We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honduran Paradise- This must be Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This small eco friendly lodge of 22 cabins is a bird watching paradise with 408 different birds who call this lodge home. From the second you walk into the lobby and are offered a cold towel and a welcome beverage the experience just keeps getting better. The staff are friendly, efficient and are there to ensure every need is met! The Chef, restaurant and the Serving Staff are AMAZING! We actually used the adjective orgasmic to describe some of the food. The porches of the lodge and restaurant provide a place to relax as well as bird watch and meet your fellow guests. The local naturalist guides are Amazing, especially Jose. The cabins have every thing you need and the amenities are wonderful. The grounds are a gardeners paradise. Birds abound at every angle. Carlos took care of us in the Morning and Donello at night, great service with a Smile!

Room Tip: We had cabin 21, one of the farthest from the lodge. We loved sleeping to the sound of the rushing r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TVL4Ever3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful comments. We appreciate the kind words and are delighted that we were able to make your experience memorable.

Please do visit us again and we will do our best to satisfy your every wish. Interesting choice of words to describe our food!! We must definitely agree.

Sincerely,
The Team at Pico Bonito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 387 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our 5th visit to the Lodge and we look forward to many more! The entire experience is first rate! The cabins provide serene comfort with good beds, hot showers, nice linens, robes, slippers, etc. the walkways are lovely and well tended. The pool area is gorgeous as is the lodge itself. The restaurant has great food, lovely ambience and a wonderful, helpful staff. From the welcome drink to departure, the entire staff makes sure you are well cared for.

Then, of course, there are the birds! Spectacular! The self guided hikes are beautiful, but the guides add a whole new experience. They are so knowledgeable and accommodating. As an avid birder, this is really why I come over and over. What fun! For those who aren't hikers, there are plenty of birds to be seen from the restaurant and pool areas or from the comfort of your private hammock on the deck of your cabin.

I almost forgot to mention the natural swimming holes. FabulousM

Room Tip: Ask for a room along the river trail by the feeders. But they're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicosmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Friends,

We appreciate your good comments and you are always welcome to your second home!

Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.

We hope that you will continue to make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.

Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Since our arrival Rolando gaved us proper instructions on were to park and how the security was inside the hotel. We actually arrived by ourselves but they can perfectly pick you up at the airport. The staff at front desk were very nice and welcoming. The room we had was perfect had lots of big city amenities which make our stay more pleasurable. My husband made reservations for a couples dinner, unfortunately it rained so we didnt had it at the Corinto Deck instead they nicely arranged it inside the restaurant. Danilo served us that night and he was so kind and proper. He even gaved us coconut bread for us to take. (Because its delicious). We did make the adventure to make the Loop Trail by ourselves we got lost twice so we recommend you take a guide. But we have a map so in the end we made it through. Take water and the proper gear. Overall our stay was wonderful and we highly recommend it.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank jtcap2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.

We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.

Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in early March. As an avid birder, Pico Bonito had long been on her wish list for places to visit. An unexpected week off in our month-long mission trip provided this opportunity, and we hopped on it. The time there was delightful in every way - superb birding, outstanding guides on her early AM birding hikes (Jose was simply great and his English fluency an added plus!), great birding right on the lush grounds as well during the rest of the days. Our accommodations were excellent, the restaurant very good (best cordon bleu we've ever eaten!), the staff friendly and helpful, and the other guests congenial. We'd love to return for a second visit!

Room Tip: Room 2 is conveniently close to everything - pool, restaurant and main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anchises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for the great review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience at the Lodge at Pico Bonito.

We hope to see you soon in our little piece of paradise.

Warm Regards,
The Team at Pico Bonito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed here on a package that included meals and activities. We enjoyed them all - although the hike to Unbeleavable Falls was challenging. The cabins were spacious and comfortable. Only suggeston is a smal fridge in the room to keep water chilled. The staff was very freindly. We liked the food quite a bit, and they were able to accomadate a gluten-free diet. The grounds were fantastic. Always felt safe. And of course we liked all the birds and other creatures! The place is expensive, though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lexfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful comments. We appreciate the kind words and are delighted that we were able to make your experience memorable.

We hope you will visit us again soon in our little piece of paradise.

Sincerely,
The Team at Pico Bonito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My husband and I (both in our 30s) came here for 9 days without our toddler. This was a truly wonderful place and we have stayed all over central america in various other jungle lodges. Edgar Escoto, the bird guide, was phenomenal. Danillo, our waiter most nights, was terrific. The ladies at the front desk were always helpful and smiling. The cleaning ladies were spectacular...tip them!! Massage was good too.

We had 2 issues: 1- this is a nature retreat and smoking was allowed on individual cabin decks and in the public restaurant including cigars. This should not be permitted at least in the public areas. We have never encountered smokers at jungle lodges anywhere else (including in their own cabins).

2- the food is french and american. It was sad to be in the middle of the Honduran countryside and not be offered fresh lychee nuts or mangos or dinners of more rice/bean/plantain based traditional food. One of the things we like the most about traveling to central america is the local cuisine. As vegetarians our option every night was pasta primavera...a dish from an Olive Garden, not a SLH Honduran resort! The chef should explore the menu offered at Jicaro Ecolodge in Nicaragua for truly amazing local cuisine or another suggestion is invite Panchy of the garifuna village up to the Pico Bonito kitchen for some of her recipes!

Lisa and Brad, Pittsburgh, PA

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RepRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Friends,

We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.

Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We knew we were in for something special when we were greeted with a cool wash cloth and a drink to sip while we were registering. Once assigned a cabin our luggage was taken immediately to it almost without our knowing. Our cabin was in a spot that had the constant sound of the river running in the valley below which was very relaxing. We were there for the birders package and our guide German (pronounced Herman) didn’t disappoint. We were all over the property, finding a variety of birds, and our trips off the property were rewarding as well. Our trip to Cuero Y Salado Wildlife Refuge was great, loved the little train ride out and back, but would have loved another hour in the boat to look for more birds. A special place that was very relaxing and pampered.

Room Tip: We loved the cabins that backed up to the valley with the sound of the river, but I think any cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A and B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful comments. We appreciate the kind words and are delighted that we were able to make your experience memorable.

We hope you will visit us again soon in our little piece of paradise.

Sincerely,
The Team at Pico Bonito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
10.4 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
10.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
9.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#5 of 22 in La Ceiba
256 reviews
21.9 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito

Address: Ap 710, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range: $209 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the Pico Bonito National Park, The Lodge at Pico Bonito seamlessly combines nature and luxurious comfort. The luxury eco-lodge located on the Caribbean coast of Honduras near La Ceiba is a member ofSmall Luxury Hotels of the World. The Lodge offers the adventure of the outdoors, the beauty of the rainforest, and the personal service and luxury of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba
Hotel At Pico Bonito
At Pico Bonito Hotel
The Lodge And Spa At Pico Bonito Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing