We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”
Review of Tamarindo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tamarindo Hostel
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I stayed at Tamarindo hostel during my visit to SPS. The location was a little off DT and far away from the bus terminal but in a nice and safe neighbourhood. It still had all the amenities nearby and with just a cab ride you could go to the malls and clubs you desire. There is a market nearby where you can buy all the souvenirs you would normally find all over the country in a fraction of the price. The host and the caretakers were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piperider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 51 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

We landed in San Pedro Sula not knowing how to get to the Hostel, we called Tamarindo and they were great in helping us find a reliable taxi. Lorette and staff we really friendly and they made sure we were comfortable all the time. The bedroom was clean, the bathroom was well taken care of, a living room area to watch movies and to eat. We went to a nearby market and bought food to make meal and we used their kitchen, it saved $$$. The staff always have fresh pots of coffee. After our trip around Honduras we came back the last night because we felt safe and Tamarindo helped us to get a taxi back to the airport, the nice thing is also the staff make sure you are not overcharged in the taxi rides. Really affordable place to stay!!! THey also have a nice little garden outside to read.

Room Tip: The one next to the bathroom is a good choice, closer the the outside garden too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acualena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I went to Tamarindo hostel with my girlfriend because it was reccommended in the Lonely planet and because it is supposed to be in the safe neighbourhood of San Pedro Sula.
The hostel itself is OK, nothing special and very very overpriced for what you get.
The bed side is that the staff doesn't know anything about the city and that you get ripped of with the late night taxi transfer.
It goes like that, Honduras is not very safe place to travel, so you look for a safe place to spend a night.
You go to Tamarindo beacuse it is kind of a safe place. But the hostel is way out of center and usually all the international buses (Tica bus) leave in the middle of the night. So you have to take a taxi organised by Tamarindo hostel as there is no other chance. And then they charge you a triple of what is the usual price. It got very close to blackmailing and Tamarindo was definitely the worst experince we have had on our travel from Guatemala to Colombia.
There is a new hostel in the center of the city. Maybe it is worth checking it out...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucas_climbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

The hostel is safe located, which makes it a 10 minutes walk to the centre.
The dorm is very clean as well is the bathroom. They had the best mattress I've ever slept on during my travel in Central America of 4 months.
There is wifi all over the place and a tv with your home programmes.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joachim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I stayed here earlier this month and had a good experiance here. The staff made it their #1 priority to make sure we liked our room, had something to eat and felt safe. The only reason I didn't give this place a 5 rating is bacause it was a bit expensive. But in San Pedro Sula, I don't mind paying for "peace" of mind. The room was crazy with satin sheets but they will change them if you don't like them. The food was good for the price but after we ate we realized you can order from any restaurant in town without having to leave. They have cable TV, movies, drinks, and anything else you think u might need. The taxi ride to the airport was a bit expensive but it was on-time. In fact, we had the same taxi driver in the morning. When we went out to the street we found him sleeping in the cab waiting for us to go to the airport.

Room Tip: Make sure you talk about the price with them a bunch, after some time, we were able to get the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikethorn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This is an overpriced hostel with a room with the nosiest fan ever. 
When I asked them to fix it she looked at the fan for a while and said she
did not know what's wrong with it and we should use the stand up fan in the room. We wanted to use both as it was really hot!
My other reasons for not rating this hostel are:
- ask about a taxi for the morning to the bus terminal - yes, but don't know
how much it will cost.
- ask about a bus to Copan Ruinas - yes, but don't know what time the bus
goes
- ask about a supermarket - yes, but don't know if it is open!
- ask about somewhere we could eat - nothing is open we can make you some food! 
Everything on offer is at crazy prices even by Western standards.
Most travellers stay here the night because they have to spend a night in San Pedro, not because they choose to. So these questions must be asked all the time.
They gave me a book to look up the bus times (which I'm sure they really knew these and asked me if I knew how to read a bus timetable!) 
The staff are rude, insolent, unhelpful, stalk you every time you go in the kitchen and keep switching off the kitchen lights. The water filter on the kitchen tap is broken and they will gladly sell you an expensive bottle of water.
How sad that this hostel and these people give such a bad impression of Honduras. 
Just to be clear, we have been travelling in South and Central America for 9
months, only experienced 4 or 5 bad hostels and this was not a good choice.  Just because they are in the guide books people stay here. They don't deserve to be listed. 
My recommendation - stay somewhere else! There are places closer to the bus station and you won't be so ripped off by the taxi they call for you in the morning. A word of advice. When you arrive at the bus station, don't believe the taxi driver who approaches you and says he has been sent by the hostel. Go to the taxi rank and sort yourself out with a better deal. I could go on and on but there is no point...it's terrible don't bother...

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geronimoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We booked a private room with bathroom. It was clean and the first two nights we had warm water. The last night the water was cold. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The taxi they book for you is more expensive than when you'll arrange it by yourself. But if you arrive after dark, it's nice to have someone already waiting for you at the airport. It's a nice option to stay in San Pedro Sula. It's in a safe area, but for private rooms it's the most expensive hostel we've been in Honduras!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro Sula hotels
0.0 mi away
Micro Hotel Rio de Piedras
Micro Hotel Rio de Piedras
#13 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Armenta Hostel
Casa Armenta Hostel
#4 of 23 in San Pedro Sula
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel La Madrugada
Hostel La Madrugada
#2 of 23 in San Pedro Sula
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Hamaca Hostel
La Hamaca Hostel
#1 of 23 in San Pedro Sula
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guesthouse Dos Molinos B&B
Guesthouse Dos Molinos B&B
#1 of 43 in San Pedro Sula
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
#2 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarindo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarindo Hostel

Address: 10 y 11 Avenida, 9 Calle A, N.O. # 1015 | 4km From The Bus Terminal 15km From The Airport, San Pedro Sula CT1100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro Sula
Price Range: $22 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Tamarindo Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarindo Hostel, the first backpacker's place in San Pedro Sula. We have dorm rooms, private rooms, hammocks, and enough area where you can have a nice rest after an adventure in San Pedro Sula or places near the city. We have a nice garden, terrace, free use of kitchen, reading area, and a lot more. We can inform you of tours and places to go and have fun at very cheap prices. We are close to Souvenir shops, discos, cinemas, shopping mall, restaurants, markets and supermarkets, Hedman Alas Bus station is near, hospitals and drug stores, so come over and find a good and secure area to stay at with a few bucks. We have wifi free but the use of the computers is for a very low price of $1.00 the half hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarindo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing