We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleep only, not even that”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel San Pedra Sula
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sleep only, not even that”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hotel is older and it shows. Rooms have a musty smell, AC is terribly loud. Advertised "Gym" has two treadmills and one 35 lbs weight! Sauna is a death trap of exposed wiring. Sleeping is tough, particularly when they have events and all you hear is furniture moving.

The worst thing is that after a day out on business I returned to find my room door wide open, housekeeping forgot to close it!

Would not recommend. Choose the Hilton or Intercontinental, with an AAA discount it's actually cheaper.

Room Tip: Choose the Hilton or Intercontinental, with an AAA discount it's actually cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
5
2
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, ct
Level Contributor
295 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

My trip to San Pedro Sula was for a congress, and the city few upscale hotels (Intercontinental, Hilton, Crowne) where packed full, so one of the few option was the Clarion. I picked this hotel thinking that, being part of chain, it should have some minum standards.
The first impression was not that good: the reception area belongs to a motel, but the guy at the counter was quick and professional. The elevator is small and feels not that safe, but then the rooms corridor (3rd floor) is not that bad. The big surprise was when I opened the door of my room: double size, with a huge Jacuzzi, sitting area and flat screen TV. The bathroom too looked much younger than the rest of the hotel (I discovered that some rooms were refurbished completely a couple of years ago).
The not so good aspects:
- you cannot exchange money at the reception (there is a Citibank one block away, but check the business hours).
- the restaurant of the hotel is one of the saddest I have ever been: I would recommend to have your breakfast elsewhere, even though I cannot tell you any alternative place nearby.
-the internet connection was spotty, and one day it was gone for good . The speed was enough for basic surfing.
- if you try to locate this hotel in Google Map or Bing, beware that the location shown is not the real one, and that's probably due to the complicated address system of the city.
Should I need to visit San Pedro Sula again, probably I would not stay at this hotel again, but (I know it might sound a contraddiction) I have not problem recommending it.

Room Tip: ask for refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTTraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

Hotel is downtown, there is no swimming pool. The hotel is surrounded by concertinia wire due to the high crime in the area. All of the business around have armed guards. The resturant was not very good. On the plus side, the AC in the rooms were outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awayfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozuelo de Alarcon, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

Nice hotel Beds are comfortable. Nothing special, as you would expect in Europe, but nice for the local quality. Don't get confussed by the aerial cables everywhere. The area is safe and quiet. Rooms with a/c, large enough. Only "but" is that it lacks a swimming pool. Consider I was stayinmg 10 days for business reasons and the temperature was close to 30º C. Some trustworthy restaurants nearby (BK, Applebeeds, Domino's Pizza, etc) Very polite people. Everything really clean. I paid 85 €/night (buffet breakfast included).
I would deffinitively recommend it.

  • Liked — Confortable beds
  • Disliked — No pool, slow internet connection
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Business_traveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2005

The Clarion is an old hotel that has been redone with classic American styling of deep greens, maroon and woods. It's kind of neat that you sit at a desk signing in instead of standing at a counter. The hotel is very quiet and close to Applebees and TGI Fridays if you need a quick bite. The few complaints are beds that are more than firm, a tempermental shower and there TV channel selection made it tough to find anything not in Spanish while you were waiting to head out or fall asleep. Otherwise, it was a good deal for the price.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1markp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro Sula hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
#1 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Sula
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Su...
#6 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Casa del Arbol Galerias
Hotel Casa del Arbol Galerias
#4 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Mediterraneo
Hotel Gran Mediterraneo
#3 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.1 mi away
Real InterContinental San Pedro Sula at Multiplaza Mall
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Sula
Gran Hotel Sula
#19 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel San Pedra Sula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel San Pedra Sula

Property: Clarion Hotel San Pedra Sula
Address: Ave 2CLL Bo Rio de Piedras 17, San Pedro Sula CT1100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel San Pedra Sula 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel San Pedra Sula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion San Pedro Sula
San Pedro Sula Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing