We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A birder's dream; a bit of paradise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Certificate of Excellence
Watchung, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A birder's dream; a bit of paradise.”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had a wonderful visit last week, as part of the group from Victor Emanuel Nature Tours. Right on the grounds, so many life birds (Tawny-winged Woodcreeper, Black-throated Shrike-Tanager, and Sunbittern among them!) as well as hundreds of old feathered friends. Our cabin was beautiful: hardwood floors, updated bathroom, ample closet and storage space. The bathrobes and slippers were a nice touch. We thoroughly enjoyed having a little gecko patrolling the shower, whom we promptly named "Shower Dude". Screens and shutters on the windows let us adjust air flow to our liking. We slept most nights with the shutters open and just the ceiling fans on, although the A/C was helpful when we came back from our long birding treks. The food was delicious, with a very nice selection for every meal. I'm glad we stayed 6 nights, as we were able to try nearly every menu item of interest and then enjoy our favorites again on our last day. Back at home, the scale is still reminding me of all those desserts we savored! Our local guide, German, was an excellent bird spotter. It was thanks to him that we found the Sunbittern at the "frog pond" near Tower 1. The staff were quite helpful with any requests we had, and seemed to melt into the background otherwise. It was such a treat to sit on the porch or take meals outside, watching the agoutis and myriad bird species visiting the feeders and flowers. We walked all sorts of trails, enjoying the forest sound, birds and critters. At night, falling asleep to the hoots of owls and little squeaks of Shower Dude was idyllic. Umbrellas were available at every cabin and the common areas, which were quite helpful for those drenching downpours that popped up occasionally. We've been dreaming of coming to The Lodge at Pico Bonito ever since we first became serious birders. It was everything we hoped for and more. What a sweet introduction to your beautiful country!

Room Tip: If you're a birder, go for Cabin #12. Friends stayed at that one and it overlooked soem fruitin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We appreciate the kind words and are delighted that we were able to make your experience memorable.

We hope you will visit us again soon in our little piece of paradise.

Sincerely,

The Team at Pico Bonito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    57
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
83
159
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
utah
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

In a tumultuous country, this is a little piece of Honduras heaven. We are North Americans living in San Pedro Sula for three years and this is truly a little piece of heaven here on earth. We have not had the privilege of staying as a guest in the hotel rooms but we make the 2 1/2 hour drive from San Pedro Sula to enjoy the food at the beautiful restaurant whenever our time will allow. When we have guests in town, this is where we bring them and it is always lovely at any time of year. There will always be something in bloom, plenty of birds, a wide variety of hummingbird species at all the feeders, and other wildlife. You can't go wrong with any menu item, between ourselves and our guests we have sampled many of them. All are delicious and the service alone is worth the drive. Reservations are recommended for the restaurant but are not necessary, it just makes the check through security a little quicker. If you come to the resort as a guest for the day without restaurant reservations, there is a 100 lempira visitor fee, which actually is a nice deal at the end of your day as you receive the 100 lempira back as a credit in the gift shop. Some of my favorite treasures from Honduras have come from the Honduras crafted gift shop at Pico Bonito. You can also visit the resort and enjoy their lunch and guided hike option. This is excellent with or without the rain as other reviewers have noted. We hiked a couple weeks ago in a monsoon and it was a great adventure. Bless our guides heart for taking us out in such weather. There are many reviews here, but wanted to share our perspective of enjoying a day visit . . . we highly recommend it! During our first visit we received a tour of the resort and the rooms do look lovely and the beds look very high quality. One of these first days we will have some vacation time and hope to spend it here at Pico Bonito.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkleinrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We went to the Lodge to escape the Mich. winter and to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. He found it online and mentioned in Audubon magazine as a birder's paradise--which it was! We did the birding package the Lodge offers and it was just what we wanted. We had a terrific young guide--Esdras--for 4 days of birding. Ask for him--he was terrific! The wait staff in the restaurant were top-notch and friendly. The food was delicious and the setting was lovely--an open air veranda with views of the mountains and the gardens. The grounds of the Lodge are amazing and you could spend several days exploring all of the property and hiking, swimming, and bird watching. We loved our cabin and the hammock on the porch. It was quiet and all we heard at night were the sounds of the river and the forest. As part of the package, you get to go to a manatee refuge and take a boat through the mangroves, which was great fun (including the little train you ride to get there). The town on Tela on the coast had gorgeous beaches and good restaurants. The visit to nearby Rio Santiago to see all of the hummingbirds and to hike their gardens was terrific too. James, the manager was helpful and friendly. We wished we had booked for longer so we could have done the rafting trip and the snorkeling offshore and the ruins at Copan--next time! A fabulous spot for birders and photographers, but also great for couples for a romantic get-away and for adventure lovers who like to explore new places. Honduras is a beautiful country and we never felt unsafe--all of the people we met were friendly and welcoming to visitors. We look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 18 and loved the quiet but it is on the outer edge of the cabins so a short walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bargriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.

Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel!
It is one of the small luxury hotels of the world and the room, to be fair, is not what you expect for this level of hotel. It is reasonably sized, but the bathroom is very small and the room is very dimly lit, however ......
The grounds are beautiful, extensive and well maintained, the staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble, the four poster bed is extraordinarily comfortable ( definitely worth paying the premium for the best room) and the restaurant is first class, not only for the superb food ( try the coffee and chile coated steak - to die for) but the service really is first class.
In that regard I must make particular mention of "Super" Mario, the best waiter, and superb barman Danilo, both of whom seemed to be able to find you anywhere in the grounds to offer libation.
Because you are in a rain forest, do not be surprised if your clothes feel a bit damp, they soon dry out !
Whilst here try the Cuero y Salado refuge trip. You certainly see more wildlife in Costa Rica, but this is so relaxed and gentle and you see the real Hondurous. You also receive an a la carte meal in the excellent Pico Bonito restaurant ( 3 courses, but it was far too much for us)
We are delighted we chose Pico Bonito and thoroughly recommend it to other travellers.
By the way, forget the nonsense you read about security in Hondurous, we have felt justifiably safe throughout our stay in this this wonderful country
Get here before tourism spoils it

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HSeeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Friends,

We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.

We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.

Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This Lodge is a find! I would highly recommend, it is in a beautiful setting with lots of activities to do both at and near by to the Lodge. We were there for 5 nights as we did their reef, rainforest & ruins package (which I would highly recommend as well, you spend 2 additional nights in Copan) but you could easily fill a week here. Wish we had more time as we were on the go non-stop.

The guides are top notch, a special thank you to Santiago, Elmer & Ezdras. The staff make you feel welcome and overall the food is good, but could have more local dishes available on the menu. The rooms are comfortable with ceiling fans and AC but with the humidity things tend to stay damp...but this is normal for any rainforest location so one should expect this. Loved the hammock on the deck, great place to just relax and listen to nature. We had a stand alone cabin which was very nice, also quite. I know many of the cabins are attached to another cabin and I did hear some others complaining about noise...so you may want to request one that is not attached if possible.

The birding is wonderful here, I have never seen so many types of hummingbirds, plus there are many other types of birds as well. This is especially a great place if you are into photography. I would recommend: the day trip to Cayos Cochinos (great snorkeling & the reefs are some of the best preserved I've seen), the day trip to Refugio Cuero y Salado/Ferrocarril National, and the early morning bird watching at the Lodge (ask for Santiago as your guide...you won't be disappointed!). The only activity that we did that I wouldn't recommend is the hike to the "unbelievable falls" unless you really are in shape...so don't let them tell you it is easy..it isn't!

As a side note we felt very safe in Honduras...I mention this as I was asked about safety in Honduras by a number of people. Don't be concerned about to travelling to this beautiful country!

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin that is not attached to another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We appreciate the kind words and are delighted that we were able to make your experience memorable.

We hope you will visit us again soon in our little piece of paradise.

Sincerely,
The Team at Pico Bonito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely lodge in a wonderful setting under the mountain range.the gardens are beautiful, bounded by fast flowing rivers.The rooms are all in the forest and very secluded, surprisingly no mosquitos.
The dining room provided very good food, and the staff there were helpful and pleasant.There is a good trail system, and the gardens have many different species of birds, agoutis are seen frequently too.
The rooms are very comfortable with fans and AC, but could do with upgrading in the bathroom area. The rooms tended to feel a bit damp and musty.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We appreciate the kind words and are delighted that we were able to make your experience memorable.

We hope you will visit us again soon in our little piece of paradise.

Sincerely,
The Team at Pico Bonito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This place is a real piece of heaven in a very beautiful part of the world. Though you can do adventurous activities from here, just relaxing in the gardens or by the pool and watching the hummingbirds whilst sipping a delicious cocktail was just as enjoyable.

I felt safe, well looked after and almost pampered during my 2 nights's stay. The staff are welcoming and very helpful. The rooms are beautiful and to drift off to sleep with the sounds of the jungle outside was quite an experience. Great restaurant too with a good menu and reasonably priced.

I traveled alone and it was fine but I imagine it would be best for couples, bird/nature lovers and families too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.

Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
10.4 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
10.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
9.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#9 of 22 in La Ceiba
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#6 of 22 in La Ceiba
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
254 reviews
21.9 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito

Property: The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Address: AP 710, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the Pico Bonito National Park, The Lodge at Pico Bonito seamlessly combines nature and luxurious comfort. The luxury eco-lodge located on the Caribbean coast of Honduras near La Ceiba is a member ofSmall Luxury Hotels of the World. The Lodge offers the adventure of the outdoors, the beauty of the rainforest, and the personal service and luxury of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba
Hotel At Pico Bonito
At Pico Bonito Hotel
The Lodge And Spa At Pico Bonito Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing