We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and underinvested”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Kirkland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Tired and underinvested”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here for three nights on the 9th floor. The hotel is very dated in its public areas. No changes in 20+ years and not much activity either. The gym has not been touched for 20 years, is in a tiny room with cheap plastic floors that were dirty. The equipment just about functions. The room I stayed in was OK, clean. There was no hot water (nor did other guests have that privilege either). The staff try their best, but the lipstick on this old concrete tower block is hard to mask.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonstonemoclips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Moonstonemoclips,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I'm sorry you were unhappy with the appearance of the property. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen Gray
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    33
    10
    14
See reviews for
4
12
6
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Was very disappointed. just was not very nice. Smelled musty. Rooms average Food in restaurant less than par.Stayed at worst but also much better. Glad only had to stay one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Mark W,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am truly disappointed we did not manage this for your stay. I'm sorry our rooms and the food served during your stay did not live up to your expectations. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fulton, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I decided to try the Crown Plaza in San Pedro Sula due to the renovations going on at the Inter-Continental and it turned out to be worse. First of all check-in took 20 minutes not because of a crowd (only 2 people in front of me) but because of only one desk clerk on duty and he seemed to be unexpierenced. I was told that I recieved an upgrade for being a Platinum Rewards member but I did not, ended up in standard room with two double beds. After going out to dinner I came back to the room and turned on the A/C, after about an hour the room was still just under 80 degrees. Called the front desk and was told " the problem was due to the power company and not the hotel and it should be fixed in about an hour". The A/C never did work during the night.
Around 3:00 AM someone attempted to enter my room with a key card. The safety latch was on the door so they could not enter. As I got fully awake I was able to figure out that the front desk had mistakenly assigned my room to another guest because the front desk clerk had me down as in a different room.
Spoke to the manager in the morning when checking out and she said she "was sorry" for the problems. Not as sorry as I was !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmintn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear msmintn,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to San Pedro Sula.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Pedro Sula hotels

Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This hotel has comfortable rooms with all conveniences. Exception staff, most of whom speak English. Wi-fi available. Very good breakfast included. Convenient for getting a taxi to the artisan's market for excellent souvenirs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The hotel is nice, like a Marriot, but not quite Crowne Plaza level. For example, there were several pieces of equipment in the gym that were broken, there was not toilet paper or soap in the pool bathrooms for at least two days, some of the buttons on the elevator didn't work, etc. Not that I am complaining, for the price it was a nice change of pace from other places in Honduras, but it wasn't up to U.S. Crowne hotels by any means. Our room was beautiful, the only thing was that the shower didn't drain very well, but that didn't bother me one bit since I was pleased to have a clean shower with both hot and cold water after traveling around Central America. I paid $103 for the night and was completely happy with what I got for the price. The restaurant was expensive comparatively, but there is a restaurant El Fogoncito, right across the street. I had the Parilla en la mesa at the hotels restaurant and was very pleased. . We had a couple of drinks at the bar which were wonderful, and we used the shuttle which cost more than a cab, but it was much nicer as well. The next morning we walked out of hte hotel and went right for about 3 blocks and found a Denneys and La Ceboollanita for breakfast places, both were great, but not feasible to walk there at night as the city is quite unsafe.

Room Tip: 9th floor executive suites! They gave us a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puravidamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Puravidamia,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I came here as a business traveller in the first place, so I did not expect it to be anything special. The place is safe and very basic and maybe just a little too expensive. There are better places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amveliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We got a special Christmas rate of $100.00 that included breakfast. Attached restaurant is very convenient. Centrally located to markets, downtown and museums. For $100 in Honduras I expected an exceptional hotel. Our room had comfortable beds but a leaky toilet. Don't take shuttle from hotel to airport because you can go by taxi for half the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickieflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro Sula hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Sula
0.8 mi away
Real InterContinental San Pedro Sula at Multiplaza Mall
0.7 mi away
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
#2 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel San Pedra Sula
Clarion Hotel San Pedra Sula
#8 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Mediterraneo
Hotel Gran Mediterraneo
#3 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
248 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Casa de los Arcos
La Casa de los Arcos
#24 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula

Property: Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula
Address: Boulevard Morazan O- E, btwn Avda 10 11, San Pedro Sula CT1100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel San Pedro Sula. Our hotel has king size and double bedrooms, and a presidential suite, 2 phone lines per room, plus extension in bathroom, 25 TV with remote control,32' LCD TV in Executive Floors, Ipod dock station in Executive floors, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, safety box, vanity mirror and hairdryer in each room. Radio Cd Player wake-up clock, desk in each room with data port and Free Wireless Internet connection, satellite TV with Cinemax, HBO, HBO signature, HBO plus, CNN, Univision, ESPN, CBS. Restaurante 'Rio de Piedras' open daily. ATMOSFERA lounge and bar , 6 meeting rooms from 15 to 250 persons. Beauty salon,Casino, tourism tours and information desk. Business center.Wireless Internet in Bar, Restaurant, Pool, Gym, Lobby, Bussines Center and Executive Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula Hotel San Pedro Sula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing