We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location outside of La Ceiba”
Review of Diving Pelican Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diving Pelican Inn
Ranked #9 of 35 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very nice property with wonderful pool & bar area. Michelle was excellent host and helped with all our travel arrangements. The location is on a nice stretch of beach and makes the boat ride to Cayos Cochinos Marine Park shorter and the boat picks you up right off the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I know it was a short stay but I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks to S for contributing to my new parrot retirement home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 74 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Thanks to Michelle and Andrea for a great couple of days. We had a brilliant time and would highly recommend it to anyone who is traveling near La Ceiba. Room we stayed in was lovely and they have done a cracking job out the back where you can wile away happy hour with a few drinks.

Thanks guys,

Podge and Anita

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Podge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

OMG, you two were loads of fun both here and in the Jungle.

Thanks for taking the time to write an Irish review, it's amazing how you can actually make your accent appear in type :-) Great having you as guests and hopefully we'll see you in the future.

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Can't thank Michelle enough for ensuring our week in Honduras was that perfect vacation that we so hoped it would be. Amazing that today you still can get such a fabulous vacation for such a reasonable cost if you know where to look and who to rely on. The Diving Pelican Inn, east of La Ceiba and its hostess Michelle were that place and person for us. The B&B is perfectly located to be totally accessible to boating, island visit, snorkeling and diving activities, and just as conveniently accessible to jungle mountain zip-lining, hiking, and hot springs. Also excellent white water river rafting and mountain trail horseback riding were just a 45 minute ride. We had such an active, fun-filled week and we had to skip quite a few things we would have liked to try. There is just so much to choose from, if you love incredibly beautiful sea and landscapes and/or eco activities. Michelle was instrumental in planning, coordinating our daily boat and land trips. And we were back each day just in time for those amazing Monkey-la-la's ( I really need that recipe, and also the potato chip one.....), and Bill's Flor de Cana Rum and pineapple juice, oh and I can't forget those private stash Margaritas, lol! Donald had that certain touch to make everything taste amazing. Thank you so much, Michelle and Andrea, for an amazing vacation!!!!! Also our best to Donald and Tony. We will definitely be back soon, so stock up on all of our favorites :)

Thank you for everything, Bill and Gabriele

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hey you two, thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. It was an absolute pleasure having you here for the week, I'm actually glad you stuck around and didn't head out to the island. Hope you had fun in the Cangrejal and I hope your foot is healing well Bill. Look forward to seeing you again in the not to distant future.

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Diving Pelican after seeing the ruins in Copan. It is right on the beach and convenient to get to from La Ceiba. We drove ourselves there and we had no trouble finding it (we brought a GPS with local maps). Michelle was a great hostess and made it all very convenient for us to hang out. She helped get us a tour to Cayos Cochinos and that is how we met Tony (our snorkeling tour guide). We became friends in a short time - they bought my wife a great birthday cake for her 39th+ birthday. There is a nice community of people who work together to support the visitors. It doesn't seem like you are a tourist, just someone visiting friends. We would gladly spend time at Diving Pelican again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redkwamya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Hey you two...it was great having you here as our guests. I don't know what it is but we are so fortunate to attract such great people. I'm glad you enjoyed your time here and it was great going out for the birthday dinner as well. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and hopefully we'll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Diving pelican was Amazing ,with wonderful people and beautiful scenery, Michelle and Andrea were sooo nice !!! Michelle always made sure we were taken care of :-D also Donald and syomara were great ! We will miss everyone there . We hope to see you soon . Jorge and family

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JORGE DUARTE 80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Hola Family,

It was great having you all with us, just wish the weather would have cooperated a little more for your stay. Every time I drive up the Cangrejal I think of Maria and the kids giggling and jiggling.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it means a lot to us. Hope to see you again in the near future. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying a week at the Diving Pelican Inn this spring when visiting my daughter who was working for an American Foundation in nearby La Ceiba, Honduras. This is a small family-run hotel owned by a delightful Canadian from Vancouver. Although about 12 km or so outside of la Ceiba and down a dirt road for about a km, the hotel sits right on the Pacific. The hotel pool with fresh water and a fountain is an oasis and of course the bar is right beside the pool with an excellent bar tender..Pina coladas to die for... and one steps through the hotel gate right onto the beach...and it is a beach that is almost deserted. I was able to jog a few km up and down the beach each morning at sunrise without once being worried or bothered by anyone. The room was air conditioned and had a nice ensuite bath. A secret is the restaurant which was excellent and at bargain prices...especially recommended are the hamburgers with the meat stuffed with various condiments and local delicious home-made buns. Best of all is the super great owner/manager, Michelle, who welcomed us as one of the family..really must get back this winter! And the sunsets were breath-taking!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Hi Don,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed having you here as much as you enjoyed your visit. I was very happy to see that you may return this winter, we would love to have you as our guests again. This trip you'll have to have some Monkey La Las as well. Thanks again, see you soon I hope.

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I can only tell you that If you don't take the opportunity to stay here, you will really be missing out on such a treat! Luis (the driver the owner arranged for us) was smiling and friendly from the moment we arrived at the bus station, waiting for us with a sign in hand. The ride from the bus station in La Ceiba to Sambo Creek was not too long, about twenty minutes. Michelle and her staff were amazing hosts. We were treated like special guests from the moment we arrived. The setting was beautiful, the food was amazing, the happy hour was well celebrated and fun, The accommodations were perfect and more than affordable!Our room was perfectly suiting for 2, with a huge shower,plenty of warm water, plush bath towels, coffee and tea. The linens were super soft Egyptian Cotton sheets and a we slept on a very comfortable mattress. Michelle invited us to browse through a huge selection of DVD's to watch in our room. While we only had 24 hours at this place I would go back in a heartbeat to spend more time here. Our bartender Donald took great care of us at the bar and made sure we wanted for nothing. Michelle provided us with beach towels for the beautiful pool and for the hot springs nearby where we went the next day. Breakfast is provided at your choice of two places nearby the Inn and Michelle will give you vouchers which you take to either place you choose. I only wish we had more time to spend here. I can't wait to go back. Please, PLEASE make sure you stay here if you have the chance! Thanks so much for such a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: I only saw the room in which I stayed. The bed does take up a large part of the room but there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kinnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Hola Kinnita,

Yes you should have stayed longer, we're looking forward to having you both back for a longer stay next time. Thanks for taking the time to write a review it means a lot to me when people go out of their way to review. I hope you had a great time in Roatan and that the rest of your birthday surprise trip was awesome! Happy Travels.

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
9.4 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
85 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
11.4 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
9.4 mi away
Villas Pico Bonito
Villas Pico Bonito
#1 of 20 in La Ceiba
256 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel La Casa De Nery
Hotel La Casa De Nery
#5 of 35 in La Ceiba
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diving Pelican Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diving Pelican Inn

Address: | 250 Yards East Of Sambo Creek 250, Beside the Hotel Canadien, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Price Range: $80 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Luxurious and Intimate 3 room inn on the beach. With a beautiful pool, waterfall and large deck area. All rooms have air conditioning, TV, DVD player with access to hundreds of DVDs,private baths with hot water showers,fans, free purified water, purified ice, coffee pots and one has small kitchen. Beach chairs and towels provided. There is a very large out door area for relaxing with a fully stocked honor bar for exclusive use of our guests. You can also enjoy a tropical drink and 2 for 1 Happy Hour at our Barefoot Saloon. There are 3 restaurants within walking distance. From our inn you can take part in various exciting and relaxing tours, go for a dive trip or snorkeling at Cayos Cochina, take an exciting ride through the rain forest and relax afterwards in the rejuvenating thermal waters at the Sambo Creek Canopy Tour and Hot springs, or take a Kayak ride through the Cacao Lagoon and enjoy the monkeys and other wildlife you'll experience. We are here to be of service and making you a repeat guest is our one and only purpose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Diving Pelican Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diving Pelican Inn Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing