We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant complain”
Review of Hotel El Estadio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Estadio
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent experience with el estadio. We elected to get picked up at the airport by them it was very pricy at 100 american dollars but after a long couple days of flights it was worth getting. We saw a lot of honduras went into a few towns because the driver was looking for fruit (which was ok by us because we got to see inside tela) once we got there the staff was super friendly, we were in need of hair cuts and he directed us to possibly the best barber ive ever been to...and it only cost $2.50 they offered taxi service for 3 dollars to a location and 3 dollars back. The only thing I didnt like was them sending us to a restaurant that owed them money, this way we would pay cash and they would later go collect from them. We were assured it would be 'bumping' we were the only ones there. Accomodations were good for the night..we got beds, they were clean, room was clean. We told them we didnt want breakfast in the morning (its an extra charge) then for $7 they took us to the ferry the next morning which was $25 ...overall it was bad, couple white lies here and there (they said they only had privates when there was clearly only us at the hostel) but it was only for the night and they were super friendly

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Gus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 256 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

I lucked out when I stayed here on a whim. It turned out to be one of the best decisions I made when backpacking through Central America.

Peter, the owner, is a phenomenal resource and can connect you with any activity in La Ceiba. Through him, I was able to scuba dive in the Cayos Cochinos (HIGHLY recommended over Utila or Roatan), white water raft in La Moskitia, hit up the local food & drink scene, and attend a local soccer game. He's fluent in English & Spanish and knows everyone and everything about the area. He's a solid dude, and he only connects travelers with other positive people and trustworthy tour guides. I was extremely fortunate to have crossed paths with him, he definitely made the difference in this part of my trip. I can't wait to get back there and conquer the jungle.

I had initially thought that La Ceiba itself was simply going to be a stop over on my way to the islands, but I ended up staying a couple days and enjoying what the region had to offer. There is lots to do, and it's definitely worth a few days at El Estadio.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OKDJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great staff, friendly and welcoming. Peter went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. He sorted transport, trips and recommended places to eat. The hostels facilities are good and the place is clean. The area isn't that nice but staff make sure you feel safe. I would recommend if you are looking for a short stay. Make sure Peter books you onto the rafting too.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rangatude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

After a 17 hour bus journey, my friend and I arrived in La Ceiba at 10:00 pm. We were not looking forward to the 2 days we would have to spend in the city while waiting for our friends to arrive. Many online reviews had described La Ceiba as unpleasant and unexciting.

When we arrived at El Estadio, we were surprised by the safe, clean, comfortable, private room. The room had a large bathroom, cable TV, a balcony, free wifi, and a refrigerator. Peter and his staff took excellent care of us throughout the length of our stay. He personally shuttled us to dinner at Expatriates (great food!), served us breakfast, and booked an amazing guided jungle hike (with a biologist that explained medicinal uses of plants) and spa day (including massages, hot spring bathing, and mud treatments) for us. We attended a soccer game in the stadium next door (it was so much fun!) and visited the local market. He picked our friends up from the bus station, and got us to the ferry to Roatan the following morning. An anticipated unpleasant few days turned out to be one of my favorite parts of our two month excursion through Central America. Thank you, Peter!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Booked to stay here last minute, got picked up straight from the ferry terminal and taken to the hostel where Pete the owner met us. We had a few errands to run and he personally took us out in his car. He took us somewhere to get food and the also drive us to the bus terminal at 4.30 in the morning. Unbelievably good customer service, he went way out if his way to make sure we were looked after. Rooms are nice and clean with good facilities. 10x better than any other place I have stayed in la ceiba. Thanks pete

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthE1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The staff are friendly (and cook a good breakfast), the price is good, and the beds are comfortable enough to make this a good choice for a one-night stopover before catching the morning ferry to Utila. I wouldn’t stay here for much longer though: the bathroom facilities are shabby and too small for the size of the dorm room, and there’s very little to do in La Ceiba.

Room Tip: There is no air conditioning available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Honestly did not expect much from this hostel as the price is cheap and also from the country we were in... Peter came to pick us up from the bus we got off and was so relaxed and very helpful. He offered to take us on a tour when we asked about the area and also cooks a great breakfast! The rooms were spacious and very clean. The building felt safe. There is a balcony with hammock space and free internet and wifi. We chose to come and stay a second time with our friends and would happily stay there again! Cheers Peter :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Molina
Hotel Molina
#16 of 22 in La Ceiba
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carnaval
Hotel Carnaval
#9 of 22 in La Ceiba
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
0.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Estadio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Estadio

Address: Ave Las Americas, right next to the city's soccer Stadium, La Ceiba 31101, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range: $25 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Estadio 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Estadio now is offering transport services from & to San Pedro Sula airport,Leon Nicaragua,Puerto Barrios Guatemala,call us or e-mail us for more details...We are a small hotel/hostel three story building with private rooms & mixed & female dorms avail,Bar & Restaurant. Located in the heart of La Ceiba, Honduras right next to the city's main soccer stadium. Great place 4 all you Soccer or football fans to watch the city's premier soccer league team matches or very well an international match. We mainly cater to tourists, making it a great safe haven for tourists to network; also have available activities like: white Water Rafting, Hot Springs or Sulpher Water, Hiking, Zip-lining, Canopy, Snorkeling, Scuba diving - if you need classes for certification we can arrange it as well. Just tell the taxi driver you want to go to Hotel El Estadio right next "El Estadio de Ceiba", or The Soccer Stadium of Ceiba, which is the City's soccer Stadium & say you already have a RESERVATION even if you don't have one, so he doesn't take you somewhere else where they get commission,better yet just give us a call & we'll come pick you up from the Air or Sea port, bus terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel El Estadio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Estadio Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing