We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's fine, but not worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The staff was friendly, it's right on the beach, clean rooms, and a good pool. That said, for one of the most expensive hotels in the area, I can't tell what the extra pricing was for. The rooms weren't anything special, the gym was bare bones, and the club behind the hotel blasted music all night. All of that would have been fine if I was staying in a standard hotel, but at that price, I'd have expected better.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueTraveller711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 126 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed here as part of a package deal, so I didn't have a choice of where to stay. The hotel clearly has seen better days. The front lobby area is good. The front desk personnel were helpful but didn't have the demeanor of a top hotel. The stairs in the lobby go to a second floor seating area with access to a large balcony overlooking the pool and ocean.

The best part of the hotel is the pool area, although this is largely ruined during the day and evening by the poolside music and TVs (must they be everywhere?!?). I enjoyed the early morning sitting by at a table over looking the beach. There's also a few tables where meals from the restaurant can be eaten.

Our package included the breakfast buffet, which was always the same average food -- beans, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, fried plantain, sausage, cheese, corn flakes and milk, toast, butter and jelly, plus juices, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Note that you can ask for other juices besides those at the buffet. The refried beans tasted like they used the sausage grease. One day the buffet wasn't available, so we had the choice of 4 set meals.

Due to reading other reviews, we requested and were given rooms near the ocean on the first floor as far from the club as possible. The crashing of the waves was a plus.The room and beds were OK. The bathroom was kept clean, although there were unsightly cracks under the sink, and the sink drain was a rather disgusting black color. The bathroom light started off dim, but eventually got bright. A large bottle of water was provided daily. The shower water was extremely hard, requiring a lot of soap to get a good lather.

Exploring the hotel, I found an internet room with 2 dated computers on the third floor. There's also an exercise room with a few peices of average equipment. My big find was climbing the stairs to the fourth floor in the back corner where from time to time I went for some solitude and enjoyed a decent view through somewhat dirty windows.

Security is a proper concern in Honduras. The hotel had an armed guard patroling the beach, even in the middle of the night. We were warmed not to proceed south on the beach past the adjoining hotel.

Overall we had a nice stay. If I were to come back again and had a choice, I'd choose to stay elsewhere. It just seems wrong to pay 4 star prices for what it basically a 3 star hotel, due to the little things -- cracks, unkept and worn areas -- that should be improved.

Room Tip: Oceanside rooms to the north and away from the pool will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RTW_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We were using La Ceiba as a base for various ecotourism excursions, and this hotel was clean and safe and was able to help us arrange our travels.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

It’s the best hotel in town and you pay accordingly -around $130. For that you get a nice room in an international standard hotel. Its right on the beach, which the hotel obviously clean regularly, and within walking distance of bars and restaurants in La Ceiba’s Zona Vida nightlife district. I’d read reviews saying that some rooms get a lot of noise from an adjoining bar and had requested a quiet room (rooms at the front facing the ocean). This wasn’t necessary though as the bar was closed for refurbishment (reopens March 2012). Its an outdoor bar and is right next to the hotel so I guess rooms at the rear could be noisy. The room was a decent size, clean and functional (though I did find a small cockroach in the bathroom during the night). I was actually sick on the day we stayed at the hotel and I was thankful to be staying in such a nice room with balcony overlooking the ocean. Theres also a nice pool and poolside bar. The staff were friendly and helpful and some spoke English. If you want a safe option in La Ceiba look no further than Qunita Real.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is a very average hotel. I would try somewhere else on a future visit.

Pros. It has a great location on the beach. The pool area is lovely. There is free wifi in the rooms and also two free computers for guest use. The dinner menu in the restaurant is good. The rooms are a good size. Good selection of channels on TV.

Cons. The beach is dirty and the sea was muddy when I was there...I assume from runoff from a local river. There was no breakfast buffet, just a choice of three very meagre set menus. Breakfast service was as bad as I have seen anywhere... requests for menu, coffee etc ignored although there were only 6 diners present. Coffee served stone cold. Hotel decor is tacky with cheap furniture and schock artwork, No room safe or coffee maker. Loud music till midnight.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I am expatriate (to Honduras) progeny and have been slumming [er] La Ceiba for the better part of my life. I watched this hotel being built, and it was awe-inspiring. The pool is lovely (though WTF is going on with those creepy gnomes in the kiddie-side?) and the atmosphere is ideal for a breakfast or lunch meeting. The food is ho-hum, but so is most is in this city, so I'm hesitant to slam. It's okay, basically.

But last week, against every fiber of my constitution (I was with someone else) I stayed in a room.

And yeah, I understand that it feels clean and safe and whatever, and that US$130 isn't exactly highway robbery to your average (North) American. Got it.

BUT, all I could think of as I puffed a Belmont like some rat in the corner of the 9-foot cement-sided patio (south-facing, toward the trashy lot behind La Palapa) was "Why am I not at Villas Pico Bonito? Or frankly any place up on the Cangrejal river, gazing upon nature, and paying half the price...?)

Or -for heaven's sake- the Hotel Paris. Jeez. At least it's cheaper and I don't have to worry about getting hit on by awkward Americans (who stay at LQR because they can't speak Spanish) with cigar ash on their shirts and dollar bills falling out of their pockets.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lunarhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Understand this review in the context of the city and the country! And also make certain that you have the correct hotel - there is another (worse) hotel in La Ceiba called "La Quinta" - this is the "Quinta Real". If you arrive and can not see the sea, then you are not at the Quinta Real!

As the other reviews point out, there are clubs next door and close by this hotel - so if you are here on a weekend, keep the noise in mind. During the week all is generally quiet, but Friday and Saturday nights are going to be a little noisy. There are rooms away from the noise if you ask for them.

The hotel is very close to what American travelers will expect. Some of the staff speaks English very well, so if your Spanish is wobbly, don't worry. The staff training is apparent and they try their best to provide top-flight service. The "gym" is a typically small room and the internet service works well enough.

The restaurant breakfast buffet is a big, big meal! Get there early and hungry - you will eat until you burst! The pool is fun and our kids (teens) loved it. The tiki bar at the pool will keep everyone refreshed. The grounds are nicely manicured and lead out to the public beach. Most of the beaches in La Ceiba are pretty gross, but the hotel seems to do their best to keep this area of the beach clean. I would suggest you only swim in the pool, but you can lounge on the beach in hotel chair at hotel cabanas.

If you are in La Ceiba for a few days, this hotel will give you a nice, "near-resort" feel and value. I don't think there is enough here to keep you happy for more than a few days, but it is definitely the nicest thing going in La Ceiba. Check in, stay close to the hotel, and relax!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to be on the side with the ocean and beach. You will have a nice view and less noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlosfrijoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Hotel
La Quinta Hotel
#14 of 22 in La Ceiba
67 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#9 of 22 in La Ceiba
87 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
88 reviews
1.2 mi away
Art Deco Beach
Art Deco Beach
#18 of 22 in La Ceiba
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center

Address: Bo. La Isla, Zona Viva | Between Ave. 15 de Sept. and Ave. Victor Hugo, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range: $106 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Real Hotel La Ceiba
Quinta Real Hotel And Convention Center Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing