We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful haven for individuals and groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Humuya Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Humuya Inn
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Tegucigalpa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful haven for individuals and groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have brought medical mission teams to Honduras since early 2000 and each year we have stayed at the Humuya Inn. The staff in wonderful, the food is good and the atmosphere is inviting and feels safe. We have had wonderful conversational meetings in the garden eating area and on the roof with a great view of the city. Thank you to the staff for being so welcoming and giving us a haven for rest!

Room Tip: Rooms in the 100s are very quiet. Others are near the outdoor patio/garden and higher up are close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanfnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humuya_Inn, Owner at Hotel Humuya Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our establishment. It is always extremely pleasant for us when we have yearly returning guests. Not only does it allow us to know what your specific needs might be, it also gives us the opportunity for our guests to notice the improvements we make from year to year.

We are very happy to hear we were a haven for your team. See you next year!

Sincerely yours,


Scott Crook
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    30
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
32
24
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel had been absolutely fantastic and accommodating. The staff are relaxed and speak wonderful English. The food is delicious and we never went hungry. The roof is delightful and has wonderful views of the city and surrounding areas. This hotel has a wonderful mixture of indoors and outdoors and dinner is always extremely tranquil and pleasant. I felt completely safe and secure here and this will be where I stay coming back to Honduras!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humuya_Inn, Owner at Hotel Humuya Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Ms. Katie C,

One of our primary goals at the Humuya Inn is to have our guests feel safe and secure, we are glad to hear we were able to do that for you! It is very pleasant to hear that you enjoy our food and also our rooftop which seems to be a favorite amongst our guests.

When we designed the hotel, we made sure we were able to keep some of the original plants including our mango tree which in May gives the best mangoes in town.

Looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Scott Crook
Humuya Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was our third visit to the Humuya and again we enjoyed the stay. I was pleased to see they have extended the restaurant service as there isn't a lot nearby. However we did walk to the YIP Superarket to do some shopping and bought a nice light lunch at their cafeteria. (10-15 minutes).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humuya_Inn, Owner at Hotel Humuya Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Mr. Richard B,

Thank you for your very nice review. As you pointed out, we recently extended our restaurant hours for our guests (as per guest suggestions). We also recently added more staff (Front Desk) hours.

We hope to see you and if there are any suggestions on how we could improve our service we would love to hear from you.

Thank you,

Scott Crook
Humuya Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Once again we had another great stay at the Humuya Inn. As usual the hotel and staff continue to impress and provide a level of service not easily found in Honduras. We did eat breakfast at the hotel every day and found the buffet style breakfast to be adequete but nothing spectacular. The hotel does have a full breakfast menu available if you would like and the food is very good. We only ate dinner at the hotel once but it also was very good and prepared quickly. The hotel was super clean, very well kept and is like your own little oasis situated within Tegucigalpa. I have been coming here for a few years now and it seems as if the Humuya is continually upgrading different aspects of the hotel such as the spa terrace, gym, TV's, etc. This is simply an awesome hotel and you won't be disappointed staying here.

We stayed in Suite 101 which is in the front of the hotel on the first floor and faces the street. I chose this room as I had this room a few years ago and loved it. It's a large room with a king sized bed, large Flat screen TV, a couch, desk, lots of space and is very comfortable. That said, the Honduran Presidential inauguration was going on while we were there and there was ALOT of street noise. Someone also had a party that went until past 4:00am (not sure if the party was in the hotel or not) and immediately after that someone decided to fire up what sounded like a chainsaw. Lets not forget that this is Honduras but if you don't like noise this probably isn't the room for you. I didn't remember there being so much noise the last time I used this room.

Finally, I can't write a review about the Humuya without mentioning the staff. These folks are super friendly, work hard and you won't meet a single one who isn't pleasant or doesn't have a smile on their face. I would like to give a compliment to Elvin. Elvin works security among other things as it seems this guy is a really hard worker. Every time we saw him he was helping someone whether it was helping with luggage, bringing water to someone, helping with parking etc. Plus, one of the days we took a side trip to a small pueblo in the mountains and returned with our car covered in dirt. The next day I arrived at my Honduran Family's house and one of the little boys said..."Hey Byron, you washed the car!" I guess I didn't notice it when I got in the vehicle in the morning but Elvin decided to wash the car for us with no expectations and when I asked him about it he basically said it was no deal, just trying to make our stay as nice as possible. What a great guy and what an asset to the Humuya!

Thanks again and we will see you next time!

Room Tip: May want to stay away from rooms in the front if a little street noise bothers you. A few rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bphawk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humuya_Inn, Owner at Hotel Humuya Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear bphawk64,

It is always gratifying to hear that our constant improvements do not go unnoticed for our return guests. Our operations and maintenance team work very hard to maintain and improve our facilities.

We do apologize for the level of noise you encountered during your last stay. Unfortunately, with the Presidential Inauguration there were a lot of outside celebrations beyond our control. Our event policy strictly forbids any events past 12, so the noise party you experienced was not internal.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. We know we have a wonderful group of people that strive on a daily basis to satisfy our guests. We have given Elvin a translated copy of your compliment. It is great to hear to hear that he would go the extra mile to make your stay even better.

We hope to see you in the near future and thank you again for letting us know about the noise issue in suite 101. We do take our guests comments very seriously and you will find we will have taken additional noise reduction precautions next time you visit.

Sincerely,

Scott Crook
Humuya Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We have been traveling to Honduras for 10 years and the Humuya Inn provided the best service we have experienced so far. We were surprised on how nice the accommodations were. We had a pretty good size group and they took care of all of our needs with top notch service The courtyard is very nice. We had group meetings on the roof top patio which was beautiful and the weather was perfect. We had an apartment room which was nicely equipped and spacious.

Room Tip: The apartments are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gidget G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humuya_Inn, Owner at Hotel Humuya Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Ms. Gidget G,

It was very satisfying to hear that after ten years of traveling to Honduras and staying at different hotels, you found our service the best so far. With over 17 years of servicing over 600 teams of all sizes we have learned how to make their visit as pleasant as possible.

We are also glad to hear your team was able to enjoy the view and peaceful setting of our terrace.. Just like you, many of our guests prefer to stay in the apartments because of the additional space and other amenities.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Thank you,

Scott Crook
Humuya Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

If you're planning on staying in Tegucigalpa, stay here! Clean, comfortable rooms and super friendly staff. Lots of parking right at the hotel. Close to many attractions, i.e. restaurants, etc. This place will give you a good all around feel for Honduras. I'd go back for sure!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humuya_Inn, Owner at Hotel Humuya Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Mr Ryan A,
We appreciate your kind words regarding the Inn. It is great to hear that even though Tegucigalpa is sometimes a hard city to get around in, you were able to find all you needed without difficulties.

We strive to incorporate Honduran art, photos and decor into all our decorations, to as you said, "Give you a good all around feel for Honduras." We are very proud of our Catracho heritage and are very happy to hear you would return as a guest in a future visit.

Thank you,

Scott Crook
Humuya Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Can't say enough good things about this gem of a hotel in Teguc. It is beautiful, clean and well appointed. The staff is the friendliest I have ever encountered in the country and called me by name the entire stay. The rooms are lovely with a fantastically comfortable bed. Having breakfast each morning in the courtyard was a pure joy and a relaxing way to start the day. I cannot say enough good things about it. I have already booked our return stay in March!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SoonerWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humuya_Inn, Owner at Hotel Humuya Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear SoonerWiz,

Your opinion and comments as a Top Contributor with over 65 reviews and 109 Helpful votes, is greatly appreciated. Since day one, our goal has been to be a top boutique hotel with many of the amenities of larger hotels but with personalized service for our guests. Our staff is trained to think ahead and put themselves in our guest’s shoes. It is very satisfying to hear that they met your expectations and more importantly that you will become a regular guest of the Humuya Inn.

If there is anything we can do to make your future stay more pleasant, please do not hesitate to contact us. Thanks again for your wonderful words about our establishment and our staff.

Scott Crook
Humuya Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tegucigalpa hotels
0.8 mi away
Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel
Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel
#2 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Tegucigalpa
Hyatt Place Tegucigalpa
#1 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tegucigalpa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Real InterContinental Tegucigalpa at Multiplaza Mall
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel Real Tegucigalpa
1.8 mi away
Aparthotel Guijarros
Aparthotel Guijarros
#7 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Humuya Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Humuya Inn

Property: Hotel Humuya Inn
Address: Colonia Humuya # 1150 | Col. Humuya, Calle Barbecho, Casa No 1150, Tegucigalpa, Honduras, Tegucigalpa 11101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Francisco Morazan Department > Tegucigalpa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tegucigalpa
#1 Green Hotel in Tegucigalpa
#3 Family Hotel in Tegucigalpa
#4 Spa Hotel in Tegucigalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Humuya Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At last - a rare hotel in the Honduran capital that gives reviewers a chance to gush. It's a triumph for good taste, both in the well-appointed guest rooms and long-stay apartments, all set in a quiet residential neighborhood.Once a spacious Tegucigalpa home, this keeps the trappings of a comfortable family residence with the trimmings needed for modern business travel. It's a beacon of class and courteous service in Tegucigalpa. Rooms in the colonial-style house have been lovingly furnished in Honduran mahogany and decorated with striking Lencan pottery and photos of the country's charms. From the Italian ceramic floor tiles up to the vaulted ceiling, it creates an ambience where you're happy to dally - unsurprisingly, there are many long-term stays. The focal point is a lush patio where lychee and mango trees shade diners taking the complementary breakfast buffet. Climb to a fourth-floor terrace for a 360-degree panorama over Tegucigalpa's sloping sprawl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Humuya Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humuya Hotel Tegucigalpa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing