We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spooked by the wind?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Hotel Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tegucigalpa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Econo Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 29 Tegucigalpa B&B and Inns
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Spooked by the wind?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Staff here was friendly and as helpful as they could be.They did not know about arranging bus travel out of Tegucigalpa, but made phone calls. They did provide contact with a taxi driver / guide / fixer who accompanied me all over town and kept me from making too many dangerous mistakes. The hotel itself is invisible from the street, i.e. concealed, and it's hard to avoid feeling anxious after frequent warnings to walk quickly, stay under lights, etc. My rooms felt miles away from the entry and desk, and the wind made for many spooky noises! The first wasn`t terribly clean (e.g. hair on the shower floor), but the second was very pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
8
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This Bed & Breakfast was absolutely great! Olympia, the owner, was a wonderful woman to chat with and was very helpful throughout our stay. My boyfriend and I were there for four nights in the end of December 2012, and would love to go back. The accommodations were great: a nice bed, hot water in the showers, and very clean facilites. The breakfasts were delicious and prepared fresh for us every morning. It was a very secure location and gate at the entrance so that I never felt afraid to sleep with the windows open and feel the nice evening breeze. There was AC, but we never needed to use it.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in Tegus.

Room Tip: Request a suite room on the second floor and you'll have a few of the city and hills, as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyrr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila, Islas de la Bahia, Honduras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. We had our newborn daughter with us and had no problems here at all. The staff and owner (Olympia) were very nice and completely accommodating. I would (and will) stay here again whenever I am in Tegucigalpa. Not to mention it was one of the cheaper options! Which is totally a plus. It was great not having to find a place for breakfast, because it was included with our stay. Also a plus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DustinI154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were traveling to Tegucigalpa for the first time to have pages added to our US passports at the embassy, and we were a little apprehensive. My friend used to live there and still had family locally, so she recommended 2 places. As it turns out, the one had closed and the other was the Econo B&B. We were encouraged by the good reviews we found here on TripAdvisor, and we had such a lovely experience, we felt compelled to add ours.
The B&B is so close you can see the back of the embassy grounds, but it is not obvious as a hotel, so it is very important to reserve your room (so they know to expect you) and to take the telephone number with you (so they can help guide the taxi driver). The gate is opened by staff in response to a buzzer, and at the time we stayed there, it was dark green and directly across from Chamys Cafe (which was also lovely for coffee and a little bite to eat).
The owner of Econo B&B, Olympia, was one of the sweetest hostesses we have ever known, and very helpful. Breakfast is included, and was a nice typical Honduran meal. Normally they serve from 7:30 to 11, but we were quite pleasantly surprised on our last morning when they opened the kitchen early because they knew that our flight back left at 7am. We just figured we would pick something up at the airport, but they knocked softly on our door at about 5am to let us know the coffee was ready and to ask if we would like toast or danish and fruit. What wonderful unexpected service!
The grounds of the Econo B&B are absolutely beautiful with an incredible variety of trees and plants, and it is visited by several local birds. A terrific break in a downtown area.
We stayed in just one room, but I noticed that the place could easily be configured to accommodate larger groups together in a wing with its own kitchenette, dining and sitting areas.
My only complaint was a rather mild one - we could connect to the wireless router (LAN) from within our room, but could not connect to the internet (WAN) from there. Once we figured this out, it was simply a matter of going into one of the common areas closer to the entrance whenever we wanted to be connected.
I would highly recommend Econo B&B for its security and service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavenTrishUtila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Olympia is a friendly hostess and the hotel is super convenient to the US embassy. Jessica is also very friendly and helpful and is a great addition to the property. I paid $50 per night and I wouldn't pay more. Be aware that if you pay with a credit or debt card you'll end up paying more. I was told that I would be charged $50 per night including taxes. Due to an unfavorable exchange rate that the hotel used I ended up paying about 10% more than was quoted to me. Not a huge deal but good to be aware of what the final cost will be when paying.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Voost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Tegucigalpa is really no fun at all right now. Honduras murder rate is the highest in the world and especially the cities are not save at all.
So we were very happy having found the Econo B&B. It is situated in a great area where we could move quite freely with shopping facilities and restaurants nearby. The entry is hidden away so you can 'sneak' in and out attracting too much attention. The B&B itself is spacious, very clean and owned by a lovely lady eager to help you in every way. She called a company for us we had a meeting with to explain us the way, offered us a car park inside her compartment and gave us good advice where to go for lunch and dinner. Because turism in Tegucigalpa is on kind of an all time low there are not many affordable hotels right now. Most people who go there HAVE to go there and pay no matter what for their hotel. If you start looking for a room you will find out yourself. For the Econo we payed only 55$ for a kingsize bedroom (suite). Very good value and for our needs we could not have a better place to stay. So 5 points for this one.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

An ideal alternative for a long stay. Conveniently located in a residential area, near commerce and entertainment. Owner Olympia is a wonderful hostess, always attentive to your every need and goes out of her way to make sure you have a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scmh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tegucigalpa hotels
0.2 mi away
Real Colonial Hotel
Real Colonial Hotel
#11 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel MacArthur
Hotel MacArthur
#17 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portal del Angel
Hotel Portal del Angel
#10 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza San Martin
Hotel Plaza San Martin
#18 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Tegucigalpa
Hyatt Place Tegucigalpa
#1 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Real Tegucigalpa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Hotel Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Hotel Bed & Breakfast

Property: Econo Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Address: Colonia Palmira # 555, Tegucigalpa FM1100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Francisco Morazan Department > Tegucigalpa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Tegucigalpa
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing