We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Relaxing Vacation!”
Review of Diving Pelican Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diving Pelican Inn
Ranked #8 of 35 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
Copperas Cove, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Relaxing Vacation!”
Reviewed November 15, 2007

Jim picked us up in San Pedro Sula from the airport with an abundance of beverages from the Diving Pelican Inn-Bare Foot Saloon. He was an excellent tour guide on our three hour trip to La Ceiba. We stayed four nights and enjoyed great hospitality, super breakfast every morning, many refreshing drinks from a bar that never closes, and most of all relaxed. Thanks to Jim and Cathryn and their dedication to providing excellent sevice.

Rob and Vicki (11/08-12/07)

  • Liked — Great service and atmosphere.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RobandVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
38
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2007

Great, really private rooms, completely seperate from the hussle of the great house. Really cold AC and high pressure hot water. The room decor is what you find at a rich friends vacation villa. Upmarket sheets, expensive drapes making the rooms dark when you want to sleep late or take that afternoon nap. Elegant, EXTREMELY safe feeling about the place, Warm, really friendly hosts who do biz american style, not get to it tomorrow maybe (if ?) ever central american style. RIGHT on the beach, not the old hussle near beach nonsense. The place is clean, cool, friendly and comfortable. We had the huge palapa all to our selves which made us feel well.......rich! This place makes you want to sell everthing and build a house on the beach in Honduras. Great value for the money. The sort of place to just hang for a few days and lay around and relax, Next door to two hotels, so you have a couple of bars and restaurants to walk maybe 25 yards to get to. The hosts, Cathryn and big Jim, could not have been more attentitive. Felt like I was staying with family.

  • Liked — up scale, mid price, VERY safe and Clean, rooms feel like a home not a hotel, owner's really friendly!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Baronnovel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

Wow! If you want to relax away from it all, but want all the comforts, this is the place. Sun on the well maintained beach or enjoy the tropical breeze in a hammock on the covered patio. Walk to nearby restaurants for great fish and seafood. Take a day trip to Cayos Cochinos for some of the best snorkeling in Honduras. Plenty of activities for the adventurous including horseback riding, hot pools and a zip-line canopy tour.
The Texan owners set me up for a two night stay in Utila which was outstanding, great food and very reasonable accommodations.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank gabriela10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2007

This was my second trip to Honduras. I stayed almost 2 weeks this time and had a wonderful time. My room had a tv, vcr, dvd player, shower, coffee pot and hot water. I was 20 steps from the ocean. The water and beach were great. We went to Utila via the ferry. The host had a beach bond fire for us the last night. I will return.

  • Liked — room accommodations
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austinpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
11.1 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
20.2 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
11.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#9 of 22 in La Ceiba
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
9.4 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#6 of 22 in La Ceiba
77 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diving Pelican Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diving Pelican Inn

Property: Diving Pelican Inn
Address: | 250 Yards East Of Sambo Creek 250, Beside the Hotel Canadien, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Luxurious and Intimate 3 room inn on the beach. With a beautiful pool, waterfall and large deck area. All rooms have air conditioning, TV, DVD player with access to hundreds of DVDs,private baths with hot water showers,fans, free purified water, purified ice, coffee pots and one has small kitchen. Beach chairs and towels provided. There is a very large out door area for relaxing with a fully stocked honor bar for exclusive use of our guests. You can also enjoy a tropical drink and 2 for 1 Happy Hour at our Barefoot Saloon. There are 3 restaurants within walking distance. From our inn you can take part in various exciting and relaxing tours, go for a dive trip or snorkeling at Cayos Cochina, take an exciting ride through the rain forest and relax afterwards in the rejuvenating thermal waters at the Sambo Creek Canopy Tour and Hot springs, or take a Kayak ride through the Cacao Lagoon and enjoy the monkeys and other wildlife you'll experience. We are here to be of service and making you a repeat guest is our one and only purpose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Diving Pelican Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diving Pelican Inn Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing