We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to relax after a month travelling!”
Review of Gran Hotel Sula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Sula
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is comfortable and when I arrived after dark I felt very safe and secure. The rooms are basic but adequate often with views over the main square which is great for people watching. The food at the restaurant is nice but at busy times it can take a while to arrive. The happy hour at the bar is great for using up your remaining Lempiras! There's also a gift shop and currency exchange if you don't feel like venturing out into San Pedro.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLT956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 145 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

I am not too familiar with the other hotel offerings in san pedro sula, but I do know that this hotel was dirty. It was cool to have a balcony overlooking the town square, and I never felt like I wished I was somewhere else, as I felt like I was getting the full San Pedro Sula experience. I would recommend not eating at the restaurant downstairs as it was not the greatest.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank BoonePickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I completely agree with the last 2 posts. The rooms are dirty. Hair left over from previous guest and bathroom floors dirty. Also found a roach in bathroom. This is absolutely ridiculous for $80 when you can stay at Copanti for $90 and receive much better accommodations. Not happy at all and I will not stay there again. I have travelled to Honduras several times and this is first time I have complained about a hotel. Deplorable conditions and wifi strength not good.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I don't know how anyone can rate this Hotel as excellent?? I paid 100usd (NOT WORTH IT) My hotel room was dirty. They had soap left from previous guest. The front desk would not give me a diffrent room, I had to ask twice for them to clean room plus change the sheets on bed. NO luke warm/hot water for shower. It did smell of mildew.
The front desk staff. Is NOT FRIENDLY & will NOT care when you tell them of the filthy room.
Cafe food was not bad. It was more of a hassel to give the voucher for breakfast.
I did not like parking it was down the street.
Gran Hotel Sula is older with no upkeep.
I will begg anyone NOT TO STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ofabonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Having spent 2 weeks in Honduras visiting the Cusuco National Park and Utila this hotel was a haven on 2 occasions. Friendly, good restaurant and clean and air-conditioned rooms. Briefly got stuck in the lift, which was interesting, but was rescued within 10 minutes! A good hotel, well located and with all the facilities you need including free WIFI.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel was located in the central part of city. Very easy to get to and from airport.
Hotel has great Internet service. Guest services from front desk to security guards were all very friendly and professional. Felt very safe and welcomed.
Included at least with our package was a continental breakfast in restaurant. Good food! Good selection.
There is also a lounge/bar. Great to go and relax and enjoy refreshing cocktails or cold beer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorenaGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We always stay here after our overnight flight from the US. San Pedro Sula can be an extremely dangerous place especially after dark. You feel welcomed and safe once you enter the lobby.front desk staff is always courteous. The rooms are basic but have AC which is a must.breakfast is included in the 50's style diner.balconies overlook the plaza and cathedral. The hotel bar is dark and cozy. Free wifi while in the hotel. Swimming pool is clean and inviting. They always remember us when we check in. They really have everything we need including a cashier to exchange dollars for limperas.

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro Sula hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
#2 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
546 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Sula
1.2 mi away
Guacamaya Inn B&B
Guacamaya Inn B&B
#4 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copantl Hotel & Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Mediterraneo
Hotel Gran Mediterraneo
#3 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
251 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real InterContinental San Pedro Sula at Multiplaza Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Sula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Sula

Address: Calle Este 1 | entre 3 y 4 Avenidas, San Pedro Sula CT1100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Price Range: $72 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Hotel Sula 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Sula is located in the heart of the city of San Pedro Sula, Honduras. We offer comfortable and clean rooms with all the amenities guests looking for your business or leisure to the industrial city of Honduras. .You will find for your convenience: refreshing pool, bakery, Café Skandia, Bar Oro Verde, souvenir shop, bank, gym, dental clinic, medical service delivery, prayer center, parking and frequent stay program. Our 35 years of experience guarantee total satisfaction! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Sula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Pedro Sula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing