We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lonely Planet is wrong on this hostel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Ceiba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banana Republic Guesthouse
Ranked #25 of 34 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lonely Planet is wrong on this hostel”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We've been traveling for 6 months now and this is the worst hostel we've ever stayed in. We found bedbugs in our room, asked for a different room, but when the guy of the hostel turned on the light we saw bedbugs on that bed as well. We ended up checking all beds in the dorms, but we saw the bedbug feces everywhere, it didn't look like the rooms were cleaned for a long time. We had a short night but luckily chose a good bed, cause we didn't get bitten.

The shower on the second floor and the sink on the first floor didn't work (there was no water). Also, the guy told us that they recently lost the key of the first room, but we read in these reviews that this key was missing a long time ago. The guy from the hostel was friendly, but didn't do anything about the bedbugs, didn't change the sheets, didn't warn anyone, he just watched tv. A shame that we didn't read these reviews before.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    10
    7
    27
See reviews for
1
14
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night only. You wouldn't stay here for any longer if you had any standards. There was no water, it only came on for a bit in the evening and a bit in the morning. One of the mattresses was on the floor, it was dirty, staff not very friendly. Oh and we were woken up at 5.30am by personnel and taxi drivers having loud conversations outside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5onthego2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Ceiba hotels

Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very basic and... uncharming. Friendly staff and pretty fast wifi.
For 20USD we got a private room for two with own bathroom. No sign of bedbugs as I remember but there were however ants in the room :|
Fine place to spend just one night to catch the early ferry boat to Utila. I do however feel that there should be better places to spend your 20 bucks

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank simon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I am generally a pretty picky person when it comes to hostels, so I'm surprised at how bad most peoples' experiences were here.

My girlfriend and I stayed in a private room and it was very clean, the bed was really comfortable, and there were lots of people around to socialize and share stories and experiences: somewhat of a rarity in Honduras (or at least in December?). We only stayed one night, but it was a lovely hostel with good staff, a secure property, and pretty decent location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MapleHoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We're actually staying here tonight, just came on this website to advise people not to come here and saw all the earlier bad reviews.
There is very little to commend this place. Our 'dorm' is the corridor, with no privacy or security. We were told there's no private rooms but all the other rooms on this floor are empty - maybe that's because those are the beds that have bed bugs and now they're not letting people stay in them; we checked our mattresses and they seem OK. The kitchen is right next-door (not that there's a door on it), and someone saw a rat in it earlier - it had been attracted to an unwashed pan on the stove. We told the guy working here but no-one's been up to wash the pan or clean the rat poo off the kitchen surfaces. The sink in the bathroom doesn't work, there's no tap to turn, and the shower has no head - I think the toilet doesn't have long left either.
I'm surprised that others have been saying 'at least it's cheap' - this is our first night in Honduras so, after coming from Guatemala, it seems like this country is going to be pricey if this place is cheap! (Current dorm bed price is L160, FYI.) The write-up in Lonely Planet is very out-of-date - I guess this place was nice once upon a time, it is a lovely old building, but it needs a bit of TLC before it could be considered a good option again.
But at least the wi-fi works well!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henrycovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I came here intending to stay one night and leave on the first ferry to Utila (what 99% of guests here do), however ending up staying a week. I stayed a week not because I loved the place, but because I met a captain of a sailboat and was helping him work on it in return for a free ride to Utila. So I spent days working on the boat, returning in the evening to sleep.

For this purpose, I found no problem with the guesthouse. It was cheap, the mattresses were comfortable and I slept fine (usually with earplugs) in the dorms. Though the staff seemed to like to watch TV with the volume turned way up--which was irritating.
I saw no evidence of bedbegs as other reviewers mentioned. The bathroom was clean, the shower very cold (though La Ceiba is hot). The WIFI was decent.

**I was bothered by the fact that they sold no water and had no water refill tanks in the hostel (I learned this the hard way when I had to walk, alone to the nearest open store, 8 minutes away, at 9 at night for water).

I feel that at one time, in its heyday, this was probably not a bad place--it has the potential. It seems at one time the kitchen was decent and there were computers to use (not anymore). **If you are not traveling alone (like me), try to get an upstairs private (the one with the balcony has a bathroom a double and a single bed). It was quite nice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwjubeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Erghhhhh! Please don't go to this place to stay, we were just chilling, sitting on the beds and my boyfriend found a bedbug! We weren't too sure if it was or not so googled it of course and it definitely was- the site showed us how to look for signs of them. Look for black dots (their faeces) in the cracks of the mattress- sure enough there were loads! We searched on other beds and they all had the same. When we told the staff member- he wasn't surprised, told us that they have had them before, we looked at some of the other matresses with him in one dorm and it was crawling with other bugs and the worst of it that he wanted us to stay on the bed underneath that one!!! I told him he needs to check and tell the other guests but he just sat and watched TV with his family.

Also, before hand we were in one room but the staff member couldn't find the key (it wasn't her fault, she was filling in for someone but they didn't set her up with the right information or even keys!) so we had to change rooms like 3 times (because of the bed bugs).

Very unhelpful staff- they didn't know where we can go, what we can do. Anyway- forget this place! There are other places to stay cheaply in La Ceiba- we even stayed in a hotel (very budget) for cheaper then in this place.

Oh and by the way- we did get bitten by the buggers!

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.0 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
0.0 mi away
Apart Hotel Pico Bonito
Apart Hotel Pico Bonito
#11 of 34 in La Ceiba
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Republic Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Republic Guesthouse

Property: Banana Republic Guesthouse
Address: Avenida La Republica, between 12th and 13th St. | Barrio Solares Nuevo, La Ceiba, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Banana Republic Guesthouse Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing