We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel MacArthur
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Humuya Inn(Tegucigalpa)
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel(Tegucigalpa)
$98
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Honduras Maya(Tegucigalpa)
$125
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
11
15
6
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
15
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatormission tripstayed herefront desk staffcafeteriashowernoisehonduras
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 36 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

stayed here for the first time last week. rooms were very clean. service was excellent. breakfast was great. and the view from the roof was just breath taking. i would stay here again. there aren`t any places for supper nearby, but we found that the little tienda around the corner has a beautiful courtyard and pretty good chicken tacos.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryant864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent 4 nights there recently, and we could not have been MORE pleased! The staff was friendly and quite professional, and the facilities left nothing to be desired - nice, clean rooms, plenty of hot water, good A/C and TV, a lovely pool and kids' play area, a cafeteria for breakfast (wish it had been open on Sunday also!), wireless in rooms (choose a room close to the stairs for better service), and even Honduran folk dance tunes you could hear in your room from the school of music next door! They accept all the major credit cards, and are located within walking distance from the old city center and its artistic and cultural attractions and numerous fast-food and comida tipica restaurants.

The cost is about a third of what the big chain hotels charge, and for tourists who want to see the sights rather than shop, it is more convenient. There is a good Chinese restaurant 2 blocks away, and delivery of pizza or Chinese to your room, if you are tired from your day. This trip was for both business and pleasure, and the hotel was ideal for both - we will definitely be back!

Oh, and a word about safety - the street is well-lit, and there is a police station a half-block away, so the area is quite safe, even after dark.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bouchardjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a great place. It is super clean and very affordable. A group of us have stayed here every year at the beginning and end of our mission trip since 2002. No one has ever had a complaint. You can go up on the roof and see the city from above. There is a meeting room up there and also one out by the pool. They even have a little playground for small children. Everyone working there is very kind and professional. It's two blocks from the grocery store and about three blocks to shopping in the marketplace.

Room Tip: If you have a problem walking consider there are stairs only. There is no elevator.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have stayed here many times and MacArthur is a safe hotel to stay in. You will find secure parking at the rear of the hotel, a clean pool, good WIFI service and friendly staff. The meals are good value but you might like to check out other places nearby for main meals. The rooms are all pretty much the same and come with TV and on-suite bathroom. Hot water is sometimes something you have to run the taps for a while to get but the aircon in each room is helpful for a better night's sleep when its hot. Sometimes the hotel hosts teams from the USA who come down on "mission trips" and then you will find it can get rather noisy. A great central location and staff will help with your every need.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms at the top and say you want to be quiet and they will chose the best room depending on the number of guests booked in.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fidel B, Manager at Hotel MacArthur, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your comment. It is our wish that you clients feel confortable, well attended and safe. We take seriously our clients opinions in order to improve our services. We hope to have you again in your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at the MacArthur at least six times over the last three years and it just keeps getting better. I usually am with a group of people from the US who are glad NOT to stay at a US chain hotel. When you are at the MacArthur, the experience is Honduran. It is clean, comfortable, friendly, has great food and service, a very refreshing swimming pool, meeting rooms, free internet, and access to places to walk around, photograph and sight see, restaurants, churches, shopping (all during daylight hours). Security is good. Because its in the heart of the city, you can hear nearby the churches, convent sisters singing), music school, all ambient. Air Conditioning helps tone down unwanted noise. We will send about 6-7 groups a year there. The price is right and its good to help the local economy.

Room Tip: top floor rooms at back are "suites" at great value.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaxtravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews