We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Humuya Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Humuya Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Tegucigalpa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 1 night. Compared to the other places we have stayed on our trip backpacking through Central America, this place was luxurious. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the shower has hot water. We had a nice balcony that was lovely to sit on, but there is also a terrace with a great view.

The hotel is very quiet, in a quiet neighborhood. It feels very safe there. However, it is difficult to find, as our cabbie drove us around for 45 minutes looking for the place.

There were a few things that we were disappointed with, especially considering the caliber of this place. We asked the staff if there were any restaurants nearby, and were told that there was a mall with a food court, but given no other suggestions. Not being drawn to a mall food court, we decided to eat dinner at the hotel, as it had been recommended on TA by previous guests. We both had pasta and it was not good at all. It is not expensive, but I am sure you can find tastier food for the same price or better elsewhere. We also saw a rat in the courtyard while eating, the only weve seen on the trip. The breakfast (included) is basic, but much better than dinner, and the fresh squeezed juice is great.

The staff is generally friendly and the place feels very safe. I'd recommend staying here, but definitely eat dinner elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParkerBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humuya_Inn, Owner at Humuya Inn Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear ParkerBlue,

I am glad that you took time to write a review about our Inn. Thank you for your kind comments about much of your stay.

I am truly disappointed and horrified about your dinner experience and the rat you saw in the garden area. Immediately after we read your comment, we had a large franchise exterminating company do a thorough testing of our premises and found that the minor construction we did to build our new laundry facilities, opened up an old street pipe and allowed for this problem. Together with them we have taken every measure to make sure this problem is resolved and also to prevent any future situations.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we apologize once again for the inconvenience you had to go through.

Sincerely,

Scott Crook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    29
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
31
22
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed for two nights.

The hotel is centrally located, in a rather quiet (at night) part of town. Our room was spacious and clean, although quite warm. Fortunately the windows can be opened. (They do have A/C but I prefer fresh air). Good quality bathroom amenities.

We were received by a staff member who was not sure of which room we had booked, we had to tell him we had booked No. 4. When we arrived, the bathroom was wet, they told us there was a leak and we would be changed rooms next day. While we left for a few hours they either fixed the leak or the receptionist was covering up a bad cleaning of the bathroom. Next day, nobody knew about a room change for us.

Breakfast is basic: fruit, juice, cereal, milk, bread and coffee/tea. The first day there was no problem. The second morning, there was no fruit or fruit juice left when we got to the dining room, and almost no bread. When we requested to have some fruit we were told they were sorry, they just didn't have enough for that day.

I will rather choose somewhere else to stay next time in Tegucigalpa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGioP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humuya_Inn, Owner at Humuya Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear JGioP,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel.

I am very sorry to hear about your less than perfect stay at the Humuya Inn. I have met with our staff regarding the issues during your stay and we are taking specific actions to reduce the poor communication that resulted in confusion. Our front desk staff should have communicated better regarding the water leak and the specifics of which room you reserved.

As noted our complimentary breakfast includes fruit, juice, cereal, milk, bread and coffee/tea but we also have a full breakfast menu that you can order from which includes omelets, typical breakfasts, french toast and pancakes to name a few of the items. There is no excuse for not having enough food items for any of our guests and I apologize for that.

My hope is that you would give the Humuya Inn another opportunity in the future to impress you.

Sincerely,

Scott Crook
Humuya Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was exactly what the pictures show and what others have written a good review about. We had a family get together for a graduation ceremony at Zamorano University and some of us flew from South America and some of us from the US and we were able to get one room to accommodate all 5 of us. We even hit some flight cancellations and the hotel management helped us out re-arranging our reservation as needed, even when we had additional guests who also decided to stay with us. The management team is great, we dealt quite a bit with Michael and he is a true gentlemen and helping us with everything we needed. The hotel is not too far from the airport and in nice street/area. The hotel got us safe and secure taxi that we used multiple times and we were very happy. The hotel had places to park in the front as well as rear of the hotel, again very secure as we had rented a big van. My wife and I actually had dinner there the first night and in comparison to what we had outside of the hotel, it was pretty darn good and in a nice relaxing area. Hotel staff were extremely nice and it really felt like a family / cozy environment, not forgetting the amazing roof top and the breath taking view from this hotel. The owners also put a lot of effort in decoration and you use a lot of pottery from the Lenca who are indigenous people of southwestern Honduras, very COOL! This hotel is perfect for long stays and I think I proved that it is awesome for short and quick stays as well.... I can't really make comparison to the Marriott or other chains in Tegucigalpa but I can tell you that, the rooms were big, roomie and extremely comfortable like you are in your own house... TV, wifi, everything was there that you need.

Room Tip: Just call up the hotel and they will help you out chose the right room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BehnamZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humuya_Inn, Owner at Humuya Inn Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so glad that you and your family chose the Humuya Inn for such a special occasion as a graduation. The Master Suites are ideal for these type of get togethers because they are so spacious.

I am so pleased to hear that your experience and interaction with our staff was so positive. Our goal is to always "exceed guest expectations" going the extra mile to make your stay memorable and enjoyable.

For your next stay you will have to enjoy more meals at our restaurant.

Again thank you for telling others about your positive experience at the Humuya Inn.

Sincerely,

Scott Crook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

As I write this, I am sitting on a beautiful leather couch in Room 101 at the Humuya Inn. My wife and I LOVE this place! Not only is the hotel beautifully decorated and well managed, the staff is so friendly and helpful--they make you feel at home ALL the time! In my opinion, you cannot help but enjoy your stay here. They serve delicious meals in an area of the hotel that allows you to enjoy a beautiful courtyard/inner garden of trees and plants between the buildings. My wife and I saw a hummingbird moving from flower to flower about 10 feet from our table during breakfast. When we return to Tegucigalpa, we will definitely plan to stay here! This place is simply DELIGHTFUL!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank singerdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humuya_Inn, Owner at Humuya Inn Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Singerdude,

Thank you for your review and positive comments about the Humuya Inn.

We recently added the leather couch to room 101 (Suite) and have had several positive guest comments about how comfortable it is while watching tv on the 42 inch LCD.

The hummingbirds are a daily occurrence close to where guest's enjoy their breakfast. They seem to be attracted to the yellow "shrimp plant" in the garden. Pretty cool.

Again thank you for taking the time to recognize the Humuya Inn and letting others know about your experience.

Sincerely,

Scott Crook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Amazing service, when I got to the hotel they had everything ready for me, no hassles. When I went to my room I was surprised at how ample it was, the wood furniture makes you feel like you are in your own home, and the bed was very comfortable. I love the location, is closed to everything that is important in Tegucigalpa, but away from the traffic and chaos. They have this amazing lounge downstairs where you can relax and read a book, or hold a business meeting with colleagues as well. Food? they have a full service restaurant inside, the quality and taste of the food is great and prices are very reasonable, I particularly loved the coffee! For travelers planning for long stays i recommend the apartments, is a win win since you get the hotel level of service plus the advantages of having your apartment fully furnished! Can’t ask for more!

Room Tip: For travelers planning for long stays i recommend the apartments, is a win win since you get the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Otto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humuya_Inn, Owner at Humuya Inn Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found time to enjoy our downstairs lounge.

We recently added another small conference room/business center to meet our growing demands of our business guests.

Hopefully on your next visit you can enjoy it as well.


Sincerely yours,


Scott Crook
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Humuya Inn is the kind of hotel that makes you feel so pampered! The place is clean, neat, excellent decorations, cozy, updated and the areas are well distributed! The service is great and the team makes you feel welcome and help you in many ways! The cleaning crew go out of the way to help you. Great complimentary breakfast: fresh fruit and juices! Just loved it!!!

Room Tip: There are apartments available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yanypena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humuya_Inn, Owner at Humuya Inn Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Making our guests feel pampered is one of our main objectives. We know how stressful traveling can be especially if you are not familiar with Honduras.

We enjoyed seeing the great photos you posted, your kind words hope you stay with us on your next visit.

Sincerely yours,

Scott Crook
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Olive, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This place is amazing! Rooms were clean, spacious, updated, comfortable,...you name it! Staff is extremely helpful and bilingual at the front desk. On site kitchen that is open from 9-9 and food is excellent. Complimentary breakfast is good and filling. You won't find a better place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humuya_Inn, Owner at Humuya Inn Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

I love it when we get such powerful words such as "extremely impressed" from our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to review us and let others know about the Humuya Inn.

We feel that our staff are what make the difference in a guest's stay and thank you for noticing their efforts.

Sincerely,

Scott Crook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tegucigalpa hotels
0.8 mi away
Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel
Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel
#2 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Tegucigalpa
Hyatt Place Tegucigalpa
#1 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tegucigalpa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Real InterContinental Tegucigalpa at Multiplaza Mall
1.2 mi away
Real Colonial Hotel
Real Colonial Hotel
#11 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aparthotel Guijarros
Aparthotel Guijarros
#7 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humuya Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humuya Inn Hotel

Property: Humuya Inn Hotel
Address: Colonia Humuya # 1150 | Col. Humuya, Calle Barbecho, Casa No 1150, Tegucigalpa, Honduras, Tegucigalpa FM1100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Francisco Morazan Department > Tegucigalpa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tegucigalpa
#1 Green Hotel in Tegucigalpa
#3 Family Hotel in Tegucigalpa
#4 Spa Hotel in Tegucigalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Humuya Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At last - a rare hotel in the Honduran capital that gives reviewers a chance to gush. It's a triumph for good taste, both in the well-appointed guest rooms and long-stay apartments, all set in a quiet residential neighborhood.Once a spacious Tegucigalpa home, this keeps the trappings of a comfortable family residence with the trimmings needed for modern business travel. It's a beacon of class and courteous service in Tegucigalpa. Rooms in the colonial-style house have been lovingly furnished in Honduran mahogany and decorated with striking Lencan pottery and photos of the country's charms. From the Italian ceramic floor tiles up to the vaulted ceiling, it creates an ambience where you're happy to dally - unsurprisingly, there are many long-term stays. The focal point is a lush patio where lychee and mango trees shade diners taking the complementary breakfast buffet. Climb to a fourth-floor terrace for a 360-degree panorama over Tegucigalpa's sloping sprawl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Humuya Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humuya Hotel Tegucigalpa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing