We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Cayman
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unbelievable...”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I booked this trip for a long weekend getaway at the recommendation of two of our neighbors. It was just perfect. Our cabin was very cute and private, the food was very good, oh and the COFFEE!!! I gave up coffee months ago but this stuff was delicious. The staff were super friendly and the guides were very knowlegeable. We ate sweet cacao beans right out of the pods (like that girl in the Kashi commercials), went hiking through the rainforrest, watched the hummingbirds, saw toucans and beautiful butterfiles, it was just beautiful. I sat at the main lodge one afternoon listening to the sounds of the river and just staring at the clouds form up in the cloud forrest and then dissapate and no one bothered me. For anyone that is overstressed and can't "tune out" this is a great place to escape and fall off the grid for a few days. We can't wait to go back. Breakfast is included daily and the prices for lunch and dinner are average. One trip and you won't soon forget it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alliexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Friends,

We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    57
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
83
159
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I booked a three day two night package with a deluxe room. The accommodations were excellent as was the entire grounds. Nice trails to hike with great streams to swim and cool off in. The birds and butterflies were lovely, and relaxing around the lodge was too easy. We got to see a margay (endangered cat) and that was a real treat. The staff was nice and eager to help. As noted by another reviewer, the only area for improvement is in dining. If you are going to charge western prices for a meal, then it needs to be of better quality. But overall we really enjoyed the lodge and have already recommended it to friends. And for those folks who complained about bugs and dirt, you are in a cloud forest - get over it.

Room Tip: Check out the packages that may include a deluxe room and other extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it. I assure you that we will strive to improve in our Restaurant Food and Service for when you visit us again!
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Marcela, Danilo, Selmer, and Mario (and others!!) made this rainforest escape with our 2 1/2 year old boy an unforgettable experience. A well mannered and engaging staff helped us corral our little man and keep him from ruining everyone else's piece of paradise.
A giant THANK YOU to everyone there.
The property itself is fantastically presented and well maintained. You are deep in the rain forest, but actvities of all stripes are easily available and well priced. In fact...trips such as cayos Cochinos is $50/pp cheaper here, than out on the bay islands!

I can't say enough nice things about this place. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldoc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We arrived at Pico Bonito the middle of Sept. 2012 on a hot humid day and were greeted with a ice cold wash cloth and ice cold water. We knew we were in Heaven! We were very fortunate that we were the only 4 in the lodge and we had a very attentive staff. Our own private piece of Paradise. It was very beautiful, the birding was great even at this time of year, the cabins were very comfortable, clean and cozy, the guides were excellent and the food was excellent. Everyone that works there made sure we had all we needed and they all had a lot of knowledge of their surroundings. We would recommend this to anyone that wants a quiet retreat in the jungle. Thank you to all that made our stay so wonderful. Dan and Judy

Room Tip: The connecting cabin worked well for our group of two couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcela8a, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Dan and Judy: Thank you very much for the great comments in regards to our little paradise in the middle of Pico Bonito wildlife reserve, we greatly appreciate them. I will extend your comments to our staff, they will be very happy to hear from you. We are delighted we were able to give you the holidays you were expecting.
We take great pride to maintain our standards of service and anticipate to our guest’s needs. Thank you for giving us the pat in the back with your comments; it’s always encouraging in keeping our standards high.
Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we all hope to welcome you again
Kind regards,
Marcela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a fantastic resort at the entrance to the Pico Bonito National Park. As soon as we walked in, every single person working at the Lodge treated us like royalty. The setting, service, food and rooms are all top-notch, and we couldn’t have asked for a better way to spend our one-year anniversary. It’s a place where you don’t mind being “trapped” in the middle of a rainstorm, because the resort allows you to be in the middle of the jungle without having to rough it. Enjoying a bottle of merlot sitting on wicker chairs while emerald hummingbirds buzz about in the pounding rain is a level of luxury and magic that is hard to beat. Wish we could have stayed longer. Would highly recommend the Lodge to anyone debating on a place to stay near the park or in La Ceiba.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcela8a, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear friends: Thank you very much for the great comments in regards to our little paradise in the middle of Pico Bonito wildlife reserve, we greatly appreciate them. I will extend your comments to our staff, they will be very happy to hear from you. We are delighted we were able to give you the holidays you were expecting.

We take great pride to maintain our standards of service and anticipate to our guest’s needs. Thank you for giving us the pat in the back with your comments; it’s always encouraging in keeping our standards high.

Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we all hope to welcome you again
Kind regards,
Marcela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The two nights vacation we had in La-Ceiba was very good. the lodges are located inside the Pico-Bonita preserved rain-forest, where it is possible to see some wild-life.
The rooms are clean and nice and the food in the restaurant is excellent. also, the staff are friendly and helpful. The atmosphere in the complex is serene and calm.
We took the complementary hike in the jungle and found the guide interesting the funny. also, he had good English, which is sometimes hard to find in Honduras.

However, September might not be the best time to travel due to the rain. The rain probably prevented us from seeing some typical jungle wild-life, like howler monkeys or Tucans.
Also, we found it hard to get use to "sleeping in the wild" - the typical jungle noises might be disturbing.
Lastly, we found it irritating that although the place is prestige, we had to pay for a cup of tea.

Room Tip: It is recommended to have a lodge near the office/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Honeydew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcela8a, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear friends, Thank you very much for the great comments in regards to our little paradise in the middle of Pico Bonito wildlife reserve, we greatly appreciate them. I will extend your comments to our staff, they will be very happy to hear from you.

Yes, sometimes the jungle could be a bit noisy specially after a long rain, animals just want to get out and make noise.

Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we all hope to welcome you again
Kind regards,
Marcela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Lovely private location to get back in tune with your self and nature. Absolutely gorgeous for any occasion!
From meditation, to hiking to special celebrations. Very attentive personnel ;) secluded bungalows with hammocks, you can lay back and listen to every bit of nature imaginable..or every rain drop.
I love this place!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moskitocoastdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcela8a, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you very much for the great comments in regards to our little paradise in the middle of Pico Bonito wildlife reserve, we greatly appreciate them.

Indeed, the Lodge is in a very special setting where you could enjoy nature at its best.

Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we all hope to welcoming you again
Kind regards
Marcela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
10.4 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
10.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
9.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#9 of 22 in La Ceiba
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#6 of 22 in La Ceiba
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
254 reviews
21.9 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito

Property: The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Address: AP 710, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the Pico Bonito National Park, The Lodge at Pico Bonito seamlessly combines nature and luxurious comfort. The luxury eco-lodge located on the Caribbean coast of Honduras near La Ceiba is a member ofSmall Luxury Hotels of the World. The Lodge offers the adventure of the outdoors, the beauty of the rainforest, and the personal service and luxury of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba
Hotel At Pico Bonito
At Pico Bonito Hotel
The Lodge And Spa At Pico Bonito Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing