We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific little business hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metrotel Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Metrotel Express
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Terrific little business hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

As a veteran of the big name business hotels in the states I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel which is 15 min fmrom the airport, has high speed wireless in the room and the lobby, so I could work with clients in the lobby and zoom though email at the desk in my room. The staff was really helpful. I will make this a mainstay as I expand my. Usiness here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 34438Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    50
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
26
36
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, FL
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed at the Metrotel last month with three other families during a medical mission trip, and it was absolutely wonderful! We can't say enough about the warm hospitality, comfort and courtesy. The kids loved the pool and hanging out on the hammocks in the garden. The breakfast area with it's tables and wireless was a great place to meet at the beginning and end of each of our work days. Staff is friendly and rooms are spacious and spotless!

Room Tip: We liked the first floor rooms were in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elcocalhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Othello WA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

This was an American style hotel, everything was fabulous after all the other places I had stayed at in Honduras. Very pricey by Honduran standards but air conditioning, and hot water and a bed with blankets, a TV... It was great! The included breakfast was a little strange. There was some odd pastries, 3 types of cold cereal, 2 kinds of bread for toast and a big bowl of refried beans. Orange juice and some fruit as well as coffee.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

Friendly, helpful service, clean rooms and near the airport. We stayed here for just one night and it was great to have a swim in the (sensibly shaped) pool before setting off on our journey. Breakfast was basic but fine. Location and gardens give it a calm atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarita555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

I did she the other 1 star ratings but saw so many good ones, decided to go for it. BIG mistake. I came in on the 1 a.m. flight with Spirit Airlines. Like the other 2 reviews, I had confirmed with credit card and again by phone the day of departure, since I was traveling alone with my 7 year old daughter and nervous about the late hour of arrival. The man at the desk basically said he had no record of any reservation, was horribly rude and unhelpful, and directed us to another hotel. There were two other couples that arrived while I was going through this who has the exact same thing happen to them.
The taxi driver basically said he knew a better place (I was skeptical but what are you gonna do) and he took us to a lovely, inexpensive hotel in the city.

I'm not sure why there are so many great reviews, but my advice is DON'T GO HERE!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ststogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed there for two nights after arriving at San Pedro Sula Airport. We were en route to Copan but decided to spend a whole day in the area to visit the Lake Yojoa area. We had made an advance reservation through the hotel for a tour. Unfortunately, the night we arrived we were informed that the tour was canceled and couldn't get a clear answer why.
So, why am I recommending this hotel? My wife talked with the manager, Karen, the next morning and told her how disappointed we were. Karen explained that the tour company wanted the tour to be confirmed 24 hours in advance and the desk people had forgotten to do so. She offered to have one of the drivers the hotel uses, Luis, take us wherever we wanted for the day at no cost to us, other than admissions, meals, etc. (The tour we had booked had been very expensive, $124/person without lunch!) She apologized for his lack of fluency in English. We went for this anyway and went to the Pulahapanzak Falls and to Lake Yojoa with him, hiring a guide at Lake Yojoa (which we paid for, but it was cheap). It turned out that Luis's English was adequate, though not perfect, and he even translated for the guide (who spoke no English).
So all in all we had a great time the one full day we were there and we saved a bunch of money.
While we were unhappy at the original foulup, we feel that Karen's actions more than made up for it, and we would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginnystu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Live Oak, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

We were so impressed with the service at the Metrotel Express. They exchanged our dollars and even when I lost my phone charger they had one that I could use. However, on they could improve in the following manner: 1. I think they charge a bit much for the room. I am comparing to what I paid in La Ceiba. Rooms in San Pedro may all be more. They should also be more accurate with the cost of taxi's. They quoted us $10 for a cab and all the drivers requested $15. I also found the cost of the restaurant to be high but convenient.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank liveoak_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro Sula hotels
4.1 mi away
Micro Hotel Rio de Piedras
Micro Hotel Rio de Piedras
#12 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
#2 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
3.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Sula
Gran Hotel Sula
#18 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Sula
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Su...
#6 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Arbol Galerias
Hotel Casa del Arbol Galerias
#4 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
3.6 mi away
Guacamaya Inn B&B
Guacamaya Inn B&B
#5 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metrotel Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metrotel Express

Property: Metrotel Express
Address: | Km. 4, Boulevard al Aeropuerto, San Pedro Sula 1336, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metrotel Express 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Honduran Hospitality . Your home away from home! The Metrotel Express is a family business and had the pleasure of serving business travelers and tourists for over ten years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Metrotel Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metrotel Express Hotel San Pedro Sula
Microtel San Pedro Sula
Metrotel Express San Pedro Sula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing