We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect layover ”
Review of Hotel El Estadio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel El Estadio
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I came to El Estadio when one of the other hostel's in town was completely locked up and vacant ... at 3 in the afternoon. The hostel had superb wifi, a desktop computer for free use, a small bar, and a tv. The dorms were pretty standard and every guest is given a fresh towel and a bar of soap. The washroom on the main floor is a little small, but I saw one of the washrooms upstairs and it was definitely more spacious.
The best part of this hostel is how accommodating the owner and his workers are. He offers taxi rides for a small fee and drove me to my 5am bus departure with enthusiasm. There were two British guys staying at the same time as me and were quite keen on watching a 6 am football match. The game wasn't on Honduran cable ... Surprise, but Peter linked the television up to the internet and had the game on for them in minutes. He also insisted we go to the final Honduran football match later that day at the stadium next door. The football game was so much fun and has come to be a highlight of my entire trip. Great customer service and excellent place if you're waiting for a bus or ferry.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
Thank memarevisited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 256 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were apprehensive at first because of the area but the hotel was clean and the owner Peter went out of his way to cater to us. Was very inexpensive and the cab driver who was a friend of the owner came back to take us to the ferry to go to Utila at 7:30 am. I would stay there again. Met some nice travelers there also.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yomobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The Hotel is very nice. Everything is clean and the staff is friendly. I stayed in the dorm. Even there towels and soap are provided. Even if it is houtside the rooms are always cool because of the AC. Peter is very friendly and helps you out if you have any question. By the way, Peter, if you read this, i have safely arrived in San Pedro, Adonis is a sincere and funny guy.
I`m looking forward to get back someday,
Robin from Germany

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTraveller119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I traveled in march 2014 from rio dulce, and arrived at night.
Chains on the door, and locks were enough to tell u about the safety here.
The guys running the place r super nice, treated me just like a friend visioning, great advice on where to go and when. There is a computer in the lobby, so perfect if u just like me have been disconnected for a while.
The dorm was clean. Only one path room down stairs, so shower early :)
All in all, good stop to go to Utila.
Nothing really to do around there, creepy streets and seems not that safe.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank AbdullaJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelestadio, Owner at Hotel El Estadio, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Hey fans how is it going ? Peter here again paying my dues, the reason why we have a lock on the gate at all times is because we're in a 3rd world country Honduras & we're responsible for your safety so i rather be safe than sorry, also this state of mind is the reason why no unusual stuff has ever happened in our history of running this business and may i add that i also live in the hotel. Also we're located right next to the city's international soccer stadium on a commercial zone ave, lights everywhere,how dodgy can this be? By the way to all our backpacker fans per your request we now have new lockers in our designated dorm rooms this add an extra layer of safety....See u soon mates....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I arrived at El Estadio in the beginning of the morning, tired of riding my motorbike for the last 3 days! Unfortunately all the rooms were booked. They only had dorm beds available, so I took that. The dorm was nice and clean, they even provided clean towels and a fresh bar of soap! Love that!

Pete, the owner took me on a tour to a place close to La Ceiba were you could do a zip line canopy tour, dip in hot mineral springs and get an awesome massage. Except for the zip line the massage en hot springs were exactly what I needed!

The next day I went to Isla Utila for a week and Pete arranged for my bike to be parked next door. Behind a fence next to the church. Because I didn't have a chain with me Pete bought one himself and chained my bike. That was really cool, he made a effort to keep my bike save while I was away!

El Estadio is a great place to stay! And if you like soccer, it is next door to the stadium! I saw a great match there!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Lars E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This place is cozy and laid back, but still professional. This place has hot showers, air conditioning and clean rooms. It is a very safe place to rest your head and in a great location. It is right next to the futbol stadium which seems to have weekly games on Saturday nights. It is also a short walk to "downtown" where there is all the shopping for food, and supplies needed, plus snorkeling gear. Peter was very helpful in setting up a boat to/from Cayos Cochinos and a ride to/from Sambo Creek (30min away) where the boat dock was. The islands were hard to stay away from and that is why I had to go back for a second time. The reefs are truly beautiful for snorkeling and the locals are very kind and welcoming. Next time I am in Honduras, this is where I'll be staying.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DNA831138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

just stayed at hotel el estadio a few weeks ago. after an all day bus ride from copan we got to la ceiba and it was already dark. we had booked a room for the night at hotel el estadio. i had emailed them to see about gettin there from the bus station but never got to check to see if there was a reply. we got off the bus and started to check out the taxi situation and peter from the hotel was waiting there to pick us up. that was awesome, he was super nice and it was a short ride to the hotel. when we got there everyone was super nice, the hotel was totally safe. it is right next to the soccer stadium and there was a game about to start and it was great people watching from their balconey. we were gonna go to the game but it started to rain realy hard so we decided to eat instead. we asked about a place to eat and they called a place to bring us takeout bbq chicken. the room was ok, shower good, the next morning they gave us a ride to the ferry dock. it was a short but enjoyable stay. would stay there again no problem...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Molina
Hotel Molina
#16 of 22 in La Ceiba
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carnaval
Hotel Carnaval
#9 of 22 in La Ceiba
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
10.1 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Estadio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Estadio

Address: Ave Las Americas, right next to the city's soccer Stadium, La Ceiba 31101, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range: $25 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Estadio 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Estadio now is offering transport services from & to San Pedro Sula airport,Leon Nicaragua,Puerto Barrios Guatemala,call us or e-mail us for more details...We are a small hotel/hostel three story building with private rooms & mixed & female dorms avail,Bar & Restaurant. Located in the heart of La Ceiba, Honduras right next to the city's main soccer stadium. Great place 4 all you Soccer or football fans to watch the city's premier soccer league team matches or very well an international match. We mainly cater to tourists, making it a great safe haven for tourists to network; also have available activities like: white Water Rafting, Hot Springs or Sulpher Water, Hiking, Zip-lining, Canopy, Snorkeling, Scuba diving - if you need classes for certification we can arrange it as well. Just tell the taxi driver you want to go to Hotel El Estadio right next "El Estadio de Ceiba", or The Soccer Stadium of Ceiba, which is the City's soccer Stadium & say you already have a RESERVATION even if you don't have one, so he doesn't take you somewhere else where they get commission,better yet just give us a call & we'll come pick you up from the Air or Sea port, bus terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel El Estadio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Estadio Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing