We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Sublime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Awesome experience! 3 nights in a standard cabin, no AC were comfy and were pampered by friendly, attentive staff. Great eats, beautifully kept grounds. Birds and wildlife galore, including Agutis cadging bananas from the restaurant porch, a troop of 7 coatis climbing their fav tree for the night against a blood Orange sunset, Oropendola and Toucans and hummers all over, a visit to our cabin by a white faced Spider monkey, amazing trip to Cuero y Salado river preserve where we got up close to Howler and Capuchin monkey troops, a crocodile. Palm oil groves, pineapple and cocao and coconut plantations, waterfalls, extreme mountain hiking, local villages---too many sights and sounds to record. See it while you can and stay at the Lodge in the middle of it all!

Room Tip: Any cabin- they all have feeders nearby, they're all close to the main lodge, pool, dining etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlaHomeGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 387 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a beautifully landscaped, well designed, luxury lodge set in the lush tropical jungle of Pico Bonito National Park. The cabins (approx 20) were well appointed with a coffee maker, water bottles, fluffy towels, flashlight, robes, flip flops, ceiling fans, deck with seating as well as a hammock. Most cabins accommodated two guest rooms with a shared wall.

The service provided by the front desk staff was amazing. They made arrangements for transportation for our arrival and departure, even arranging the purchase of tickets for our departure flight from La Ceiba airport. When we arrived, it was well before the posted check-in time, but we were ushered to our cabin (welcome drink in hand), as soon as we signed in. We were even able to arrange an in-room massage with just a few hours notice. When we wanted to visit the town of La Ceiba (a 15 minute drive), they provided transportation. The staff, including waiters and bartenders, were very welcoming, friendly, and accommodating.

We visited in April & decided to reserve a cabin with air conditioning, but it wasn't really necessary.

The restaurant fare was excellent, but also very expensive. A nice meal in town would cost you about $15-20 including drinks, appetizer, taxes & gratuity. The prices on restaurant menu are quite a bit higher than that.

Even though this is in a quiet, sanctuary-like setting, there are many activities and tours to sign up for. We did all the non-guided hikes, including a trip to the swimming hole, which is highly recommended, but I wish we would've taken advantage of having a guide to help identify all the sounds, exotic plants, and to help us spot more wildlife. We also took the tour of the Wildlife Refuge (off-site), which included a 20 minute train ride and a 1 1/2 hour boat ride on the river. We saw howler monkeys and a few different species of birds, which was fascinating, but we missed seeing the manatees.

We visited for 3 days/2 nights, but felt like we should've stayed a week in order to take advantage of all the beauty there & to learn more about the wildlife, flora & fauna.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bret61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We just returned from a fantastic stay at the Lodge at Pico Bonito. We traveled with our 2 kids ages 6.5 years and 2.5 years and their every need was accommodated at the lodge. Our kids had a wonderful time exploring the lodge and its wildlife and birdlife, and cooling off in the swimming pool. The staff went over and beyond, the property was incredibly beautiful and the grounds full of exotic flora and fauna, the birding was right from the dining area, and a special mention to the amazing food especially the medallions crusted in coffee and chile!

We also did a trip to Cayos Cochinos which was superb. The snorkeling there was magical and the lunch at the Garifuna village very interesting.

Overall, any concerns we had about traveling to Honduras were laid to rest. It was super safe and there were no issues whatsoever. Honduras will not stay under the radar for long- go there and enjoy all the country has to offer now!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L0ve2travel2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This lodge is a wonderful escape , food is great and the staff were alway there and willing to do the extra to make your stay excellent . The area has so much to offer and we did not have enough time to explore it .One should stay at least three of four days .Excellent birding

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was our second visit to the Lodge at Pico Bonito and again, it was wonderful, relaxing and just plan terrific.

The staff is wonderful, their only schedule is YOUR schedule and they go to great lengths to make sure your every need is met and exceeded.

The restaurant is really first class and offers wonderful cuisine and beverages. Whether breakfast, lunch or dinner you will not be disappointed.

It is, for Honduras, an amazing place to visit and stay. It is not cheap however, it is worth the expense.

Whether bird watching (which can very successfully accomplished without moving from your table on the veranda), just wanting a quiet, beautiful break or a serious adventure it is all right at the "Lodge".

Room Tip: Try to get room 19 as it is the shortest walk from the Lodge, bar and restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ramehrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Me and my partner stumbled upon Pico Bonito with a groupon for 6 days and it was one of the most wonderful and restful weeks I was ever on. We had come after being in Mexico for a week and from the time we got there till the time we left we were treated like royalty. The wait staff couldn't do enough for us; they made sure you never went hungry no matter what time it was. Pico Bonito has acres and acres of land with waterfalls, exotic birds, monkeys, and quati right outside the bungalow. I saw tucan flying over water laden canyon and the sound of this magical bird called the Montezuma Orapendula that reverberated through this magical kingdom sealed it for me. We had a wonderful guide named Santos that took us around the property and brought us to cuero y salado where we saw and heard Howler Monkeys and at first it seemed there were tigers in the area. I would return to this amazing place and still think about the wonderful people and wildlife when I need to feel calm and relaxed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubydavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed 7 nights in early Feb. and purchased the birders package, which includes all meals and a birding guide . There is a special menu for the birders, which is more limited than the full menu. Their "Coffee and Red Chili Encrusted Tenderloin Medallions" dish was the best I've ever had. The fish was really great too. The food was plentiful and good with excellent presentation. A couple of nights they offered a "special" of roast lamb and another time a fillet. The last 2 nights they let us order off the regular menu. We tipped at every meal. I don't know if this was why we got special treatment or not, but, it couldn't hurt! The Lodge adds a 10% gratuity to the final bill, but this is divided among the 65 employees. The service was excellent and we thought it warranted a little something extra.
The bar prices were reasonable; Corona $4, House wine $5 and a rum punch $5.
Elmer was our guide everyday while there. He knew his birds and their calls and all the plants, flowers, history, etc. He was very pleasant to be with. He had a Swarovski scope, which the Lodge provided. If you do the Loop trail, you might want to bring your walking stick.
We took the little 100 yr. old narrow gauge train 6 miles to the Cuero y Salado refuge. It is the "little engine that could"! It is 2 open air metal cars that used to haul fruit. We spent 1 1/2 hours or so cruising the mangrove lagoon. The guide even pointed out a Jacana nest with 4 eggs floating on the vegetation, plus great views of 4 kinds of kingfishers and 7 kinds of herons and others. It was a fun trip.
We went to the new Rio Santiago Nature Resort one morning. They have over 150 individual hummingbird feeders with at least 12 different species of hummers seen.
Although it was rather pricey overall, we thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it heartily.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ColoradoOrchidgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
10.4 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
10.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
9.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#6 of 22 in La Ceiba
256 reviews
21.9 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito

Address: AP 710, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range: $210 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the Pico Bonito National Park, The Lodge at Pico Bonito seamlessly combines nature and luxurious comfort. The luxury eco-lodge located on the Caribbean coast of Honduras near La Ceiba is a member ofSmall Luxury Hotels of the World. The Lodge offers the adventure of the outdoors, the beauty of the rainforest, and the personal service and luxury of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba
Hotel At Pico Bonito
At Pico Bonito Hotel
The Lodge And Spa At Pico Bonito Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing