We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value and pleasant stay”
Review of Gran Hotel Sula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Sula
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I stayed two nights (separately) at this hotel during October, so saw two different rooms, and went through two check in / check out procedures. In both cases the experience was good, rooms were fine, bathrooms were clean, and the AC worked well. Included breakfast suited me fine, and staff were polite and friendly. Overall a very good place to stay, and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank El-Yuca-Ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 145 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel occasionally for the past 16 years (used to be a Best Western). After a gap of several years, I stayed there for one night in September 2011.

For those reviewers who denigrate this hotel (what do you get in your countries for this price?) here is what I received for the price of a Motel 6 in the USA:

• A large spotlessly clean room with king bed, desk & easy chair.
• Coffee maker
• Refrigerator
• Iron and board
• Large balcony with table and chairs overlooking the pool.
• Crisp new linens.
• Clean bathroom with good shower and amenities.
• Faultless wireless internet

Above was just the room. In addition, breakfast was included. OK, I had to pay a little on top but I did have the steak & eggs…yum!
Also included was a voucher for a free drink at the bar…..margarita, very nice thank you!

The hotel has a 24 hour coffee shop/restaurant/room service. The food was good and reasonably priced. If you want a fancy meal, go to a fancy restaurant. I ate in the coffee shop (on the patio by the pool) when I arrived in the afternoon, and had an excellent room service meal that evening at around 10pm. Both meals very good.

All the staff were friendly and courteous, and all requests were dealt with speedily ( I asked the receptionist if I could have some extra coffee in my room and by the time I got up there, there were two fresh sachets on the desk).

Admittedly this hotel has been here a while but every time I stay there I see improvements. I would say it has character and guests are names and not numbers.

It is nice, occasionally, not to wake up in a clone, chain hotel room and not have to open the curtains or check my passport to see which country/city I am in.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cayeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Been there twice in March 2011.
Big central property. Lobby is good, but the rooms are very dated and needs some renovation.
Service is one of the worse i saw ever.
Breakfast included means that just a few thing are included, for the rest you should pay. Juice is included , but coffee is not or vice versa... Eggs are in, but egged with bacon not. Very strange place.
Have parking.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

we stayed at this hotel for one night and it was wonderful. the bed was comfortable, big deck, great air conditioning. This hotel is like a blast from the past. It has a retro charm, but updated features. The pool area is an oasis in this busy city. we especially loved the cafe skandia. make sure to get a room facing the pool.

Room Tip: get a room facing the pool. the ones on the second floor have extra large decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Used this Hotel before and after a trip to other parts of Honduras. I will stay there again. Found the service to be good and the location is downtown across from "el cento" (central park). There is a 24 hour restaurant (great for early morning departures, and a nice pool. They arranged a driver to pick us up at the airport who was polite and efficient.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cousinkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

gran sula is an ok hotel. rooms are better than most on mainland honduras and the staff is more attentive than most places here. the whole hotel could certainly use a make over, it feels very 1970's but its clean and the bed linens are ok. the coffee shop/restaurant is much better than most and all in all the hotel is ok for a night or two, as is san pedro sula.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divenuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We live in Honduras and needed to be in San Pedro early morning so decided to try the Gran Hotel Sula. The location right on the park was wonderful, we finally got the chance to explore downtown. The staff was friendly and the restaurant staff at the diner were exceptional- I must have gone down there a dozen times for small purchases or requests and they always complied and were friendly and accommodating. Not behavior I'm used to in Honduras!

The hotel is old, not renovated and full of quirks. I got sprayed in the face as I turned on the shower and couldn't move the nozzle. One of the elevators was making a frightful noise, and the balcony furniture left much to be desired. But the quirks add to the charm and I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel.

Beds were comfortable, wireless worked perfectly, breakfast was included, great TV channels, nice pool. Our biggest complaint is the across the street parking, though our car was fune.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro Sula hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
#2 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
546 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Sula
1.2 mi away
Guacamaya Inn B&B
Guacamaya Inn B&B
#4 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copantl Hotel & Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Mediterraneo
Hotel Gran Mediterraneo
#3 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
251 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real InterContinental San Pedro Sula at Multiplaza Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Sula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Sula

Address: Calle Este 1 | entre 3 y 4 Avenidas, San Pedro Sula CT1100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Price Range: $72 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Hotel Sula 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Sula is located in the heart of the city of San Pedro Sula, Honduras. We offer comfortable and clean rooms with all the amenities guests looking for your business or leisure to the industrial city of Honduras. .You will find for your convenience: refreshing pool, bakery, Café Skandia, Bar Oro Verde, souvenir shop, bank, gym, dental clinic, medical service delivery, prayer center, parking and frequent stay program. Our 35 years of experience guarantee total satisfaction! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Sula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Pedro Sula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing