We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott, Tegucigalpa...not a business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Tegucigalpa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The Marriott in Tegucigalpa, Honduras is not up to the standards for International Business. As a long time Marriott member and occasional customer, I try to make a point of staying at Marriotts when possible.

However, in Tegucigalpa, I have found my stay less than optimal. The rooms are great however (with one minor exception if you happen to stay on the fourth floor above the Aerobics room). The rooms are clean, the beds are great, and in general they fully meet the expectations and reputation of Marriott hotels the world over. Don't stay on the fourth floor if you like to sleep past 5:00 AM or want a nap in the late afternoon/early evening. The Aerobics class in the Spa/Gym on the 3rd floor plays loud music that only the deaf could ignore. Also, the Staff's courtesy and level of attention is excellent and on par with other Marriott's worldwide.

The main problem with the hotel, and why I will not stay here in the future, is that the lobby and only bar/lounge seems to cater to the local dance crowd vs. those here on business looking for a comfortable place to conduct business, have access to WiFi (only in the lobby, not in the rooms). The Lobby area, adjacent the "Sports" Bar does double duty as a large lunch area during the day and starting at around 11:00~11:30 they also crank-up the "House" music (dance beat) and keep this up through the evening. It makes having a professional discussion with colleagues, conducting work on your laptop and phone distracting if not difficult. And, makes having a professional meeting with clients, even if just a casual discussion, almost impossible. If not at least embarrasing.

I inquired as to why they must play the music so loudly, and why the only bar in this International standard hotel, is a strange combo sports bar (meaning a number of large screens with sports and no audio) combined with loud heavy beat music. The answer given was that, this is what Honduranas like, loud music. Plus, if people can talk, they don't drink so much. But if they can't hear each other, they drink more. Okay, fair enough. Clearly I'm staying at the wrong hotel to do business here.

Next time, I'll go back to the Maya Honduran Hotel. At least there we can sit in the lobby and have discussions.

Dirck Lyon

Room Tip: Get the 5th floor or above. The fourth floor gets the noise from the Aerobics room which seem to st...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 630 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

We recently organized a workshop at this hotel for about 30 people for a full week. The staff was very professional and all services delivered as promised - rooms, food, meeting rooms, etc. The room rates were pretty good, we probably ordered too much food between lunches and breaks, the portions are very generous and the breakfast is really great. What I appreciated most was their flexibility and courteousness of all staff.

Room Tip: If you're on the side of the hotel where you can see HSBC, it can get a little noisy at night es...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARA20011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel four times over the past few months. The service has been great. Each time I've stayed on the executive level. The lounge is great, as is the sports bar down stairs.

One thing to note is the lounge is close weekends and the sports bar in the lobby gets pretty loud Friday and Saturdays.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stayed here because the Intercontinental was full. This is just a couple blocks away from that hotel and the Multiplaza Mall. It is a short walk past the Presidential residence to the mall. This is relatively safe during the day but you might want to take a taxi if at night or carrying packages. The rooms are quite nice with all you would expect from this level of hotel. I was disappointed that they did not provide some complimentary water but instead had a couple 1litre bottles available for purchase for $3.50. The gym was excellent with a lot of equipment that all seemed to be in working order. There must have been 8 treadmills. The pool was very small and I never saw anyone in it. There are only two restaurants in the building. One is a sports bar and the other is a regular hotel restaurant where the breakfast is served. Neither are exceptional. Honduras seems to have a thing for unhealthy American restaurant chains. Close to the hotel there is a dunkin donut, McDonalds, Friday's, Chili's, and more that I can't recall. I never had much of a desire to visit any of these places but if you are American and want some comfort food then you are set.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dumb_screen_name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I paid $198 incl internet and Excecutive Lounge access. Rooms are roomy but decor and furniture is a little dated. Restaurant is decent but prices are high. Staff is helpful and very nice

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here last Friday for business. Rooms were clean, had irons, and bed was comfy.concierge lounge was perfect for drinks and social time. Sports bar was active but did not participate. I would recommend,

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWEEP44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Tegucigalpa Marriot is a very nice hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, with an awesome bed and extra furniture. The bathroom is new with granite countertops. Its main competitor, down the street, has a slightly better restaurant and bar, and is closer to the mall, but the Marriot has a better breakfast buffet and a much better coffee shop, open early, and is a better value overall. I have always received excellent service. Previous reviews state that check-out can be long, but I've found this to be the case everywhere in Honduras.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tegucigalpa hotels
0.4 mi away
Real InterContinental Tegucigalpa at Multiplaza Mall
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Real Tegucigalpa
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Tegucigalpa
Hyatt Place Tegucigalpa
#2 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tegucigalpa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Honduras Maya
Hotel Honduras Maya
#11 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Minister Business Hotel
Minister Business Hotel
#9 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel

Address: Boulevard Juan Pablo Segundo, Tegucigalpa FM1100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Francisco Morazan Department > Tegucigalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tegucigalpa
#1 Spa Hotel in Tegucigalpa
#2 Business Hotel in Tegucigalpa
Price Range: $99 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the joys an the ideal home away from home during your stay at the Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel. As one of Central America's largest and most beautiful cities, our accommodations in heart of Tegucigalpa offer complimentary scheduled transportation to and from the state-of-the-art Multiplaza Mall, home to more than 200 stores and restaurants just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tegucigalpa Hotel Tegucigalpa
Tegucigalpa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing