
Country Inn And Suites Athens
Country Inn Athens
Athens Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing