We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to kick-back and breath”
Review of Jungle River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Ceiba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jungle River Lodge
Reviewed July 14, 2008

The setting for this basic lodge is set upon the Cangrejal River, just outside La Ceiba, Honduras. Absolutely a great place to absorb the jungle, participate in a range of outdoor activities, swim in the river or lounge in one of their natural pools. The rooms are average and shared bathrooms are clean.

There are two drawbacks which should be taken into account:
1) since you are removed from town/restaurants, you are almost forced to have all your meals on-site, which can get rather expensive. And the meals are average - at best.
2) management neglect to inform guests that they tack on a 16% 'hospitality' tax; which seems a little mysterious to me.

All in all, a great stay but is not budget friendly. Some of their activities are well priced (e.g. rafting & canopy); i recommend the rafting.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlos4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 99 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2008

We recently trekked to Honduras for a wedding in Roatan. Came down a few days early to go white water rafting on the mainland. I found the Jungle River Lodge online. The price was right -- $9 a night and we'd get a night free with the white water rafting -- so I emailed them and told them we would be coming for two nights. We had a group of six of us. We arrived when it was dark. We were greeted by one of the workers who showed us to the "dorm" room. It's a little room with 8 beds and we got it all to ourselves both nights. Now the room wasn't anything fancy -- but for $9 a person, it was perfect for us. It was a little rustic which fit great with the scenery -- we kinda felt like we were camping.

Once we settled in, we headed to the bar for dinner. No choice on the menu (i.e. you eat what they make) -- but nonetheless - all the food was delicious - and was for the other four meals we ate at the Lodge! We received a fine welcome from Oscar - the owner - who came over to our table with seven shot glasses. He introduced us to some homebrew rum he made with plants from the jungle soaked in the bottle. Then he told us that we could go behind the bar and serve ourselves -- and play whatever music we liked. It was a good time!

We woke up the next day to see the stunning setting that surrounding the Jungle River Lodge. The place is right on the river with huge boulders -- and is surrounded by large mountains. And Oscar had built a pool that looks like it is part of the rocks - very cool.

We went white water rafting that day. The cost was only $35/person. It was a lot of fun -- the first half of the trip was class 3 and 4 rapids - the second half was class 1-3. We stopped at the Lodge for a break and got to jump off the rocks of the pool to the raging river 25 feet below. It was scary, but we all did it!

Everyone in my group kept saying what a "great find" this place was. We all really enjoyed our time there. I would definately recommend the place!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LazyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

I am very glad that I stayed at the Jungle River Lodge. The rooms and community area are arranged right next to the Canjegral River and the roaring of the water is the overriding sound. There are pools in the rocks next to the lodge where you can go for a dip, or you can take the 25ft plunge into the river below. Meals are served community style and were all tasty. Examples were a dinner of fried chicken, rice, beans and tortillas and a lunch of chicken soup. All are served in the open air community area where there are tables, a bar, and candlelight at night. The only electricity in the common area powered the music playing behind the bar. It was an ideal place for meeting other travelers, who were mostly young and adventurous. We rafted and tried the zip line course with the Jungle River guides, who were very friendly. Both were good experiences for us.

It's true, as other reviewers have said, that the rooms at Jungle River were not exactly clean, and there were additional inconveniences. Our room had only one light bulb (located in the bathroom), a single, torn curtain that functioned as both a bathroom door and a shower curtain, exposed wiring on the light switch, and fairly large cracks in the walls that were quite welcoming to mosquitoes. The place could be improved greatly with a little work, but that said, I suggest you pack a headlamp and extra bugspray and book a room at Jungle River Lodge anyway. It is a unique and very cool experience.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

The Jungle Lodge is more of a camp, than a lodge. While it is a fabulous place to meet other travelers and feel close to nature...you fall asleep to the sound of a rushing river and jungle animals, the rooms are filthy even for a camp setting. There was rodent feces on almost every bed in the widely utilized dormitory room...that means it must have been fresh. While the rushing water put me to sleep, the knowledge that there was rodent poop on my bed kept me awake and made it hard to sleep. Meals and drinks are also very expensive for Honduras. One dollar for a coke and two dollars for a beer. Six dollars for a rather meager dinner...small stew portion and ball of rice..exclusive of drink and beverage. I would come here for the day to relax, maybe have dinner and then drink at the bar, but leave in a taxi later in the night for more clean La Ceiba rooms. But, then again, I´m just very frightened by rodents and I didn´t actually see any in the room, just their excrement...

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwiz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2007

We read about the Jungle River Lodge on many backpacker websites and also read about them through a few reviews on our hotel.
The Jungle River Lodge is not so much as a lodge but I would say it reminds of a cabin or camp. If your the kind of person who likes to get close to nature this is the place for you. The rooms are not the Hilton, they are basic. They have many bunks in a large room for backpackers to hang out or you can ask for one of their private rooms. 2 beds, shower, sink and toilet. Yes things leak but thats okay.
Oscar (owner) is a wonderful person. You can see that he works so well with his team. His guides are very knowledgeable.
We did a hike in Pico Bonito Park up to a beautiful waterfall. Breathtaking, all the way our guide Rankin showed us different plants and plants that can be used for all different things like soap, medicine and even eating.
After our hink we did the ZipLines. Another amazing experience! We had our 7 year old and at no point felt unsafe. Our son just loved it. Rankin had our son attached to him.
They also have other tours you can do. White water rafting on the Cangrejal River and many others. Check out their website.
We stayed the night. For lighting they have candles everywhere.
It was so cool. Even down to the music Oscar plays was perfect. The food was incredable! We chatted with many packpackers from all over the world and their adventures. I wish me and my husband did that when we were young!
All and all we just loved this place!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TorontoStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
Thank dimitrid2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
Thank Todd_Mengues12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0 mi away
Villas Pico Bonito
Villas Pico Bonito
#1 of 20 in La Ceiba
256 reviews
0 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
0 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#5 of 22 in La Ceiba
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
87 reviews
0 mi away
Apart Hotel Pico Bonito
Apart Hotel Pico Bonito
#11 of 35 in La Ceiba
20 reviews
0 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle River Lodge

Address: Avenida Morazan | P.O. Box 471, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Specialty Lodging in La Ceiba
Price Range: $1 - $1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle River is a natural escape from the City and we offer diferents tours option, bar, restaurant, and rock pools.best option in La Ceiba for relaxing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jungle River Hotel La Ceiba
Jungle River Lodge Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing