We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice oasis in the middle of Tegucigalpa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Portal del Angel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Tegucigalpa
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice oasis in the middle of Tegucigalpa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

In stead of staying at the ordinary 5 stars hotel this is an excellent alternative. It is nice and charming and the service excellent. Some of the rooms are not sound proof. Comparable to Humuya Inn which is a little similar and also have very good service, Portal del Angel is by far better choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janole_haagensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    22
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
22
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

First time in Tegucigalpa. The place looks deceptive on arrival as it does not have any exterior sign. Staff is warm and attentive. Rooms are massive sign a ample space to work, good wifi, and a comfortale bed. Genereous breakfast is included. The hotel occupies what looks like a late XIX century mansion. There is a small pool, though it was under mantainance during my stay. It has a pleasant garden and front patio, both great for breakfast or dinner.
On the negative side, the website advertises a gym but actually is another business located elsewhere. My colleagues previously stayed at the Intercontinental but they found it overpriced, noisy and their Internet connection was unreliable. I didn't have dinner at the hotel but the menu looks ok.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andariego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

This hotel is an amazing place to stay, it has great customer service , the food is amazing and the rooms are very neat and well organized , i totally recomend this hotel if you are looking for a great experience in Tegucigalpa.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabz873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel a few times and absolutely love everything about it. The hotel is beautiful although it isn't very impressive from the outside. Once you enter the hotel you seem to be completely removed from the city and transported into a luxurious Honduran retreat. The grounds are gorgeous and very well kept, the rooms are beautiful, spacious and elegant yet authentic. The staff are all very friendly, they all speak english very well yet are willing to speak spanish even if you struggle at times. Sara at the front desk is wonderful and always has a smile on her face.

This is my second review of Hotel Portal Del Angel so I am not going to repeat everything from my first review. That said, this hotel has very few flaws (if any) and in the future will be my first choice when in Tegucigalpa. The service is top notch, everything works and looks perfect, the location is great, plenty of secure parking, excellent restaurant and the rates are very fair for this level of hotel in Tegucigalpa. This hotel truly is a hidden gem with wonderful service.

I also would like to note that this hotel also has fast and excellent communication via email. Claudia was willing to answer every question I had and the entire staff was willing to help me with a number of last minute details. No request of mine was to large or to small and everybody went out of their way to make everything perfect for us. The staff here take the time to know you and have a way of making you feel like you're their most important guest. Absolutely wonderful hotel and in my opinion there is no better choice in Tegucigalpa.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bphawk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

I traveled from the U.S. to Honduras for the purpose of doing some hospital consulting work. The accomodations arranged for me at the Hotel Portal del Angel exceeded my expectations. My stay was absolutely wonderful. The rooms were extremely comfortable, well-appointed, and attractive. The dining was excellent, and the ambience throughout the hotel was delightful. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. I am making plans for a return to Hotel Protal del Angel just as soon as possible.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sktoadvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

The fresh fruit breakfast was the best I have had. The fruit was amazing.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimHines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Wow, what a pleasant surprise to stay at such a beautiful hotel in Tegucigalpa. The Hotel Portal Del Angel turned out to be quite the oasis within the city of Tegucigalpa. The hotel doesn't look like much from the street but once you enter the front door it's like entering an entirely different world. The hotel is classy, clean, elegant yet still very much Honduran. Beautiful grounds and gardens with a small pool in the courtyard. I'm not sure how much swimming one can do in this pool but it looks beautiful and the Cybex gym is just a few blocks away if you want a bigger pool and/or a gym. Breakfast is included n your room rate, is served by the pool and includes a buffet or you can order off the menu if you would like. The hotel also features a full service restaurant which is quite nice. The fact that you see locals in the restaurant at times speaks volumes for the quality of the restaurant.

I was upgraded from my regular room to a Junior Suite and this room was fabulous. The room was huge with a sitting area, a work area, a huge bathroom and a large balcony that overlooked the pool. The room was very clean and very well kept at all times. The free wi-fi worked perfectly and the flat screen TV seemed to have every channel available both in english and spanish.

The location of the hotel was nice with plenty of decent restaurants and shopping within a short distance. The hotel has 24 hr security and they were always there when you arrived regardless of the hour. The hotel seemed to be in a fairly safe area even though I'm not sure I would suggest walking around solo in the area, especially at night. I believe the hotel has space to park a car but we always used taxis.

The service at Portal Del Angel was excellent. The staff at the front desk all spoke english fairly well but were more than willing to speak spanish with me even though my spanish isn't perfect and it may have been easier for them to speak english with me at times. They were always there and always willing help to help with anything I needed. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in tegucigalpa both for leisure or business. Really a great hotel and very reasonably priced in my opinion. The only real drawback that I can think of with the hotel was the spa service. The therapist was very professional and did a nice job but there really isn't a "spa" at the hotel. The therapist was from an outside service and performs the services in your room. She also was over a half hour late which was a bit frustrating.

Overall the Hotel Portal Del Angel is a great hotel and provides a beautiful and tranquil setting in a large and busy latin american city. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bphawk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tegucigalpa hotels
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Guijarros
Aparthotel Guijarros
#7 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Real Colonial Hotel
Real Colonial Hotel
#12 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel MacArthur
Hotel MacArthur
#18 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Humuya Inn
Hotel Humuya Inn
#5 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza San Martin
Hotel Plaza San Martin
#19 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Real Tegucigalpa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portal del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portal del Angel

Property: Hotel Portal del Angel
Address: Col. Palmira Ave. Republica del Peru No. 2115, Tegucigalpa FM1100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Francisco Morazan Department > Tegucigalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tegucigalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Portal del Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Portal del Angel, we seek to give our guests an unmatched experience of the Honduran culture combined with exquisite quality and comfort. Everything, from our decoration to our food is thought to submerge you in this wonderful culture.All our suites have been design for traveling executives that visit us. Every of our 23 spacious suites are richly decorated with fine wooden floors, persian rugs and hand-made furniture, most featuring balconies and breathtaking views of the city and indoor patio. We guarantee you a comfortable and unforgettable stay full of details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Portal del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portal Del Angel Tegucigalpa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing