We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite retreat”
Review of Caserio Valuz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caserio Valuz
Ranked #4 of 35 Tegucigalpa B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Jorge, the owner and manager of Caseri Valuz, was such an incedible spirit to meet and spend time with. His home and hotel has a truly magical energy about it, from the lovingly accrued decorations from around the world to the peaceful whispering of the pine trees outside. The setting is truly serene and all stress just melts away once you step through the gates...there are colorful hammocks on the porch, a beautiful little garden, hummingbirds aplenty, swings in the trees and all sorts of nooks and crannies to enjoy. Fragrant fresh flowers fill every room of this boutique hotel, and there are even souvenirs from the region available for sale in the dining room. Jorge was the consumate host, talking with us for hours and giving an incedible tour of his hotel and all the art, artifacts, and special treasures he has collected over decades of worldwide travel. My husband and I slept like babies and everything was clean and perfectly appointed, since Jorge personally inspects each room prior to guests arriving. Only two staff help run the hotel and Jorge himself cooks for his guests- there is truly so much love and energy poured into this place! We can´t wait to return to Caserio Valuz to create new memories!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Froggren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 28 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

What an amazing retreat center, art museum, restaurant! Jorge, the owner, is a deeply spiritual man with an incredible eye for art and detail. Every room is excellent in design and comfort, with lovely bathrooms. Incredible food. 15 rooms for whatever your combination of travelers - families, couples, singles, backpackers. This is the place to stay, just 45 minutes north of Tegucigulpa in Zambrano. It is very safe, a small community. You can ride horses, attend the local church, perhaps there will be a local festival. We used this as a base for travel in the area. Please do visit Jorge. This is a great place for a group retreat, a group traveling together, a company wanting to go on an office retreat. Excellent

Room Tip: Just wander around and see what fits your taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hummingbird5707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Staying at Caserio Valuz was undoubtedly one of the best choices I made during my time in Honduras. The atmosphere at this boutique hotel made my experience there both unique and relaxing. The hotel is brimming with interesting antiques and artifacts from all over the world and many have an interesting story behind them. The owner (Jorge) treated me as if I was his personal guest and the food was beyond expectation. He even invited me into the kitchen and showed me how to make his famous Cannelone. The location is outside of Tegucigalpa which makes it a very quiet, safe base from which to do day-trips. I highly recommend it for both couples and groups.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I came here just to take some time off while travelling through.
The house proved to be a real hidden gem: Situated in the countryside, I was surprised to witness a location of such refined taste.
It's the fulfilled dream of its owner, who has planned and filled the house with artesanías and religious art from all his travels.

You quickly get the impression to be a welcome guest in a private home rather than in a hotel. Next to Spanish, Jorge (the owner) speaks a descent German and a good English and went out of his way to let me have a nice stay.
He cooked personally when I was there (and this seems to be the norm) and produced delicious dishes. Also, he gave me good information of the surrounding countryside and accompanied me on some walks, introducing me to locals.

The rooms are spacious with private baths and good, very individual amenities. Overall the place was very clean.
I liked the garden and the terraces which were great places to watch time go by.

A perfect place to get away or to get to know Honduran country life!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

I travelled by a bicycle through Honduras and got very fed up of the noise and stresses of the towns and cities I was visiting - this was the perfect place to be able to relax in. Jorge is a great host and you can tell he cares passionately about how people see this place, particularly when he tells you about how much effort was put into the design of each individual room. It's just a bit outside Tegucigalpa, has some great scenery around (and being at altitude is also nice for the lack of bugs) so I was really happy to have found this place and enjoyed such a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Worldwidebikeride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlaMaria_2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Aram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tegucigalpa hotels
0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Los Andes
#19 of 35 in Tegucigalpa
4 reviews
19.8 mi away
Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel
Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
650 reviews
19.1 mi away
Palmira Hostel
Palmira Hostel
#1 of 17 in Tegucigalpa
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel Real Tegucigalpa
20.1 mi away
Real InterContinental Tegucigalpa at Multiplaza Mall
0 mi away
Hotel MacArthur
Hotel MacArthur
#18 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caserio Valuz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caserio Valuz

Address: 5 Kms Camino a La Catarata Escondida 1 | Zambrano, Francisco Morazan, Tegucigalpa FM1100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Francisco Morazan Department > Tegucigalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Tegucigalpa
Price Range: $23 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caserio Valuz is a unique place to stay if you want to be in the countryside near Tegucigalpa far away from the noise from the city. The Hotel is located an hour away from the City. At an altitude of 1400 meters, the weather is template all year-round. The tranquil mountain atmosphere leaves guests feeling rejuvenated and at peace. Accommodation options include single, double, triple, and quadruple rooms, as well as a dormitory for travelers and a small house. All meals are prepared fresh from the owner's unique recipes, combining locally-grown products and exotic, imported ingredients. There are a number of lounge areas, inside and out, to allow guests to feel at home. There is also a bar that is great for socializing with other guests. check in: anytime between 7 and 22 check out: anytime between 7 and 22 h Transportation from Tegucigalpa necessary, by taxi or bus, last bus leaves the city at 5:00 p.m. Credit Cards not accepted. Cancellation policy 48 hours. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing