We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Portal del Angel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Tegucigalpa
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“awful experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

This lodge (should not be called hotel, nor boutique) would barely be acceptable at $35 per night. Nothing quite works (phone in the room, shower, AC) and the front desk service is plain rude and useless. It must be said that the cleaning staff and some of the waiting staff at the dining room (NOT restaurant) were helpful and nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarielaLopezVargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AleArias13, General Manager at Hotel Portal del Angel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Sra. Lopez,

Cordiales saludos de Hotel Portal del Angel!

Agradecemos la oportunidad que nos da de conocer su experiencia en nuestro hotel referente a su estadia. Primero que todo deseo manifestarle mis mas sinceras disculpas por los inconvenientes experimentados y sepa que estaremos dandole seguimiento a los puntos mencionados para buscar la mejora continua en nuestros servicios. Le estare escribiendo un mensaje para consultarle unos detalles y asi proceder a revisar nuestros procesos y buscar que estos detalles no se repitan.

Una vez mas le reitero nuestras disculpas y agradecemos la oportunidad de poder crecer y mejorar dandole seguimiento a sus comentarios.

Atentamente

AA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    22
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
22
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slane, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during our December holidays, with our three-year-old son. The grounds of the hotel are not large, and the pool was cold, as it was December and the sun wasn't really coming in, but we were not there for the pool, really. I expect it will be nice and temperate in the warm months.

Having said that, this is a lovely boutique hotel; tastefully decorated and with lots of nooks and crannies for someone to go curl up with a book, or a laptop - if they need to work.. And it's in the heart of the Tegucigalpa, a quiet place in the hustle and bustle.
Our room was spacious and the decoration made us feel like we were home, being away from home.

The food that we ate - a couple of soups and sandwiches - was lovely, and the breakfast spread (included for us) was very good; lovely fresh fruit, juices, pastries..

Even though it is not really a hotel for small children to be entertained at, they were very gracious about our son, and he had a great time exploring and going up and down the steps with us..

The service was very good, in general; we only had one lad who was a bit economical with his words, but the rest of the staff were very friendly, so no complaints there (and it wasn't that he was rude, or anything).

Yes, it was a bit expensive, but it was a nice break for us.. Would definitely recommend, and we would return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RanaFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AleArias13, General Manager at Hotel Portal del Angel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Ms. RanaFinn,

Thank your very much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our accommodations, food and atmosphere.

We appreciate your insight and suggestions, I will certainly follow up on them.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,

AA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Super value for the price. Kind, accommodating staff, great local breakfast, lovely ambiance. Beautiful, small, refreshing pool. Not a lot of extras, but there are less extras in the price. We will return.

Room Tip: avoid the two room closest to reception. Otherwise all should be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AleArias13, General Manager at Hotel Portal del Angel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Mr. Jim R.

Thank you very much for sharing your feedbak. We are happy to hear you found our staff service oriented and that you enjoyed our free breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

AA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I had to get n the pool to get the soap off after the water stop while I was showering this was a nice cozy place but hey no water noway the guy said on the phone we have hot water but the didn't have any water

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrDink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

It was a great way to experience Tegus as Portal del Angel is in a safe part of the city. The property is great for the price (paid $75 per night). Breakfast was included, which was nice. It was not the greatest but was quite generous. Daniella from the front desk was very friendly and went that extra mile to make our stay wonderful. Miguel, the taxi driver, who picked us up at night from the bus stop is wonderful. You may want to take a city tour with him, which we did not do.

Room Tip: We were in room no. 10 which was huge and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
235 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel provides a warm respite in the otherwise dark and uncomfortable city of Tegucigalpa, for excursions. The staff is very helpful and the premises are elegantly beautiful. The furniture in the rooms is of average quality, rooms are moderately clean, wi-fi is erratic but works and the disco behind the hotel hurts the tranquility inside the hotel, which is why the hotel would be average anywhere else, but for Tegucigalpa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feyzi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AleArias13, General Manager at Hotel Portal del Angel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
It was a pleasure having you as our guest during your trip to Tegucigalpa. We appreciate you letting us know where we have the opportunities to improve our service, we will certainly use your feedback.
We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

AA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night with friends. From the moment of your arrival you are given to experience a very personal and attentive service. I can't recall a more informal hotel during my recent stays. The decor is very stylish and very Mediterranean in style. The rooms are large with all amenities. The restaurant is reasonably priced. Tried some fish with vegetables dish and it was spectacular. The hotel is well protected and gated. The greenery around the hotel and the pool is very eye pleasing. I cold see that anyone could just fall in love with this Hotel and will keep coming back.

If you are after a quiet, relaxing time and expect personal service and good quality room at reasonable prices - this is the hotel to stay. Approx 15 minutes from the airport.

Two minutes away there are convenience stores and a couple of restaurants. Prices vary and you get a really good deal if you book directly with the hotel ( this was my experience).

Thank you guys for my excellent stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank German L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AleArias13, General Manager at Hotel Portal del Angel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and experience. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the food, the atmosphere and the service during your stay at Hotel Portal del Angel. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest Regards

AA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tegucigalpa hotels
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Guijarros
Aparthotel Guijarros
#7 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Real Colonial Hotel
Real Colonial Hotel
#12 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel MacArthur
Hotel MacArthur
#18 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Humuya Inn
Hotel Humuya Inn
#5 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza San Martin
Hotel Plaza San Martin
#19 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Real Tegucigalpa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portal del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portal del Angel

Property: Hotel Portal del Angel
Address: Col. Palmira Ave. Republica del Peru No. 2115, Tegucigalpa FM1100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Francisco Morazan Department > Tegucigalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tegucigalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Portal del Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Portal del Angel, we seek to give our guests an unmatched experience of the Honduran culture combined with exquisite quality and comfort. Everything, from our decoration to our food is thought to submerge you in this wonderful culture.All our suites have been design for traveling executives that visit us. Every of our 23 spacious suites are richly decorated with fine wooden floors, persian rugs and hand-made furniture, most featuring balconies and breathtaking views of the city and indoor patio. We guarantee you a comfortable and unforgettable stay full of details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Portal del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portal Del Angel Tegucigalpa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing