We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, terrible rooms, poor bar.”
Review of Jungle River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jungle River Lodge
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, terrible rooms, poor bar.”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed for one night. Room was terrible, most uncomfortable bed ever. Bathroom as such verging on being disgusting. Not even a mirror of hook to hang any thing.

Food was ok in the evening, breakfast was poor. Save on the trip costs by walking to waterfall yourself. Pay park entry fee at bridge over river , they show you the circle route , about 3 hours nice walk.

Not sure why marketed as eco lodge, shame really great location, poor value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin6322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    24
    15
    11
    10
See reviews for
7
26
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here with a group of 8 people, so we essentially took up most of the private rooms. We stayed for 4 days/3 nights. I toured each room and had my own private double bed with hot/cold water. Basically, the rooms are comfortable, clean, and just fine. The only time I spent in my room was to change clothes and sleep, and throughout the night the constant noise of the rushing rapids kept me sound asleep. Only recommendation, bring warm clothes to sleep in, as it does get chilly at night.

The tours I did were white-water rafting (amazing, 1-4 level rapids) and sea-kayaking (outstanding). On our own, we did hiked to the waterfall and went mountain biking through the town.

The staff was professional, very good English speakers, and extremely helpful. The food was awesome!!! For breakfast they can make either pancakes, eggs, sausage, and typical Honduras food.

You won't be dissapointed...it's a laid back environment, always relaxing music playing...and FREE WiFi

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

A group of 5 of us went in December 2012. It was organised well enough, we spent the night at Banana Republic hostel in La Ceiba and then at 8am the following morning we were picked up and taken out to the lodge which is in a beautiful setting right next to the river with views of the jungle. The rafting was great fun, the guides were great and the fruit they supplied was good quality. My only issue is that on their website it states a half day of rafting is 3-4 hours. In reality it took 2 hours (including getting to the river, safety briefing etc) so we found ourselves all finished by 12pm! Stayed the night anyway as it was a free night's accommodation and early the next morning we got the chicken bus back in (which go at 8am, 9am, 10am not sure after this time - although it was 40 minutes late). They offer you transport back to La Ceiba but not until 12:30pm. My other recommendation is bring some snacks from La Ceiba as they don't sell any food at the lodge (aside from lunch and dinner which was good) and there is alot of waiting around. Overall I would recommend this experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mitte198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Don't expect luxury - this is an Eco-lodge that is built into the hillside. Rooms are very basic, but for a few nights it was fine for us. I would suggest bringing a lightweight blanket if you get cold easy. The lodge only gives you sheets and the temperature drops a bit in the middle of the night. This is a cloud forest. Food was home-cooked and yummy. If you take the zipline tour, the guide will show you the farm across the river that allows the lodge to be self-sustaining.

The best part was the river trip. A guide took just the two of us upriver and showed us a whole lot more than just a good rafting trip. We spent the first hour or so learning how to navigate the rapids - swimming through them, cliff jumping into whitewater, and bodysurfing down them. We even got to momentarily experience a hydraulic after going off a waterfall head first (with a safety line of course)! It was such a rush and we learned so much!

Room Tip: Upgrade from the dormitory to a private room. The little extra cost is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdivemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Beware!! Dishonest Company!!

They advertise the rafting as 3 to 4.5 hrs but you re lucky if its 2 hours, INCLUDING safety brief, training and break in the middle! The guides seem more keen on getting back to drink behind the bar than give the 3+ hr experience.

Also they advertise that you can stay free if you stay at their Banana Republic in La Ceibe the night before, but when you get to Jungle River the will not honor this unless you cause a fuss. They also advertise double rooms from $30 to $45 but when you try & book the $30, $35 rooms they say they re all booked, until you cause a fuss about the supposed free room & then magically the cheaper rooms are suddenly available.

They also inflate the exchange rate & try to short change you too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samsonluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Ceiba hotels

Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We came to the lodge to do the Zip lining tour and took advantage of the free night stay (We were going to leave the next day). We ended up staying for two more nights, doing absolutely nothing but enjoying the atmosphere. It's hard to explain but the lodge is right up on the river and has a beautiful, unobstructed view of nature. The food was delicious and the rum and pineapple juice was even better! Everyone who worked there was really friendly and we made friends easily. We stayed in the dorms and they were good rooms, not sure about the private ones. Any of the bad reviews of this place concerning bugs, etc have a slight truth to them, but you have to to remember this is the jungle in Honduras. It's more of a camping/cabin atmosphere than a private hotel, so if you are wanting a 5 star stay in a fancy place, this isn't for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dayla89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This place is like no where on earth. We have had the best time here relaxing and rafting. It's so unique and the owners are very kind and easy going. The staff has been incredibly helpful and were awesome rafting guides who took the time to make sure we knew what we were doing but also found little gems along the ride to make it more special. Our private room was just fine and the meals have been well prepared and fresh. It is in the middle of the jungle so there are not really any frills but that's not what you come here for. It's for freshwater rock pools, river swimming, mini cliff jumping and a bunch of different outdoor activities. A couple of days here was perfect!

Room Tip: We chose a private upstairs and had a better breeze at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpragalz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
10.2 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
0.5 mi away
Art Deco Beach
Art Deco Beach
#17 of 22 in La Ceiba
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
58 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villas Pico Bonito
Villas Pico Bonito
#1 of 19 in La Ceiba
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle River Lodge

Property: Jungle River Lodge
Address: Avenida Morazan | P.O. Box 471, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle River is a natural escape from the City and we offer diferents tours option, bar, restaurant, and rock pools.best option in La Ceiba for relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Jungle River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle River Hotel La Ceiba
Jungle River Lodge Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing