We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to relax”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Ceiba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Helen's Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Reviewed January 6, 2013

we have enjoyed staying and eating at helen's many times over the years. My favorite on the menu is the garlic conch and my wife the ceviche. we enjoy just being able to relax in a hammock. The food usually takes a while to come out as they prepare it for each guest. The pools are nice and so is the small pool filled with turtles.
we look foward to our next visit.

Room Tip: if you want an ocean view choose one of the 2 upstairs rooms with a balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank honduras1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Villa Helen's Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 67 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We didn't stay here but went out of our way to eat here due to the great reviews. We were poorly disappointed. The drinks were made with artificial sugar, the meal took over an hour to be served and when it came... the club sandwich toast was old, filling awful and chips had been recooked and were cold. The ceviche fish had not been smoked sufficiently and the hamburger was half a cm thin and was tiny. We left hungry and disappointed. I wish we hadn't read the reviews - and only hope the day we went the normal chef was off sick. This is the only conclusion we can come to. As a place- it was beautiful!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank thelittlegecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Had a pleasant stay in a room with private balcony at Villa Helens outside of Sambo Creek. No problem with making the reservation by email. Jack and his staff were all very pleasant. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable and had a mini-fridge which was very helpful. Also appreciated that Villa Helens had a good back up generator...except for the wifi being unavailable, we had no idea that the electricity was out for the better part of the day because the generator let us use everything in the room (hot shower etc) without interruption. Wifi was accessible the rest of our stay.

Nice clean beach out front of the hotel. Water wasn't rough when we were there, but it does have some sand/silt which means the water isn't transparent turquoise.

We only ate breakfast (and had a couple beers) at the restaurant which was fine.

Be aware that there are no pulperias/bodegas very near Villa Helens so bring snacks etc or eat in the hotel or in the few other hotel restaurants nearby. The village of Sambo Creek is approx 15 minutes along the beach. Good seafood restaurant there and small grocery stores there, but not sure you'd want to be coming back to Villa Helens at night.

Also be aware that the hotel is further than one would expect from the main highway along the north coast. We initially walked along the highway from the drop off at Sambo Creek and it was probably at least 1K till we found the hotel...and not a whole lot of signage along the way. Jack, the owner, was kind enough to give us a ride to the main road when we were leaving.

And don't miss a trip out to the Cayo Cochinos...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saya_Senang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a great stay at Villa Helen’s. The rooms were nice, the food was great, and the two pools were great to hang out in. The staff at Villa Helen’s was very accommodating of our big group. You should know before visiting that the restaurant closes fairly early and the hotel is located in Sambo Creek which is not walkable to other attractions.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jeanne2778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This place was cute with a pool & beach front. They had a nice atmosphere by the beach where you can sit and eat dinner. cute villas with nice air conditoning & spacious. nice place! the owner was nice and very helpful. the beach was ok. kind of dirty and the ocean was very rough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JENAS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at Villa Helen's while visiting with family and friends for 2 weeks. Our overall experience was positive. We stayed in a two bedroom villa, which included a little living area and kitchenette. Jack and his staff was wonderful and very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay thre again. The accommodations were not 5 star, but adequate for our needs. There were 2 nice pools and the beach was steps away. We also felt safe in that area of La Ceiba. The only things I didn't like was the beach was a little dirty and the waves were rough. However my kids loved the crashing waves. I noticed ants on the kitchen counter and in one of the beds, however after I spoke with Jack, I didn't notice them again. Also we were not provided with small hand towels or wash clothes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

All in all this place was quite comfortable and did the job for our 3 night stay, especially since we just showed up at the place and were lucky to get a room. However, my only complaint was that the place was on military hours or something, as when we arrived about 6:45 PM there was no food available and we were lucky enough to be able to scrounge up a few drinks before they shut the whole operation down for the night. I mean, shutting down your restaurant at 6:30?? I would have let that slide a little more if the owners would have gone out of their way a tad to provide us with ANYTHING to eat, but this was not the case. Luckily, some lady who was talking about buying up Honduras real estate the whole time (there were a lot of those, I found, in this part of the world compared to Lago Do Yojua, where we had just come from) was kind enough to go get some cheese and cracker packs for us.

Aside from the first impressions, Jack and his bus. partner were good overall. They even let us hitch a ride into town, and on the day we left dropped us off at Sambo Creek Zip- line (awesome, btw!!) on our way out. That we really appreciated.

Just a warning to some people in advance, who may end up showing up there at the time of day that we did. Go prepared!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raregroover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carnaval
Hotel Carnaval
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Art Deco Beach
Art Deco Beach
#20 of 22 in La Ceiba
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Helen's Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Helen's Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Yards Pass the Sambo Creek Exit 200 | Sambo Creek (La Ceiba), La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range: $20 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We accommodate our guests with beautiful beachfront suites, comfortable bedrooms of varying sizes and fully-equipped cabins, ocean view restaurant, bar services, internet access, DirecTV, A/C in every room, laundry service, massages, Jacuzzi and English, Spanish or French service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Helen's Hotel & Restaurant Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing