We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far from everything, poor service and mediocre rooms. Not too clean, either.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Helen's Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Ceiba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Helen's Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Far from everything, poor service and mediocre rooms. Not too clean, either.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

We arrived late at night and there was nobody at the reception to greet us. It took literally over a half an hour to get somebody with any brains to get us a room.

We got a larger bungalow, but were still pretty disappointed. Bed was uncomfortable, place didn't seem too clean, and furniture was pretty old.

Pool looked disgusting, food was all deep-fried.

It took about a half hour to get from La Ceiba to Villa Helens, same time to get to the Pier to board the ferries to Utila and Roatan. I would have rather stayed closer to town or the Pier, especially since we didn't get any beach view or a decent room.

If ever back in La Ceiba, would definitely avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quebad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
27
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

Super helpful and friendly owners Helen and Jack. We stayed in Room #6 with a fantastic balcony and view of the water. Large air conditioned room with king size bed, large bathroom and fridge. The pool and hammocks were refreshing.
The hotel is a 20 minute taxi ride east of La Ceiba (around 300 Lempiras/$15USD).
Without a car you are basically restricted to the hotel property unless you take a long walk or taxi into Sambo Creek.
The food was average and the dinner hours ended by 6pm.
Ask for one of the 2 rooms with the balcony on the upper floor.
Overall we loved it for the day of relaxation we were looking for.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

We had a great experience at Villa Helen's! We had a group of 12 and Jack made everything incredibly easy for us! Including scheduling tours and meeting everyone's specific needs. Because we were in a large group some of us stayed in the hotel part and others stayed in the cabins. I think the hotel rooms are definitely nicer than the cabins. The service is great and could not be more friendly and personal! We plan on coming back again this summer and are looking forward to it!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sciz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

From the other reviews I would think this hotel was fabulous, I wonder if previous reviewers had very low expectations for their lodging. For the price range most was okay, but not be any means great.
The best part of the stay were Helen the owner, and Jack the manager. They were incredibly friendly and helpful. They arranged tours for us and took care of the problems in the room immediately.

We stayed in the Kitchenette cabin, which is by far the nicest of the cabins. The other units seemed depressing, the one we had was somewhat cheerful.

The bathroom was disgusting. The soap dish in the shower fell off the wall a long time ago it seems and the soap dish above the sink appears to have never been cleaned. Okay, I say to myself, I get what I pay for and take it in stride. What I could not tolerate was the sewage smell backing up into the cottage. In order to get it to go away we had to run the shower and make sure there was water in the shower drain after each flushing of the toilet.

The restaurant was very good with a wide selection of typical Honduran food. I highly recommend the restaurant.

I had asked before we came if there was internet service available for the guests, I was depending on booking our flight from La Ceiba to Roatan from there. I got to the hotel and the internet was not working at all. There was a Tico wireless adapter there, that I now know I could have used in the USB port of my laptop and I would have gotten on. They tried their best to help but nothing they knew how to do work. Jack was super, still, I was not able to get on line.

There are two pools, there are no chairs around the pool to lie in the sun. The pool is in the restaurant area so to sit at the pool you sit in the restaurant under the roof. The hammocks look out at the beach and are heavenly. There are no chairs on the beach.

The air conditioner in our unit had the buttons all missing. We were told to stick the room key into the holes to get the unit to turn on and to adjust the temperature. I did get the hang of it, worried about getting electrocuted but was more afraid of the bugs if we were to sleep with the windows open.

This was a challenging stay for us, but it did match the price. I don’t get where the raves are coming from. We stayed at other hotels in Honduras for just a little more money and got much better and more comfortable accommodations.

This is truly a no frills hotel that matches the price.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IamMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

Villa Helen is a charmer with all the flavor Honduras has to offer. While the decor of our room was just adequate, the cleanliness, helpfulness and atmosphere of the surroundings feel like you are in someone's home. The restaurant is excellent, which is good because there is not too much nearby that is easily accessible. The locals stop by each day and evening to chat and hang out. There is a clean beach and a few small swimming pools. You've got to see it and experience the whole thing! Being there for 1 week, allowed us to feel like family, not tourists. The only drawback is that it is difficult to get to the Pico Bonito area for hiking or rafting without a car or expensive taxi ride.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knitcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2009

A good little hotel for the price. Jack was great, spoke very good English and was very helpful. The standard rooms are very small and no view. The 2 suites are much larger and have great view. The cabins in the back look great and have kitchens. I would advise renting a car. The hotel is some what isolated and they close on Monday thru Wednesday at 6:00 PM. Jack and Helen can advise you on some great restaurant's in the area

  • Liked — The Staff was great.
  • Disliked — Closing at 6 pm Mon thru Wed.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

I just came back from this little gem on the beach in Sambo Creek and miss it already. The owner is a great guy; helpful, friendly and makes a mean coffee in the mornings. The atmosphere is relaxed and safe since the owner hires people to watch over your car and room at nights - not that Sambo Creek is really dangerous - but if you’re renting a car - it does make you feel a little extra secure in case you are a worrier. _

The hotel is about a 40 minute drive from the airport in La Ceiba - but I was advise people traveling on their own in this part of Honduras to skip staying right in town (La Ceiba). The beaches are dirty and by this I mean, glass, pieces of scrap metal and all sorts of garbage are strewn about everywhere on La Ceiba's beaches. By contrast, Sambo Creek is cleaner and albeit more remote, worth the drive for the clean beaches and quiet, relaxed atmosphere. It's also a great jumping off point to go to Cayos Cochinos - beautiful islands an hour off of Sambo Creek's beaches. (The owner of Helen's can help you arrange a boat for $30 US per person - totally worth it).

The rooms are super clean, the bathroom spacious and if you splurge and spend $10 more per night, you can stay in a big cabin with a living room and a kitchen. Food in Honduras is just ok, unless you go crazy for fish every night, so the kitchen allows you to cook whatever you like. A huge modern grocery store is located 20 min from the hotel on the way back to la Ceiba where you can buy everything you need including cheap, amazing coffee beans you can bring home as souvenirs.
No complaints about Helen's - inexpensive, clean, safe, friendly, beautiful beach: how can you beat that on your holiday? :)

  • Liked — Beautiful beach and awsome owner.
  • Disliked — the small half a km road getting to the hotel from the hwy is not great - owner is working on fixing it.
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RuinHuntress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#5 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Helen's Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Helen's Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Villa Helen's Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Yards Pass the Sambo Creek Exit 200 | Sambo Creek (La Ceiba), La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We accommodate our guests with beautiful beachfront suites, comfortable bedrooms of varying sizes and fully-equipped cabins, ocean view restaurant, bar services, internet access, DirecTV, A/C in every room, laundry service, massages, Jacuzzi and English, Spanish or French service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Helen's Hotel & Restaurant Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing