We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice chritmass vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice chritmass vacation”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Dec21-29 2012,
We spent our nice Christmas vacation at Palma Real . The staffs are very helpful and very polite. Dorothy and David are very nice. Lobby and Cafeteria are new renovated by very famous artist in Honduras and Nicaragua, look gorgeous. Swimming pools are with new tiles. The sea is warm but a little bit wavy, necessary to go further, it is not deep. The room was ok, but washroom is required to be renovated, but still ok. Food is descend, not a lot of choices, but possibly to find something good. There were a lot of excursions: Cayos Cochinons are interesting, Jungle Spa is amazing and others. So we had good time

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vira_tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    214
    109
    57
    44
See reviews for
166
141
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Hadn't been back to this place in a looong while. Food and service are average. Rooms and facilities need lots of renovations. Our 3 rooms had water pouring from the ceiling. Don't think i'll come back to this here. I'm sure they lost the Barcelo branding they used to have cause they weren't meeting standards...just an assumption.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meli_hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The buildings are nice, but standard local problems apply. Wifi is sketchy to non-existant, hot water/cold water is hit or miss (no cold is the worst, because the hot is crazy hot), and AC is fifty-fifty, if you constantly badger the staff (if you don't, you may never have AC). That being said, for the money, the food is decent, the staff is friendly and will try to help, and Animacion (entertainers) are a lot of fun. Trips to cayos from the hotel are great, although it is cheaper to get yourself to the hot springs or whitewater rafting, I dont recommend booking these through the staff. Once the new building is built, things might improve, but the hotel needs some major investment in infrastructure to ever be high quality. Overall, if you dont need all the amenities, La Palma Real is a decent deal.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I booked 3 villas for our church mission trip in August 2012. I have to admit I didn't realize what a luxury the villas would be for our mission trip.

I primarily booked the villas because of the great security and the fact that renting villas was cheaper than individual hotel rooms in downtown La Ceiba.

First, I need to point out that we had several children and teens on the mission trip so security was our primary focus. I think security was one of the primary focuses at the Palma Real. We had to sign-in to get on the property and we even had drivers come to pick us up and they took their ID's from them. Security on the property was also very strict. The armed guards walk past the villas every 20 - 30 minutes or so. We were stopped when we were walking to the pools SEVERAL times (they were very friendly - but definitely wanted to know who you were and where you were staying). Several times they even walked past the front doors. The first couple days we were even questioned at the pool. I was VERY happy that they have such strict security.

From the beginning of the trip (where we got our keys) -- we were treated like royalty. I wish I remembered the name guy who greeted us when we got there because he was very helpful and spoke perfect English. Everyone we ran into spoke really good English. We spoke with Larisa - the property manager through emails and then in person and she was great to work with -- I would definitely contact her if you wanted to make a reservation. She does have email and responds quickly.

The property was very well groomed and the villas were beautifully decorated and had all the amenities that you could wish for. We did have an issue with the air conditioner one day and Larisa took care of it promptly. The power also went out several times -- but it went out in the whole city -- just be prepared that that is a possibility. Just be aware that the water in some villas is purified and not in others -- they do provide the bottled water but don't drink the water in the shower if it's not purified! No one in our team of 15 got sick from the water but we were careful.

We did not take advantage of the meal plan but some from our group looked at the buffet and said it looked amazing. Just keep in mind that if you are looking for American food (like in the grocery store) - you need to be prepared to pay a high price for it. We left super early for our mission trip work and bought things at the super market for breakfast in the villa and we paid $6 for a small box of fruit loops and around $3 for a gallon of milk. We were really astonished at the prices of food at the supermarkets.

The pools and beaches were very clean. We saw them cleaning the beach one morning and the pool was right outside our villa. It was always clean -- sometimes it would turn a little green from a whole day of rain (that's to be expected) but it was quickly remedied when the rain stopped. There are so many pools, I can't imagine you would get bored even if the water park isn't open. There were not many people but we really enjoyed the privacy. We were gone for about 8 - 10 hours a day but the time we were there was amazing. I would highly recommend it for families, missionaries, couples, etc.

The only negative is the road from La Ceiba out to the hotel. As a cautious American driver with kids, it was a little harrowing, but nothing a good driver can't handle. It actually isn't a very long trip to La Ceiba, so if you need something it's not too far -- just far enough away to feel like you have your own secluded piece of paradise.

Room Tip: The villas were amazing -- very private and spacious. Try to get one near the pools -- some are &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

we visited this hotel, loved the decoration, beautiful property, very good food (sopa de jaiba buenisima) but unfortunately the water park and shows only operate on the weekends (we were there monday and tuesday) the hotel was almost empty, we were the only one at the Karaoke and dance floor. very relaxing but with no much to do, we played pool only, the actual swimming pool was beautiful but the beach water was not. this is the perfect place to go to los cayos cochinos. overall not bad, expected a lot more....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

our stay at the property was awesome and the staff was even better. I would recommend this property to anyone going to Honduras. We only had one slight problem with the trip and that lasted about 2 minutes. Earlier in the morning we got a from the hotel to the ferry terminal and cost was only 20 dollars for the both of us. Later that day on the return we waited for a cab to bring us back but i needed to make a five minuted pit stop. Finally we get back to the hotel and the cab driver says to us that will be a $100 dollars. I told him no way and the cab on the way there was only $20. I got 2 members of the hotel and they both responded to me and the cab driver they at the most could only charge $30. With there help and no police involvement he was given the proper amount. The cab number 0193 and he is out of La Ceiba ......The rest of the cab drivers and people of Honduras were great. The hotel also provided great entertainment, Food and the grounds were spotless. Their prices for tours including white water rafting and zip lining are very reasonable we ended up doing both. Of course the bartenders kept the drinks coming and were great.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room from a building left or right of the main building they come with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Taronis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roatan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My children and I spent the weekend at Palma Real and had a ball! The hotel is clean and bright.The pools and gardens are meticulously kept and the children loved the pools and the games. Te swim up bar with pina colodas (non alcohol for them of course) were such a novelty they loved it as well as the all day snack bar with nachos, sandwiches and other treats.The buffets were artisitc and delicious.The minigolf course was a hit with the kids as were the boogie boards to tackle the waves with. I found the hammocks strategically placed in cool places and got several snoozes. The waterpark is right beside the hotel and the kids had a ball there all day Saturday. I think this is a perfect hotel for those of us who live in Honduras and need a break as well as tourists who want a safe, fun time with their family. You can plan many exciting day trips our of the hotel as there are many interesting sites in the area. Its all inclusive feature makes it so easy for the kids to enjoy thmemselves without constantly asking you for more money and for parents to sit back and relax.Thanks Palmo Real.you are my favorite hotel in Honduras!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank condomlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
12.9 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
13.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
21.9 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#5 of 22 in La Ceiba
253 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#6 of 22 in La Ceiba
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas

Property: Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Address: Km. 20 Carretera La Ceiba-Trujillo, La Ceiba 9999, Honduras (Formerly Barcelo Palma Real Resort)
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Real Beach Resort And Villas
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas Hotel La Ceiba
Palma Real Beach Hotel
Palma Real Honduras
Palma Real Beach La Ceiba
Palma Real Hotel Honduras
Palma Real La Ceiba
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing