We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first rafting trip...one word - AMAZING!”
Review of Omega Tours

Omega Tours
Ranked #1 of 8 Tours in La Ceiba
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: from our lodge, nestled between 2 national parks we start all our adventure tours from a half to 21 days. the most frequented tours are rafting, horseback riding, hiking, MTB, kayaking, nature exploring and meeting other cultures. - join us in nature! -
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was my first rafting trip, and I admit to being a bit nervous at first. Omega was recommended to us by John at La Villa de Soledad B&B (located just up the road). From the outset, we knew that our guides had each twist and turn of the Rio Cangrejal committed to memory! Throughout our morning coasting down the rapids, we were amazed by the spectacular scenery and thrilled by the ride. We still hear our guide chanting "back paddle back paddle" and "get down"! Our next visit could not come soon enough. Thank you Omega for such an AMAZING day rafting the Rio Cangrejal.

1  Thank Diana242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omegalodge, Owner at Omega Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2015

thank you so much for this amazing review!
We are glad to hear it all worked out well on your first rafting trip ever.
The Cangrejal river is an amazing rafting run....welcome back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 110 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Highly recommended by our Diving center (coconut tree divers) in Roatan, we decided to escape to the mainland for 4 days of Jungle and adventures. The Ferry ride ($60 R/T pp)was a little rough, take the motion sickness pills on each way if you are sensitive and even if you are not!
Sylvia and Udo had arranged a pick up at the ferry(+/- $20 each way).
Beautiful property in the jungle. We booked the Bamboo lodge, which was great. Very Spacious, clean with a large shower with hot water that easily fits two or more...
Mosquito screens on every window.
Expect to get serious concerts at night from all the birds and wild animals. earplugs are mandatory if you are noise sensitive.

The restaurant / bar was beyond expectations very efficient, prices very reasonable too. Lovely staff.

We did the Rafting twice with their wonderful guides Chris, Cova and the younger Christian.
It was a safe and amazingly beautiful ride with some nice challenges.
We also arranged a day kayaking in the mangroves in Cocoa Lagoon. We saw an great variety of birds and some monkeys too. They had arranged nice lunches and snacks for each of our activities.
We decided to do the hike to the waterfall on our own on a rainy day. The entrance is 10 minutes walk down the road from Omega Tour. Taking a guide may be preferable if you are not comfortable or not in great shape. It took us about 2h30mns round trip but we missed the dip in the pool at the bottom of the waterfall.

1  Thank TimSpipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omegalodge, Owner at Omega Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2014

Great that you really liked everything it seems.....
hopefully you ll be back one day!
cheers
Omega Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Arrived there and immediately felt at home. Stayed in the beautyview room where my boyfriend proposed:) great way to start our Honduras adventure. The staff there became friends instantly and were most hospitable. The food was delicious!!! I would highly recommend the rafting and horseback riding!!!

Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omegalodge, Owner at Omega Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2015

thank you so much for this awesome review!
Great that you liked your cabin, our food and the team.
we hope you come back soon to do more of our adventurous tours.
Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We loved our adventures with Omega. All the staff became like family and the food was awesome. We enjoyed just hanging out. We ended up doing 2 rafting trips because there was so much rain that we couldn't do the horseback riding, but it was a totally different experience each time. The value of the Omega Tours is fantastic because you get the experience, support the local community, and lots of adventure. My son wants to go back to work there one day!

1  Thank kathyg2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omegalodge, Owner at Omega Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2015

thank you so much for this great review!
Let s see if we see your son down here working for us!?
Next time you will be down here the horseback riding will probably work out, it is not raining all the time like this last raining season.
thanks again for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We arrived from Roatan the morning. They picked us up at the ferry at 8am for the jungle lodge about 30 min from there. Cost us 18$ for a private taxi. We wanted to do a horseback ride during the day, enjoy our free night anf leave the next day. Turns up the horseback riding tour was not availablw for an unknown reason so we took the pico bonito hiking tour. Took us around 4h to do it. You climb a lot on rocks to get to 2 beautiful waterfalls in which you can swim. Saw snakes, frogs, weird insects and others. Our guide spoke only spanish but we knew a little. Was much fun. So very hot as a day! Got back to the lodge where we enjoyed a 5@7 and ate. Very good food, local beers, cocktails... The owners are very friendly. They offered us to stay and do the horseback the next day half price but we had plans for Copan so we left in the morning. Private taxi cost us 15$ this time for the autocar terminal. Beautiful jungle settings around our lttle cabin. Outside shower made of rock and bathrooms are very clean. You have trails around the lodge but it started raining as we tried to do one. They have a little pool, lots of hamacs and over water swings! I enjoyed myself very much there but a little pricey compared to the others we did!

1  Thank suzin1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omegalodge, Owner at Omega Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2015

thank you for this great review!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your hike, our food and that you had a good time at the lodge.
For a tour like the horse ride (and others) we need to know the day before, at least early in the morning to make it happen: The horses go out to graze every morning, the ones that are needed on a tour would get some concentrated food before leaving. There are also 2 guides involved.
The ride is a great trip and hopefully you ll get the chance to come back one day and try it out.
I do not think we are pricy and would rather say you get what you pay for....
Thank you again for your great review and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omega Tours also viewed

La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
 
La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
 

Been to Omega Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing