We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So jealous this isn't my home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel
Ranked #4 of 35 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2008

Such a beautiful home all built out of stone from the amazing river that flows behind the house. I felt very welcomed at home when greeted by our wonderful hosts Karen & Alex and their adorable puppy! We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed river rafting at Omega Lodge and had a great stay. Karen makes great drinks and the food was amazing. Very relaxing place, I could have easily spent a week and not been bored, just enjoyed the peaceful nature. Really a great place to stay. If I ever return to Honduras, I know were I will stay! Thanks Karen:)

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hmj914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 105 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2008

after a long travel day which included 2 planes and huge layover and a 4 hour drive. i rolled up the river stone driveway of this oasis in the jungle with no expectations .i simply wanted to wash and crash in a bed.
this place is beautiful. the rooms comfortable,roomy & more than well appointed. karen and alex are great hosts friendly ,warm,and they really make you feel welcome.
the B & B is so well done.. a great porch area with hammocks and comfortable oversize custom couches, a pool table, and a well stocked beer fridge.
the breakfast was outstanding. Karen really goes all out. with fresh juices, great coffee and delicious ( omlettes,pancakes,fruit,eggs benedict)
we stayed 5 days and never got tired of the location and if i could i would go stay 30 days.. the grounds a stream with swimming holes and aseveral places to rest and sit in the jungle listening to the beautiful sounds of HONDURAS.
My vacation was amazing and i will definately be back

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank codyfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Casa Cangrejal is a lot more than the typical B&B. For starters the owners Alex and Karen are absolutely amazing. Karen is from Canada and makes the best banana pancakes in the world. Of your luck she may even make Eggs Benedict.

The commendations are all new and have all the admenities you would expect in a high end hotel. The bathrooms are large and spacious and wonderfully decorated using local river stones.

For fun try out the new full size pool table and bar located between the house and the river. If it gets too hot just take a quick dip in the "Fountain of Youth" and tranquilo is found. Don't forget to check out Omega lodge for daily tours including rafting, hiking, bird watching, and drinking.

Tell only your best friends about this place.

Conner

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ConnerJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at Casa Cangrejal after googling "queer friendly places to stay in Honduras." We had friends stay at another VERY pricey place in the forest so I thought we'd be "slumming" it at Casa Cangrejal. Quite the opposite! We were warmly welcomed by Karen and Alex. For our 3 nights in the rain forest we were well dined, excited by our rainforest tour and rafting experience at Omega, and overall so so pleased! If you're queer and traveling in Honduras (the first thing I found on the internet about being gay in Honduras warned us not to go!!!)--I'd highly recommend this place. Amazing what you get for the price!

Stayed: March 2008
Thank sharonhaifa1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Casa Cangrejal is so amazing. Karen and Alex are the most attentive hosts in a beautiful and comfortable environment. Everything you need is taken care of – hikes, white water rafting (definitely go with Omega), zip lining, recommending activities, sights to see and restaurants in town (not that you really want to leave once you get there).

Just a few minutes walk is the Omega Lodge. Alex will make sure you have a flashlight if you’re out after dark. You can grab some good food, cold beer and enjoy the company of fellow travelers and the crew of professional Omega tour guides. All the nightlife you’ll need after an active day of hiking in Pico Bonito or White Water Rafting.

If you just want to chill, hang out in the hammocks or sofa on the beautiful outdoor patio behind the main house – complete with an “honor” fridge stocked with ice cold beer, soda and water.

Karen’s breakfasts are legendary! Fresh squeezed juice and fruit, shrimp omelets, eggs Benedict, baleadas – more than enough to keep you full through your day’s activities. If you go hiking, Karen will even pack you a lunch.

Being a Florida-girl, I was worried about not having A/C. Although it was humid, it did get cool enough at night that I needed a blanket. And, this IS the jungle. There are spiders, flying things and strange noises in the night. The windows are screened and there was nothing crawling in the bed at night, but this is just good to know before you go.

What I enjoyed most is how much Karen and Alex seem to enjoy what they do. Every request was greeted with an enthusiastic willingness to make us happy. Karen doesn’t sew and she doesn’t make tortillas, but everything else is possible!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VA00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Casa Cangrejal is a wonderful place. Karen, the owner, is a friendly, competent, and organized hostess. Her breakfasts (and the desserts she makes for the Jungle River Lodge) are reason enough to stay: freshly squeezed fruit juices, tropical fruit plates, and omelets (she even worked with my non-dairy restriction). yum! The room was clean, large, and comfortable. My husband and I had time only for a two-day stay on the Honduras mainland. We wanted to experience the rainforest, the birds, and the Cangrejal River. Karen's planning and preparation made our visit go incredibly smoothly. We had arranged in advance with Karen to hire a guide to take us for a hike in Pico Bonito National Park. When we arrived she had already arranged for the guide and had our lunch and water packed in a backpack. It was all so easy for us! With the guide, we hiked to Bejuco Falls, a 300-350 foot waterfall surrounded by uncut tropical rainforest. The guide did a great job showing us plants and birds. Speaking of birds...the birding around the B&B and park is terrific. On the grounds of the B&B we saw Keel-billed Toucan, Collared Aracari, Blue-crowned Motmot, White-crowned Parrot, White-collared Swift, Lineated Woodpecker, Montezuma Oropendula, among others. The birding is also very good walking along the main road. The local people that passed us on the road while we were birding were all very friendly. We had a wonderful stay at Casa Cangrejal. Our only regret was not being able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LNG2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

I only had one night in La Ceiba and wanted to be in the heart of the jungle near the river activities but did not want to "rough it". Casa Cangrejal was the perfect place! We stayed in the detached stone bungalow that has two twin beds and a decent size bathroom. It was not air conditioned and did get a bit warm during the night. The main house is beautiful with high stone ceilings. Karen is a wonderful owner- she prepared delicious mulit-course breakfasts for us on both mornings. The property has natual swim holes, a new outdoor covered lounge area and hammocks in the trees. It was a short walk to Omega lodge where we ate dinner and went white water rafting (Omega uses all professional rafting guides which is very important- the other rafting company- Jungle River Lodge did not seem professional- the guides looked like kids and they did not carry safety lines). Karen's husband Alex served as our taxi- he picked us up at the ferry ($15) and dropped me off at the airport ($20) when it was time to go home. This is a great lodge in a beautiful setting with comfortable rooms and delicious food!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank smgapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villas Pico Bonito
Villas Pico Bonito
#1 of 20 in La Ceiba
255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel

Address: Km 9 Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Price Range: $86 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is located in the rain forest just 20 min. outside La Ceiba; we border the Pico Bonito National Park. All our rooms have private bath and hot water and wireless internet connection. The house is built entirely out of river rock which keeps the rooms a fantastic cool temp (allowing us all to live comfortably without using air conditioning). The fresh water creek behind our house is a wonderful place to relax. There are an abundance of activities to keep you busy - rafting, kayaking, hiking, horseback riding, bird watching, canopy tours and lagoon tours. Breakfast is included and is international cuisine, fresh squeezed juices and fruit. We now have 2 fully furnished one bedroom apartments, located just a 5 min walk from the B&B on our Hobby farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing