We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So awesome ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Honduras Maya
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Tegucigalpa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

It is a great place , modern but at the same time cultural ..big ,modern , cool, nice ,fancy , good and cultural , typical, shows story ...very good ..I visited there and when I did I stayed there ..good service

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Vale1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 176 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times on business and have reviewed it before. See my earlier review for a lot of details which I won't retype. The hotel has made the following significant (IMO) improvements:
1> The WiFi works better in the rooms than it did before.
2> There are fewer problems with the key cards.
3> They put a water cooler in the gym- woohoo!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExPatinNica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Honduran Maya for business. My room was on the floor with the Concierge Room (second to the top) and was quite nice. There was an issue with my credit card when I got there (apparently a block triggered simply by the fact that I was in Honduras) and the hotel let me check in anyway, which would be unheard of in the USA. WiFi is quite spotty throughout the hotel. Also (offsetting the fact that the hotel was so gracious in letting me check in), when I went to check out I noticed a bunch of food charges that weren't mine on the bill. It took a minor act of God to get these removed from my bill: seemed like five different staff members had to check and double-check the signature, consult with others staff members, etc. It took about 25 minutes to get it resolved.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel apparently has three classes of rooms. The best option is apparantly the 'executive' option with breakfast, etc. The middle option has no breakfast but apparantly has a better room configuration??? The option available for the price quoted on Trip Advisor looked as if it has not been upgraded since the 1960's. Upon opening the door to the room, I was immediately confronted with a bare lightbulb with a string hanging from it that served as its "on" and "off" option. The walls and ceiling were brick. The carpet and tiles should have been replaced years ago and as another reviewer suggested, were "horrific". The room and hallway smelled strongly of musk.

The hotel is in a relatively safe neighbourhood (although I was propositioned by a prostitute) and there are three other hotel options within walking dtstance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandering_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have stayed in three of the hotels in the area where this hotel is located in Tegucigalpa. Of them, Honduras Maya is my preference. Even though the hotel is old and would benefit from updating the rooms (particularly the hideous carpet and worn furniture), it is still OK. The rooms are well lit and the beds and pillows comfortable, the AC works, and the bathroom has enough hot water. Check-in may be slow, but other than that, service is in general friendly. The breakfast has a good varied food and room service is adequate. The location is convenient for me, as it is close to where I go for work, but is also easy to get a taxi to go to a Shopping Mall, some of the few places I have been told are safe to walk around in the city. I will be able to give this hotel more stars once they remodel it.

Room Tip: Some rooms have terrible views, but they can change you upon request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thiscarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times at the beginning and/or end of missions trips to Honduras. The property is maintained and as safe as any other we have been to in Honduras. The rooms are clean, the staff is knowledgable and willing to help us anglos. We like th bar. The restaurant is great for breakfast. Dinner has been hit or miss in terms of service. The last time I had great sea bass. The question is how long will you wait? I am not a casino fan, but have been to the one attached to the hotel and find it acceptable as casinos go.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is a lot cheaper than some of the other higher end hotels in town. Great location next to good bars and restaurants and in a safe neighborhood. We stayed in the older part of the hotel as it was cheaper. The fixtures and fittings weren't state of the art and it could do with updating a little bit but the rooms were comfortable and clean and had great views. The lobby was grand and attractive.The service was fabulous from start to finish, the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The highlight of or trip was the following morning-eating at the breakfast buffet was a real treat (wide selection of delicious typical and international food and drink). We spent the morning by the large immaculate pool drinking Bloody Marys. Not perfect but so much more character than other larger and more expensive chain hotels in the area. I would stay here again on my next trip to Tegus.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fayemorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tegucigalpa hotels
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Real Tegucigalpa
1.1 mi away
Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel
Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel
#2 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza San Martin
Hotel Plaza San Martin
#17 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tegucigalpa
1.3 mi away
Real InterContinental Tegucigalpa at Multiplaza Mall
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Tegucigalpa
Hyatt Place Tegucigalpa
#1 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Honduras Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Honduras Maya

Address: Avenida Republica de Chile, 3 Calle | Col. Palmira, Tegucigalpa FM1100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Francisco Morazan Department > Tegucigalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tegucigalpa
Price Range: $113 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Honduras Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icon Hotel in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, for those seeking tranquility and relaxation in a privileged environment. Tegucigalpa , capital of Honduras perfect for families , couples , business, weekend getaways . Our location is unbeatable and we distinguish ourselves by the quality of our facilities and the attention of a staff that is constantly striving to make unforgettable your stay in the capital of Honduras , the Honduras Maya find large green areas and quiet places for those who prefer the calm in the city, our proven experience , we have been recognized by important awards in national and international tourism industry top prize at Copan Tourism Award 2013 Excellence Award Central Tourism without Borders . Our facilities include a semi- Olympic pool, children's pool, jacuzzi, sauna, gym, casino , ample parking and a commercial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Honduras Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honduras Maya Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing